We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, a little bit far from centre and subway stations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Ranked #156 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Bucharest
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, a little bit far from centre and subway stations”
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

A decent hotel, a friendly personnel, good breakfast, but unfortunately far from centre and from subway station.
The parking fee per day is 18E and you always find places.

You should try the restaurant from the first floor. They have few products but good.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GrooveRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    175
    129
    41
    20
See reviews for
60
90
37
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying here on business. I am so far not so impressed, I have paid for the high speed internet (there is no free code that is of slower speed) which feels like I am getting a bum deal as it is so slow it quicker to turn the data on on my phone it just too expensive.
The room is good, the lifts have a very odd smell but the stuff are all but slow on the help. When asked which way to the subway I was provided with a map and that was it. When you have just arrived and not got a clue what roads are which etc, this was not helpful in the slightest. I just needed a left or right from them.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sardo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Sardo84,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our room.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff and for the poor internet connection. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I recently stayed here on a Stag Do to Munich. Firstly we made the mistake of trying to check into the wrong hotel in the City Centre!! Never mind... we all trundled across to the Underground and purchased group tickets (Groups of 5) and spent the whole weekend using the underground to get around. This hotel is situated at Arabella Park from memory and is just a short walk from the tube station. The price difference to stopping in the centre is quite a big one and that can be well spent on a rail ticket.
The hotel was comfortable and clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I didn't use the restaurant whilst i was there so cant comment on the food. I did however make use of the vending machine on floor one in my drunken stupor!
The garage next door is well stocked with all of the usual items you'd expect from a garage and it appears to have some sort of an off licence in the back which is pretty cool.
There isn't anything to do really out this end of the city, anywhere to drink or eat... which is a shame but the walk to the tube and the trip into town is a relatively short journey.
My advice... make sure you get a business card with the hotel name on in case you decide to catch a taxi back because there are several holiday Inns in this city and to call at them all in a taxi could prove to be expensive and if you're walking, good luck!! Prost!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Extremely fast check in and check out. The staff spoke excellent English.
I was a bit sad the the TV had no CNN on it or any other English Channels.
Everything worked it did not require card in the slot to turn the power on.
The room door opened and closed very slowly.
Great Food and Bar on site.

Room Tip: Ask for an Room on the side opposite the elevator to be away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWesleyPruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear JohnWesleyPruitt,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I am sorry to hear your issue regarding the television channels. Nonetheless, we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your comments which allow us to confirm that our efforts for the well-being of our guests have been met.

We do hope that your review will be useful for any future travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This Holiday Inn is standard fair for a chain business hotel. It is mostly unremarkable. The service is pleasant enough, the rooms are basic but clean and the internet is fast enough to handle work on the road.

The one standout was the Ludwig Stuberl bar/restaurant. I enjoyed two dinners there, largely because there were no other options within a reasonable walking distance on a cold night. In both cases the food was excellent. I rank those meals in the top quarter of all the dining I had during a week in Bavaria and Austria.

The downside of the hotel is that it is close enough to the Englischer Garten and Altstadt that the website and marketing can make a case for easy access to some of the great sites of Munich, however the reality is that the hotel is tucked in a bland business and residential zone with few points of interest nearby. I did enjoy running in the Englischer Garten. Be warned though - while the website says that it is only 500 meters away that is at best a reference to a tendril of the park in a place quite some distance from the main attractions. To cross the river and enter the main park is 2 kilometers. To reach the famous Chinese Tower is about 3.5 kilometers. If you borrow a bicycle from the hotel this might be fine or if you enjoy 10 km or longer runs/walks you may also be satisfied.

In summary... the Holiday Inn is a suitable base for a business traveler with a car. It is not recommended for tourists or those hoping to combine their business travel with some personal exploration of Munich.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Doug J,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and restaurant.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our location. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very nice hotel. The rooms were clean and a comfortable size. There was a lovely bar in the hotel which had a traditional Bavarian theme. We was a short walk from the English Garten and there was a train station close by which took you straight into the city centre. There is a shop close by for small items you may need.
In summary we had a good stay and found the hotel clean,comfortable and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les Diablerets, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I was pretty disappointed from my stay in this Holiday Inn. Rooms are old and small. The TV doesn't have even 1 english channel... Not even CNN! This is bad!
The food was also a huge disappointment but we had a meal plan so I cannot speak for the rsetaurant menu.
And the location is bad as you don't have anything close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ormonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear ormonan,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
4.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
3.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ambiance Rivoli
Ambiance Rivoli
#113 of 383 in Munich
341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Freisinger Hof Hotel
Freisinger Hof Hotel
#155 of 383 in Munich
148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Ost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark

Property: Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Address: Effnerstr. 99, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Munich)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich, the metropolis with a heart and good-natured Bavarian hospitality! The Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark is the ideal base for business and leisure travellers to discover all the attractions Munich has to offer. The hotel is located next to the Englischer Garten park, which is the biggest inner city park in Europe and is situated in the heart of Munich. The sights and places of interest, such as Marienplatz, the October Beer-Festival, the Olympic Park, the new Allianz Arena, home of the Soccer Clubs FC Bayern Muenchen and 1860 Muenchen and the New Munich Exhibition Center, as well as the Munich main train station and the international airport, are only a few minutes away by public transport or car.The Munich trade fair, the venue for international conventions and trade fairs such as BAUMA, BAU, ISPO, IFAT and Analytica, is easy to reach by public transport. The A9 motorway and the Mittlerer Ring are close by. All guest rooms offer modern equipment, including self controlled air condition and free high speed W-LAN. Relax in the sauna or the steambath, which you ll find in our wellness area, or get in shape in our gym. As a special service trekking bikes can be hired free of charge. Our conference facilities can accommodate up to 277 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing