We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, value for money, very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Ranked #119 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ideal location, value for money, very nice hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Booked as part of a large group booking, arrived early at the hotel, staff were very helpful and were able to let us check in to our rooms 2 hours early. Rooms were modern and clean, we had a mixture of rooms (twins and triple rooms) triple rooms very comfortable, also had double electric hob, microwave and wash sink. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast a little pricey at €12, but seemed to have a good selection, the hotel is located close to two cafes selling pastries, also super market and tobaconist are close by.
Hotel well situated, approx 2 min walk to U-bahn then 8mins on the u-bahn to Marienplatz, metro are regular, every 10mins.
Overall great stay in munich.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    173
    75
    28
    21
See reviews for
85
138
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel was in a good location, right down the street from the underground so it was very easy to get around. Very clean. I didn't eat breakfast there, it seemed a bit expensive to me. There were two nice bakeries right now the street though and that is where I had breakfast during my stay in Munich. There is free wi-fi in the lobby but other than that they just have one computer for use or you have to pay for wi-fi in your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed a few nights on our trip through Europe and chose this hotel because of the location. I used to live in the area years back and wanted to rather feel like a local than a tourist. U-Bahn station a hop skip and jump away, also some shops nearby.
Rooms were of a decent size, however the kingsize bed was to single beds pushed together with separate doonas. I completely had forgotten that this something to expect in German hotels. A plus was the terrace attached to the room, kitchenette something that you will find in most motels in Australia as standard. Staff were nice, pleasant and helpful.
All up, good value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I recently spent six night at the hotel and found it lacking in any kind of service. I booked a room with a double and a single and when we got there it was two singles and a cot. It was late when we checked in so we went ahead and went with what we were given. When I went to the desk the next morning and told them of the mix up they basically said too bad. If it wouldn't have been Easter weekend I would have packed up and left. We also was supposed to have a breakfast included with the room that was reclined. And to top it off the phone did not work in our room and when I went down to ask the about getting it fix they said maybe in a couple days.
This is not how you should be treated in a four star hotel, it was more like a Hotel Six.
I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57bronc_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoram B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Tom,

thank you for your feedback. It is so important for us to see your comments, because only then we can prove ourself and get better.
The full hotel over easter time is correct, but of course you should have get, what you booked. Unfortunatly I do not know which was your reservation, so I can not answer to the case with the breakfast- if it was included or not.
The telephone is normally working fine. Just sometime we have one or two, which are suddenly "turning off", so the electrician needs too come. Those do not work over weekendes/holidays. Therefor the receptionist told you (unfortunatly in a missunderstanding way), that it can only be made in a few days. Fact is, that we happily are planning a complete new phone system by the end of this year.

I am sorry for the circumstances and missunderstanding during your stay and hope, that you will give us a second chance.

For any questions please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards and have a great weekend.

Helena Bachmann
Guest Relation Manager
Leonardo Hotels Munich & Nürnberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Room itself was a good size but a bad smell was coming from the drains in the bathroom. It took until the third day for the defect to be rectified after continually telling the staff of the problem, I don't know if it was a language problem but it was only until I wanted to invite the manager up for a smell of the room that things happened. Really shabby service for the asking prices of this hotel, on top of the that the so callled Kitchenette microwave still had food debri in it, no coffee or tea making facilities, be aware that the Hotels restaraunt is closed on a Sunday and so are the local shops. WiFi services in the rooms are overpriced and unreliable.

On a positive note the buffet breakfast is ok and the majority of the reception staff are very helpful.
The location of the hotel is very good, close to the railway and once again the reception staff where very helpful with tickerts and information.

Next time we are in Munich we will not consider staying at this hotel

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This hotel is okay, but it is overrated (no way this should be called a four-star hotel, I have stayed in better two-star hotels). It is also very overpriced for its amenities and location.

When I arrived here, they had given me a different room than I was promised. I had booked through an online travel agency, and while it was last minute, I was assured I would have a king or queen sized bed. Instead I had two single beds on opposite sides of the room. Not exactly ideal for a honeymoon with my wife.... I complained to the management but they said they did not have the room that I wanted for the entirety of our stay (5 nights).

The location of the hotel is not ideal, it is located in a small cluster of shops in an otherwise residential area. There are only two restaurants within walking distance. However, the U-Bahn stop is only two blocks away, which does help.

Finally, the hotel seems quite a bit overpriced, perhaps if it was rated properly though (maybe 2.5 or 3 stars) it wouldn't be so much. The morning coffee available at the attached restaurant was way to expensive and the hotel wifi was 6 euros an hour!

This is not a good hotel for non-german tourists. Next time in Munich I will find a better priced hotel in a more convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekoostikmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here for one night and were gone pretty quickly the next morning. The hotel has everything you need - comfy beds, modern room, decent shower.

It is also located close to a subway station and therefore only 5 minutes from the city centre.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City South
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
3.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#24 of 383 in Munich
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambiance Rivoli
Ambiance Rivoli
#113 of 383 in Munich
341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West

Property: Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Address: Brudermuehlstr. 33, 81371 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a central location and fantastic views, the Leonardo Hotel München City West welcomes its guests to a modern setting. Comfortable rooms — some with kitchenette for long stays — as well as exclusive loft studios offer amazing views of the Munich skyline or the breathtaking Alps. Party on high, laze around or keep busy — the roof deck invites you to celebrate your exclusive event or to relax in the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing