We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Ranked #174 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not a Good Location”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

There are three Holiday Inn hotels in Munich, one downtown, the one at the airport and the third one on Effner strasse, a bit inconvenently located 10-15 minutes from the closest metro station at the Arabella park. If you depend on public transport, then I would not recommend the hotel. on Effner strass. Aslo, not many things to see or do in the surrounding area.
I was not very satisfied with the service, the staff could be a bit more kind and professional, and know exactly what arrangement had been previously made, rather than puttting the client in an embarrassing situation.
The room was OK, the sleep quality good, in soft pillows, and good matress. The bathroom - I was a bit confused to find some Nivea amenities for man, eventhough they new than a female was the guest. Little things that you notice, that can spoil the impression of the ovarall stay.
I liked the kettle in the room and the option to make my own cup of coffee. I didn't like the Internet being charged, and that, for example, if you purhcase 1 hour, you cannot use it with interruptions, but at once, which is pretty much unacceptable.
All in all, I visited the other Holiday Inn in the city center, and was impressed with the connections - the hotel is connected directly to the Subway, which takes you, again, directly (the S8 line) to the airport in about 40 minutes. Also, it is connected to the Ubahn, and clsoe to Marienpatz in the core downtown, at just 2 metro stops away, or 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatjana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Makilaki,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    170
    128
    41
    20
See reviews for
56
89
35
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Was on business in Munich during the Oktoberfest season, and it was not only terrible finding vacancies, the prices were just beyond reality.
The Hotel is average, quite distant from downtown, walking to the next U Bahn takes 10 Minutes and a taxi will cost you around 16 Euro. the Hotel has small and normal rooms, make sure you get the normal "larger" ones. the small rooms are really small and not comfortable at all.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Gass1,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed over for two nights at this Holiday Inn while in Munich - I found the hotel excellent. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Service was excellent all through. I got the benefit of free wifi due to my IHG priority club membership. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was sumptuous. The local underground station is about 5-10 mins by walk, plus taxis seemed to be easily available in the hotel taxi rank. Overall an excellent stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoreTrips2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Would highly recommend , the holiday inn, the rooms are clean, the breakfast is really good, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The Holiday Inn is only a five min walk to underground sub way, which runs regular . A very very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roben_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Excellent service. Centrally located. Will go back any time! Breakfast menu offered a great variety of selections and was delicious. The staff was helpful and assisted us with directions around the city. The staff was fluent in English and many also in Spanish.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariahcuevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We always stay at Holiday Inns when traveling in the US. We were quite happy with our stay at this hotel. The staff at times seemed to be a little testy when large groups were being checked in. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. One problem we had was that it seemed that the a/c was SHUT DOWN OVERNIGHT. There was a swimming pool provide indoor. There are many store within walking distance. Be sure to stay OFF the bike lanes when walking around. They will literally run you over if you are in their path. The breakfast buffet provides a good variety of food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel is a short walk from the S Bahn, but so is everything else in Munich. Once you get here, they nickel and dime over every little thing: wifi is 14,90 Euro per day, then is spotty and slow. Access to the refrigerator requires a credit card. Breakfast is 20 Euro. Iron, ironing board, and washcloths are on request only. One day on our trip, our room did not get made up. The bed was comfortable, however, and the room was cool. This is a very busy hotel. A bonus is that there is a shopping center in the underground below the hotel with a decent bakery and grocery store, which was convenient. The hotel itself is bare bones.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Karen B,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
4.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
5.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Ost
3.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark

Property: Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Address: Effnerstr. 99, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Munich)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich, the metropolis with a heart and good-natured Bavarian hospitality! The Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark is the ideal base for business and leisure travellers to discover all the attractions Munich has to offer. The hotel is located next to the Englischer Garten park, which is the biggest inner city park in Europe and is situated in the heart of Munich. The sights and places of interest, such as Marienplatz, the October Beer-Festival, the Olympic Park, the new Allianz Arena, home of the Soccer Clubs FC Bayern Muenchen and 1860 Muenchen and the New Munich Exhibition Center, as well as the Munich main train station and the international airport, are only a few minutes away by public transport or car.The Munich trade fair, the venue for international conventions and trade fairs such as BAUMA, BAU, ISPO, IFAT and Analytica, is easy to reach by public transport. The A9 motorway and the Mittlerer Ring are close by. All guest rooms offer modern equipment, including self controlled air condition and free high speed W-LAN. Relax in the sauna or the steambath, which you ll find in our wellness area, or get in shape in our gym. As a special service trekking bikes can be hired free of charge. Our conference facilities can accommodate up to 277 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing