We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can get better with the same price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Ranked #124 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Famões
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can get better with the same price”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The bathroom had a awful stench, the bed for one person is small, all the TV channels were in German (nice for Germans but ...), it had a small kitchen with no dishes, no forks or knives, no spoons, etc.
The room for a single had a nice organization but since it was near the street, it was noisy.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the back, it is quieter and has a small veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PirateLeChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoram B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you for the feedback you wrote.
Following I would like to comment some points:
- the smell out of the bathroom we have checked and corrected it - I am sorry for the inconveniences
. the beds have not been commented before - but of course we will check this very carefully for future guests
- we have international TV channels. But it is correct, that it is only a few. In future (until the end of this year) we will have an upgrade and have more than 20 international channels. I hope this will be to your satisfation
- the kitchens are there for everybody's use. The dishes will be braught by request
For any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind regards,
Helena Bachmann
Guest Relation Manager
Leonardo Hotels Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    167
    74
    28
    21
See reviews for
84
134
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We arrived early am on Easter Sunday with an advance request for early checkin made with Booking.com and also my friend spoke them over the phone to repeat the request. Guess what, we got our rooms at 245pm. Having worked in the hotel industry,I would have understood their explanation that our room was still occupied, but the surly and uncaring attitude of the lady front desk clerk made it worse. Wifi is expensive and the free internet access in the lounge was slow and intermittent. The plus points come from the hotel's accessability to the U-bahn station.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road as trucks pass thru at night and can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazzeeShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel is located 2 mins from the U bahn station, making it super easy to get to Marienplatz or any other central area. This made it perfect for a city break. The room was large, clean and comfortable. We even had a kitchenette area which was lovely, and a balcony facing the garden. Staff were friendly and helpful. Guests also have access to the rooftop, which is pretty cool! It was quite expensive though, but I guess this might have been because we stayed close to Oktoberfest!! Overall I'd recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocco11221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoram B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Rocco,
thank you very much for your constructive feedback. This is very important for us and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Sunny regards,
Helena Bachmann
Guest Relation Manager
Leonaro Hotels Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

never ever trust those thieves i booked once online and i had chosen high category room with non refundable booking and the money been taken since 3 months in advance and when we reached there we checked in and when we went to the rooms we got shocked. they gave us the lowest category rooms and they said this is the rooms which you booked. then i show them my booking confirmation with the room photos to prove them this is not our rooms and they said that's whats available now. then i asked either you give us the rooms what we booked or return us the money, and of course we were expecting the answer: this is non refundable booking, which means take it or leave it because they already withdraw the money. and then we decied to call the police and they came and we explain them our situation and when they start investigating them they convinced the police by german language that was our booking and they gone. don't ever trust this chain of hotels

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Khalifa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Not A Vitruvian Hotel

I was in Munich on business and needed to change my parties dates of stay. Upon check-in we inquired about the cancelation of our reservation for our last night. At that time we were told we could cancel without penalty but that we would have to contact staff in the morning. The next morning I followed up with staff who informed me they would have to verify my conversation from the prior day because it was now to late to cancel without a ninety percent (90%) penalty. Staff advised me they would call there colleague at a specific time later in the day. I was at the front desk at the time this phone call was to occur and after thirty (30) minutes inquired with staff about it. The same staff person I had spoken to that morning advised me they would not contact their colleague because "it didn't matter" given I was now outside the cancelation window. We debated the issue and staff (plural) was surly, curt and dismissive of my concerns. Basically, I got the FULL SCAM ON RUN AROUND this hotel reserves for visitors to Germany. The resolution of this issue was less than satisfactory. Clearly, the shabby treatment and dismissive attitude I experienced is reflective of company values.

If you're still interested in staying here the location is about 20 minutes from the town center with traffic so it is not a central / convenient location. There is no air conditioning in the hotel and there are no fans in the hotel rooms. If it's hot like it was when I stayed it will be tough to sleep. The rooms are clean but small and cramped by my standards and the bed was just ok (small single bed). Maid service was below average - they left me no towels after my dispute. I wasn't sure what to make of it but it was lovely to get out of the shower and not even have a hand towel. The hotel surrounds the garden area of an affiliated Italian restaurant so it is loud until 11:30pm and the noise starts again at 6:00am when set up for breakfast starts. If your room windows are open you won't be able to sleep - it's that noisy. This restaurant is very good for dinner. It is family owned and the food is excellent. There's a laundry facility in the basement which was easy to access and utilize - 4.5 Euros for a load (wash and dry). There's an ironing board and iron in laundry facility you won't find one in your room. The bottom line here is that the Leonardo Hotel Munich is the last place you want to stay. I will never give business to the Leonardo Hotel chain again - know they will not value your patronage and that their morale and business compass is broken irregardless of what they claim.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank sanbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel is located 50 m from the Brudermühlerstraße U bahn station which is less than a 10 minute ride from Marienplatz, so easily reachable by public transport. It is suitable for a business trip or short city break. Breakfast is extra at €12 which we didn't try as we thought a bit steep.

The hotel appears to be recently decorated and the rooms are clean, in good condition and well equipped. A small balcony, lots of power points, a TV, safe and hairdryer are provided, as well as a very compact hidden kitchenette with microwave, fridge, kettle and two hotplates, although no pans.

WiFi is available but at a rather expensive hourly rate, however on the 4th floor there is a communal room with a PC and printer with free internet access.

The beds, two singles pushed together with separate duvets were comfortable, an arm chair, desk and chair are also provided.

Niggles - The complimentary coffee and tea wasn’t topped up, although reception was able to provide replacements, and the lift was out of action for 3 days during our stay.

Tips – The simplest way to get around town and from the airport is with a Single or Partner day ticket, the cost varies according to the area covered. Tickets should be stamped before use and expire at 6am the following day, there are also 3 day passes, however as you require the entire network pass twice to get to and from the airport this may not work out cheaper. The inner ticket will suffice for most city travel

One day pass | Area Covered | Single | Partner (up to 5 adults)
Inner district | Most of the centre (white zone) | €5.80 | €10.60
Munich XXL | White & green zone | €7.80 | €13.60
Entire network| Out to Airport | €11.20 | €20.40

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelper_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

There was a group of us, students to attend the seminar in Munich. We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights and my experience was very satisfying. Everything was good: rooms, bathrooms, breakfast, location. The internet is limited though, you have an option of subscribing to the ibahn wi-fi which was around 5 euro per hour (which is quite expensive for me) or using the only computer in the business room. The gym and sauna were closed to renovation, but we never had time for them anyway.
Location is very stategic, about 10-15 minutes to the city center from the metro station right besides the hotel. Some cafes and a grocery shop surrounded the hotel so you always have necessities nearby.
Staff was very helpful and provided us with slippers, umbrellas etc upon request.

Room Tip: Room on the fourth floor I was staying in had a mini-kitchen inside (with the electronic cooker, mic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City South
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
3.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City North
1.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
4.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West

Property: Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Address: Brudermuehlstr. 33, 81371 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a central location and fantastic views, the Leonardo Hotel München City West welcomes its guests to a modern setting. Comfortable rooms — some with kitchenette for long stays — as well as exclusive loft studios offer amazing views of the Munich skyline or the breathtaking Alps. Party on high, laze around or keep busy — the roof deck invites you to celebrate your exclusive event or to relax in the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing