We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Ranked #169 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We always stay at Holiday Inns when traveling in the US. We were quite happy with our stay at this hotel. The staff at times seemed to be a little testy when large groups were being checked in. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. One problem we had was that it seemed that the a/c was SHUT DOWN OVERNIGHT. There was a swimming pool provide indoor. There are many store within walking distance. Be sure to stay OFF the bike lanes when walking around. They will literally run you over if you are in their path. The breakfast buffet provides a good variety of food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel is a short walk from the S Bahn, but so is everything else in Munich. Once you get here, they nickel and dime over every little thing: wifi is 14,90 Euro per day, then is spotty and slow. Access to the refrigerator requires a credit card. Breakfast is 20 Euro. Iron, ironing board, and washcloths are on request only. One day on our trip, our room did not get made up. The bed was comfortable, however, and the room was cool. This is a very busy hotel. A bonus is that there is a shopping center in the underground below the hotel with a decent bakery and grocery store, which was convenient. The hotel itself is bare bones.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Karen B,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Great stay , great service and wi fi which is free and every few hours you need to reenter the code, there is a beer garden with great and innovative food, reasonably priced and children ate for free, which was a plus!
We also enjoyed our breakfast and the garden outside the hotel.
This hotel is next to Penny grocery shop which is very cheep and to agip gas station,there is a paid parking inside the hotel or you can look for outside parking, we chose the inside one.
The room was great for a family of 4 and accomodated for all our needs.
You can reach the city attractions by car it takes 10 minutes.
Nice property, reasonably priced and not central.
There is also a gym and a small basement based room with games for young kids, I would prefer it based on the lobby floor.
I recommend it because of the suite size, great dinner and garden, wi fi, service and the total price which was more reasonable than the central munich hotels for 4 members.

Room Tip: Suite on high floor, dinner in the beer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ira_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

stayed in the Holiday Inn Munich for 2 nights end of May for work and I can't complain at all. the hotel newly furnished and the staff is extremely friendly. I used to work for a Holiday Inn in London for over a year. therefore I know what to look at. There was large selection at the Breakfast set up.
the only negative point is the price but I guess this is Munich.

would stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luca25455658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

For 280€ per night surely it's reasonable to accept a fresh room, breakfast and a decent wifi network. I got none of these. The room smelt stale, breakfast was not included, wifi was patchy at best and my television had a red line running down the screen. The nightly rate reflected the fact it was fully booked. That's all very well but the room and services should then reflect the rate charged. Not happy and, if I have any choice, will not return.

Stayed: June 2013
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear R0cket72,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns via TripAdvisor. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at the hotel, we would like to thank you for providing your feedback. We will follow up with the Executive Housekeeper to review with staff. IHG offers a variety of options for what you are looking for. If you need an hotel offering free breakfast we have our Holiday Inn Express with their complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Holiday Inn hotels are full service hotels with a full service restaurant on property with rates you can choose from that include breakfast.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

As a chain you know what you are going to get We arrived mid morning - our room wasn't ready but the desk checked our bags and we were able go spend on the afternoon seeing the local sights.
The hotel is above the connected mall and train/subway making going places very handy. We were able to get a breakfast special when we checked in so our rate was affordable but if you don't want to purchase breakfast there is a full service grocery store right next to the hotel in the mall.
We took advantage of room service - it was very quick - reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Even though the hotel seems to be quite quiet the higher up would probably be better. The hotel see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGirlInVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear AGirlInVermont,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you found our location convenient during your stay and thank you for noticing our quick room service.

It was real pleasure to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Your opinion, as every single guest, is very important to us and serves us as an advise, reward and motivation for the future.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

really this trip to munich was incredible
at first best western hotel dissapointed me
and then holiday inn
absolutely small rooms and bathroom
pillows i didn`t like
fridge didn`t work
front desk they DON`T CARE
when i asked to have 2 blanket
the guy told me that he will help me later
in the end i received my blanket when i slept in 1 hour.......
the staff not so friendly
breakfast very expensive

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigershrimp k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Tamara P,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
4.9 mi away
Ambiance Rivoli
Ambiance Rivoli
#143 of 389 in Munich
352 reviews
5.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City North
4.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark

Address: Effnerstr. 99, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Munich)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £56 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich, the metropolis with a heart and good-natured Bavarian hospitality! The Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark is the ideal base for business and leisure travellers to discover all the attractions Munich has to offer. The hotel is located next to the Englischer Garten park, which is the biggest inner city park in Europe and is situated in the heart of Munich. The sights and places of interest, such as Marienplatz, the October Beer-Festival, the Olympic Park, the new Allianz Arena, home of the Soccer Clubs FC Bayern Muenchen and 1860 Muenchen and the New Munich Exhibition Center, as well as the Munich main train station and the international airport, are only a few minutes away by public transport or car.The Munich trade fair, the venue for international conventions and trade fairs such as BAUMA, BAU, ISPO, IFAT and Analytica, is easy to reach by public transport. The A9 motorway and the Mittlerer Ring are close by. All guest rooms offer modern equipment, including self controlled air condition and free high speed W-LAN. Relax in the sauna or the steambath, which you ll find in our wellness area, or get in shape in our gym. As a special service trekking bikes can be hired free of charge. Our conference facilities can accommodate up to 277 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing