We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, awesome hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Ranked #5 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Mandarin in Munich for 3 nights in August. The room was beautiful with fabulous views of the city. In terms of location, this is the most ideal hotel. It is within walking distance from all the sites and shopping. The staff at the hotel are wonderful - consistent with the high level of service this chain is known for. Every request is handled professionally and we were never disappointed. They were even able to get us reservations to a top restaurant that is notoriously booked with just a few hours notice. The only down side is that as with most hotels in Germany and Austria the lobby smells terribly of smoke as smoking is permitted. Otherwise, we give this hotel top marks for top quality food, drinks, location and service with lovely rooms. It may be a bit pricey but as the adage goes... you get what you pay for. This place rocks!

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank scooby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2006

Nothing much to add.

The service deserves 5 stars, concierge (Maxamillian) excellent, prob the best in any hotel in Europe.

The public rooms very good, restaurant excellent, my bedroom 4 stars, a little tired in places.

If you want top notch service that is individual and not forced or overbearing then this must be your first address when staying in Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2006

The absolutely top-notch and charming staff will bend over backwards to serve you, will even freqeuntly walk outside with you to help you find your way to local restaurants or attractions. You will never feel pressured to tip in the slightest, from anyone.

The location between the Marienplatz and Residenz palace is perfect, allowing you to walk to all the central sites and top pedestrian shopping areas (Maxmillianstrasse).

The rooms are very large and comfortable, but colors and fabrics are surprisingly dull for such a luxury hotel. Bathrooms are huge, with separate shower and bath. Cleanliness was adequate, although there were styrofoam peanuts under the bed that were there from the time we arrived until we left.

The breakfast selection is limited, and is primarily a breakfast buffet for the convenience of the guests. Eggs are served cooked-to-order. Quality, atmosphere and service is perfect.

My only disappointment: As this was our first time in Bavaria, I asked the concierge for an "expert" private guide, and they reserved a hotel limo driver who they claimed was a licensed guide to take me around for four hours. He was not knowledgeable, and the fee of about US$500 (before tip) was not worth it, as I have no interest in paying for being ushered around in a new black S-Class Mercedes.

The minibar in the room is gratis; a nice touch. The price of laundry and international calls is reasonable given the quality of the hotel. There is a gratis internet pc and printer at your disposal in a strange room under the stairwell (think Harry Potter) to the left of the lobby desk. It doesn't work too well but gets the job done.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScottN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2006

The biggest standout thing about this hotel is the service from the staff. I must confess that when I was arranging to stay here, I did not feel like I received good service from the staff when I called. But from when we arrived, every member of the staff that we came across were tremendously helpful - as a previous reviewer cited, they knew us by name. Everyone was so efficient and helpful - no request was too small as they tried to meet it.

As for the location, it is about a 7-10 minute walk from the Marienplatz City Center train stop. It's very central to everything in Munich, which isn't very big. It's also a couple of blocks from the couture shops on Maximillianstrasse.

The room was very spacious and nice. It was luxurious and simple - not over-the-top in decor so I can see why some may see this as 'average.' Our bathroom was large and had a separate shower stall with a rainshower. The toiletries were Molton Brown, which was really nice. And free mini-bar with beer, soda, juice and water! What hotel provides that these days?! The rooms were very well-insulated so there was no noise from the outside or the hall. The only big negative of the hotel is that the rooms were badly ventilated. It was so hot in the room - felt like a sauna in both the room and the bathroom all the time. Even after we turned off the heat. I think that in the height of summer when the air-conditioner is turned on, things would be fine. But in the winter, the heat can be a bit unbearable.

If you can include breakfast in your rate, it is well-worth it. The pancakes and omelettes were wonderful. With the breakfast in your rate, you can order room service which was such a treat!

We didn't eat at Mark's but one night, we ordered dessert from Mark's. It was such a disappointment. On another day, we ordered room service lunch which was pretty good.

The roof terrace was not yet open so we didn't get a chance to check it out.

On a side note, we found two really great restaurants:
(1) Austernkeller - seafood was very good and service was impeccable. This is just around the corner from the hotel. 185-euros for two with wine for one and service
(2) Bistro Terrine - great French food. We later found that it was owned by Tantris, the best restaurant in Munich. 150-euros for two (4-course with wine for one).

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2006

We have stayed in lots of hotels, from the Plaza in New York City to the Arrowhead somewhere near Sandusky, Ohio. (I loved the Arrowhead; my wife preferred the Plaza.) The Mandarin Oriental is, hands down, the best hotel we have ever stayed at. The key, we think, is that it is a luxury hotel but much smaller than luxury hotels ordinarily are. This makes it possible for the staff to actually have time to provide individual, top-notch service. Everyone on the staff knew our names. They catered to our every whim. They also left flowers and champagne in our room for our anniversary and got us into the best restaurant in town on one day's notice.

You can't beat the location. You can probably beat the price, but if you have the means it is worth every penny.

And if you are in Munich, wherever you stay, don't miss Mike's Bike Tour!

N.B.: Someone has said the rooms were "average." Our room wasn't average. It was huge and very fancy.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank youngowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2006

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon. We are big fans of the MO chain, so we naturally chose this hotel for our one night in Munich.

The service was INCREDIBLE! I made my reservation online, and just wrote a quick comment to advise that it was our hoeymoon. Well, when we arrived for this very last leg of our trip, the manager personally took us up to our room, and...

...there were rose petals all through the room, including a huge heart on the bed, a bottle of chilled champagne, and a large bowl of strawberries! All at no extra charge.

That's what I call going above and beyond, and why Mandarin Oriental hotels are our favorite.

Unfortunately, the rooms themselves were only average, compared to the other Mandarins we've stayed at (Miami, NYC). There was very little oriental flair in the decor, and some of the furnishings and electronics seemed low rent. The bathroom had some cracked tiles. Granted, we were not in one of the top suites, but I expect more from even the basic rooms at a Mandarin Oriental.

The restaurant Mark's was fantastic, and the wine selection was very good as well. Probably the best food we've had in Germany.

In summary, impeccable service with incredible attention to detail, and great food. A decent value for a luxury hotel, but it could use an interior renovation, at least in the room we had.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pretzellogix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2006

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Munich together with my husband for 4 wonderful days. The hotels location is perfect, as is everything else in this hotel. If you just want to relax and enjoy hospitality then this is the place for you. We had a deluxe double room on the 6th floor which was perfectly quiet. Our bathroom was very generous and the floor heating is just wonderful. What makes this hotel so pleasant to stay at is all the little details like fresh fruit every day or the weather report with a rose petal on the bed when you come back to your room in the evening. Whatever wish you may have it will be fullfilled immediately with a smile. Also we highly recommend eating at the hotel restaurant MARK'S one evening. The kitchen is superb.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank PERLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#3 of 390 in Munich
1,655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
#48 of 390 in Munich
1,322 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 390 in Munich
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Address: Neuturmstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £467 - £927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing