We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Nearby Hotels
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$303
US$249
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$114
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$109
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arthotel Munich(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
774
102
44
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
102
44
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barfour seasonsbell staffluxury hotelrooms are beautifulwalk in closetcomplimentary mini barwelcome drinkwonderful hotelhofbrau housejunior suitefavorite hotelthe location is perfectconciergematsuhisagermanyhofbrauhaus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We just came back from a quick trip to Munich and Salzburg, I had the opportunity to stay at Mandarin Oriental Munich and I was very impressed. Like a local tour guide told me, best hotel in the city. Location is walking distance to everywhere, attention to detail from the moment you arrive until you depart. Outstanding service, bar lounge, restaurant, I couldn't find a "but" during my stay. I highly recommend. I have read some postings that it is not similar to other Mandarin Orientals, I believe that keeping its own identity since it's a historic building makes it unique. But that it's just my opinion. The roof went open yet but I took a tour and I guess I will have to be back during warmer days to enjoy that pool and view with a good riesling.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oscar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear horusvelez,
Thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Munich. It’s a pleasure to read that you had a good time in Munich and at our hotel. Your kind words are much appreciated and I am glad that your local tour guide was proved to be right! We are looking forward to having you back during summertime.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Outstanding service!

The MO Munich, it's beautiful - with an old look/feel to it... but, the service is outstanding... from the door/bell, to the front desk and housekeeping - all staff have been beyond helpful, in any way possible.

1st night we ordered room service - the food was delicious. 2nd night we ate in the restaurant (late) - and, the service as well as the food were also delicious.

The location is ideal - walking distance to all the attractions, restaurants, and shopping...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Ers22,
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Munich and appreciated our outstanding service, food and the hotel’s location. Thank you for your kind comment. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Munich Mandarin Oriental is centrally yet quietly located. It makes a fresh, modern appearance, and the staff exhibited an outstanding service-oriented attitude. Many small details show how they push the envelope of "being a little better" further: From the superior quality of the provided hotel slippers (I know, they're usually dreadful, but not here) to the fact that as soon as you're done with one of the machines in the gym, someone rushes in to clean up and put everything back in order.

One of our group celebrated her birthday during the stay, and the staff were extremely helpful in organising a little surprise for her. Also, if you're a guest here, official closing time at the bar downstairs doesn't apply—your happiness is all that matters.

The only time we thought that a staff member showed a lack of judgement was when we entered the smoking lounge and were told "sorry, for hotel guests only." Uh, well guess what, that's what we are!

Depending on what you're looking for on your travels, this hotel is certainly an option you should consider.

Keep three things in mind: This hotel has no "cute" Bavarian/German charm. It is cosmopolitan, for better or worse. The other thing you should know is that despite the central location, you will be looking at a car park if you look out the window. While on the upper floors you will see a bit of skyline, you definitely won't want to go here for the view. Finally, for those who love to have quick but rich breakfasts, please know there is only a cold buffet. Any warm dishes have to be ordered explicitly. The hotel probably considers buffets too "pedestrian." Understandably, but this also means that you can't just quickly take whatever strikes your fancy. You have to sit down, make your choice, and wait.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a view of the skyline. But don't hold your breath, you're going to be looking at a car park either way.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Oliver P,
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions on your stay at our hotel. What a pleasure to read that you had an overall enjoyable stay at Mandarin Oriental, Munich and appreciated our services. Please apologize for the lack of judgement of the colleague at the Lobby Bar who did not recognize you as a hotel “In house” guest. Please note that due to German law the smoking area can only be used by hotel residents. We hope to welcoming you again soon to Munich and our hotel.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If the Mandarin Oriental Munich is any standard for luxury hotels to go by, this is the Gold Standard.
In fact, it was the best hotel experience, especially from a service point of view, we have encountered in this part of the world.
Starting with the concierge, who was ever so helpful and friendly, to the manager on duty, the complimentary welcome drinks, to the lovely bartender, the list goes on. We even overheard another guest telling the bar tender that he is so amazing, giving people such happiness...wow! The location is second to none, the room spacious, luxurious, modern with an Asian touch, the bathroom fabulous (loved the heated floors)....I cannot fathom who would not be able to enjoy this spectacular place.
We look forward to coming back again - thank you for making our holiday truly memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Heidi K,
We would like to thank you for sharing this marvelous comment. We are thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Munich and that you appreciated our high service standards. We are very much looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Munich and our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Firstly, this is a hotel/hotel chain that prides so much in it's excellent service.
We should have had a clue about this excellence by slow email correspondence, not answering exact questions etc. We had only one specific request and it wasn't fulfilled.
To be more specific, it was important for us to have a room with good radiator central heating, and that was one of the reasons for choosing this hotel. On arrival we were shown to a room without working heating, instead electric radiator was brought. (Well, if this was a 2 star hotel, it would have been okay.) This was followed by a complicated explanations that this is the case for every room, that it is just air-conditioning hotel and that it will start working eventually, that it's maybe not working only in that specific room, that it will be repaired.... Than, we were offered drinks while they tried, but didn't repair it, calling us to see are we satisfied with heating not still working, etc.
At this point, a manager on duty showed up. She was polite and professional, offered us another room and the problem was solved. All in order, heating working without a problem. They did apologize with a note, but when you spend first couple of hours dealing with trivialities like this, excellence is last thing on your mind.
The rest of the stay went all right, everybody were polite, big smiles and everything, apart from the fact that concierge gave us the information of Neuschweinstain castle working on a day that it was closed... good thing we checked again on internet.
Our new room was spacious, clean and modern , the location is excellent, breakfast also, food at the restaurant very good. Still, I think it is overpriced, a bit snobbish, and with inadequate service for a 5 star establishment. Managers on duty were always professional and with precise information, so if you have requests or problems, I suggest you speak directly to them.
In conclusion, I have to say that for me good service doesn't have to include fake smiles, "remembering my name" and small talk. It may be a personal preference, but straightforward, professional approach, and genuinely nice people are what makes a hotel excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J and M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear J and M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on the occasion of your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Munich. I am very sorry that your reservation was not answered promptly and specific and that the heating did not work in the room reserved for you. You can be assured that it is our aim to fulfill guests’ requests and needs and I sincerely apologize that we failed this time. In regard to Neuschwanstein castle it is incomprehensible that you were given wrong information as all concierges are aware of their opening hours (Neuschwanstein is open every day except Christmas Days, New Year’s Eve and New Year). Again, please allow me to apologize for the substandard technical service you have experienced at the beginning of your stay. Considering your grading we truly hope that these incidents have not tarnished your image of Mandarin Oriental, Munich and that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again to our hotel.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews