We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp Munchen City Center
Ranked #114 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights recently at the Tryp Munich City Center. Hotel was conveniently located, within walking distance of central train station and old town.
Room was clean and comfortable, but not overly luxurious. Air conditioning was weak and beds were average. Free wi-fi was a great bonus. Staff were helpful and courteous.

Overall, I'd say it should be rated 3 stars (not 4). However, had no problems with my stay and will certainly be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadavidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, Manager at Tryp Munchen City Center, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind comment.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,

Christian Kauck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    368
    235
    61
    54
See reviews for
184
358
36
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Huge old hotel ,with small room , micro lobby, I didn't feel the flavor of the real city ,No A/C , it was very warn specially inside my tied room , I tried to open my room window to have some fresh air ,but a loud noise from the hotel garden restaurant forced me to close it ,old furniture, the was equipped with a non worked fan , I requested to be fixed , just a promises and never be fixed during my stay ,clean room and reasonable bathroom , breakfast was O.K , staff work under stress when receiving a large group ,free WI-FI ,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, Manager at Tryp Munchen City Center, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comment.

We're sorry to hear that your guest room did not meet your expectations and that your fan was not repaired during your stay.
On behalf of my team, I apologize for this inconvenience.
Please rest assured that this is an isolated case and we will follow up with priority.

Please also be informed that for a small supplement of only EUR 20 we offer an upgrade to our Superior room category. Those rooms feature an air conditioning.

For your next stay, please book the guaranteed lowest rate directly at reservations.tryp.muenchen@melia.com.

Also we will try our best (subject to availability) to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 3pm; please write or call us.

We hope that you will give us a second chance so that we can prove to you that we are able to serve you the way you expect.

Best regards,

Christian Kauck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spent just a night to catch a train early morning. Hotel is big but room is too small. Small bed with even smaller area to have a comfortable stay. It seems to be a motel with just bed and breakfast option. Check-in was easy, just slept there for few hours and early morning went out to catch the train. The positive thing about this hotel is the location, very near to the main train station. Not that too close to see all the activities, so kind of peaceful location. Shops and restaurants are very near. Free wifi for just few MB enough to check emails. Didn't spend much time to explore more.

Room Tip: Maybe an upgraded room option will prove it to be a nicer hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imransiddiqui82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, Manager at Tryp Munchen City Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comment.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay.

Sorry that you had a small room.
Most of our guest rooms are at about 18sqms and only 20 out of 201 are a little smaller.
Next time please ask for one of our regular sized TRYP guest room, or if you would like to enjoy an air conditioning, for a Superior room.

Please book the guaranteed lowest rate directly at reservations.tryp.muenchen@melia.com.

Please be informed that our hotel is not a bed-and-breakfast place.
We feature one of the best Italian trattoria restaurants in the city center of Munich.

In our "Trattoria del Centro” we serve truly authentic Italian cuisine, all dishes cooked with fresh ingredients and made from scratch. Try one of our huge crispy stone oven baked pizzas or treat yourself to one of our delicious pasta dishes.

We are look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Best regards,

Christian Kauck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Rude staff. Hot hotel. Not worth the money. We had been staying in hostels for 2 weeks and all of them were as nice as this and those staff were friendly. Location was close to train station. Plenty of other choices

Room Tip: Room is adequate. No air conditioning unless you pay 30euro more. Staff at desk we're rude slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, Manager at Tryp Munchen City Center, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comment.
We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our services.

As written to you, you had booked a room through an online travel agency which holds an allotment of standard rooms at our hotel.
Our standard rooms do not feature an air conditioning, but we offer superior rooms with air conditionings at a small supplement of only EUR 20.

In case your agency had advertized an air conditioning as an amenity for the room booked, please forward me your booking details and we will make sure that the correct information is being communicated by our partners.

Also, please rest assured that my colleagues tried their best to offer you good and professional service.

We hope that you will accept our apologies and that we get a second chance to treat you to our Bavarian hospitality sometime in the near future. Please book through me directly at christian.kauck@melia.com.
Thank you very much.

Best regards,

Christian Kauck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great hotel and modern amenities. Breakfast was very good in restaurant. A lot of variety in food and restaurant set in nice courtyard garden. Hotel is close to main train station about 6 min walk and a short walk to the old city centre. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: It is a large hotel and for those who want a shorter walk to rooms booking a room at the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, Manager at Tryp Munchen City Center, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post such a nice review! Thank you.

For your next stay, please book the guaranteed lowest rate directly at reservations.tryp.muenchen@melia.com.

Also we will try our best (subject to availability) to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 3pm; please write or call us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Christian Kauck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It is a short 5 minute walk from train station. Rooms are clean and comfortable. AC is not standard but we got it for one night of our stay. Try to get rooms facing the courtyard rather than the street. We had such a room and we could keep our windows open all night when we did not have AC. I imagine it may be noisy on the street side. Florian at front desk was very helpful to us and deserves a special mention.

Room Tip: Rooms on courtyard side are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, Manager at Tryp Munchen City Center, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comment.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your kind words about Florian´s service at the front desk.

Hopefully we've encouraged you to come back and visit again soon!
Please book the guaranteed lowest rate at TRYP Muenchen City Center directly at reservations.tryp.muenchen@melia.com.

Also we will try our best (subject to availability) to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 3pm; please write or call us.

During your next visit, please check out our Italian restaurant “Trattoria del Centro” where we serve truly authentic Italian cuisine, all dishes cooked with fresh ingredients and made from scratch. Try one of our huge crispy stone oven baked pizzas or treat yourself to one of our delicious pasta dishes.

Best regards,

Christian Kauck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As a 4 star hotel, it has good , bad and terrible. The good: it's clean, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful, the food in the trattoria is reasonably priced and very tasty. The rooms have been updated recently and it's compact accommodation. It's close to the Hauptbahnhof , Karlplatz Stacchus ...
The bad and in some cases terrible: there was a piece of wall outside my room for 2 days and the tools had been abandoned. The lack of air conditioning in over 30 C heat , the internet was slow and unreliable ( and I even bought the extra high speed 24hr extra ticket) , the sheets whilst clean didn't fit the comfy bed. Munich deserves better!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiteOrchidABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, Manager at Tryp Munchen City Center, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your review.
We appreciate your kind words about our staff and are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your room..

Sorry to hear that your guest room was too warm during your stay. Next time please book one of our superior category rooms with air conditioning directly directly at reservations.tryp.muenchen@melia.com, where you get the guaranteed lowest rate.

Also we will try our best (subject to availability) to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 3pm; please write or call us.

During your next visit, please check out our Italian restaurant “Trattoria del Centro” where we serve truly authentic Italian cuisine, all dishes cooked with fresh ingredients and made from scratch. Try one of our huge crispy stone oven baked pizzas or treat yourself to one of our delicious pasta dishes.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Christian Kauck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.1 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#147 of 383 in Munich
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 383 in Munich
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relexa Hotel Munich
Relexa Hotel Munich
#115 of 383 in Munich
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andra Muenchen Hotel
Andra Muenchen Hotel
#117 of 383 in Munich
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Munchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Munchen City Center

Property: Tryp Munchen City Center
Address: Paul-Heyse-Str. 24, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Munchen City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the heart of downtown, our TRYP Munchen City Center hotel puts the cool vibe of Munich within easy reach. Our Munich hotel near Theresienwiese, site of the world-famous Oktoberfest, puts chic shops, lively pubs and hip night life at your fingertips. Theresienwiese Metro station is steps away, and the central railway is nearby.Our Munich hotel offers special touches to make your stay extraordinary. Escape to our gym for a workout, or warm your cares away in our sauna. Surf the Web using Wi-Fi internet access, or get down to business in our meeting space. Gear up for a busy day with our premium breakfast buffet before heading out in the morning. When the sun goes down, chill with a cocktail in our lounge and follow it up with an authentic German dinner in our restaurant. For the inside scoop on the cool Munich scene, just ask our expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Munchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Muenchen Hotel Munich
Tryp Hotel Munich
Tryp Hotel Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing