We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great basic hotel”
Review of Senator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senator Hotel
Ranked #133 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great basic hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed from 11th March to 15th and had no problems at all. It's about a ten minute walk from the main train station or the tram stops just around the corner. There are a few bars and restaurants close by but most are near the station. I had a single room which was plenty big enough and had a balcony that could cater for 10! Bed was comfortable, bathroom a good size, plenty of cupboard space and a reasonable TV although only a couple of channels were in English. The room was cleaned everyday. Breakfast was good for the price we had paid. A selection of cold meets and cheeses, three choices of hot meals, sausages, meat patties, and scrambled or boiled eggs. Choice of cereals, and juices. Plenty to start the day. Would I stay here again, yep no problem. Bar stayed open untill you went to bed. Result.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andysnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    93
    57
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
96
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the friendly receptionist, in the bright, clean reception area who quickly checked us in and we were on our way to our single rooms. The rooms were 301 which was an average sized single (with double bed) and balcony, and 502 which was very spacious with a seating area, and a balcony large enough to hold a party on. The Hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Hauptbahnhof (central station) but you can take tram 18 & 19 to within 100 yards of the hotel from outside the station. The location of the hotel is great with a traditional German restaurant just around the corner (very good food and prices, as well as Sky TV for the footy) and various other bars, cafes, and restaurants within 5 minutes walking, as well as the tram stop allowing quick access to all of Munich. The Rooms vary (I am talking as a single traveler) in size, mine was average (301) my companions (502) was massive, both came with a balcony. The beds were comfortable, and the curtains which at first sight seemed very thin, did in fact create a blackout, so a good nights/mornings sleep was guaranteed, along with no traffic noise from the nearby road. There is a TV (old style) with about 15 German channels, and the Three usual English speaking ones, pay TV is available, but expensive. There is a small not overpriced Mini-Bar, and the bathroom is bright and spotless, with a deep bath that you can have a proper relaxing soak in. The Breakfast Room has 11 tables seating 44 people (the most at one sitting I saw were 16 people so no problem getting a table) and the food consisted of 4 juices, 3 cereals, fresh fruit and 2 yogurt's, 10 different Twining's Teas (coffee is ready made in a flask on your table) sliced bread by the toaster, next to 5 different jams and a Chocolate spread and a bread basket full of various rolls, and large Pretzel's. The cold section had 6 different hams, 5 cheeses, a meat salad, a vegetable salad, and Tuna salad. The Hot section had (good) scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, and a meaty thing that changes daily from Frikadellen to weisswurst to brokwurst to grilled chipolatas all of which are supurb. You may have guessed I loved the Breakfast. Wi-Fi is only 3 Euro a day, and there is a computer next to the reception desk. The Bar seems very underused but stocks Wine, Spirits, and Draught Beer. Upon arriving back at the hotel at 2.30 am and in need of more refreshment (in a somewhat intoxicated state) the night porter/receptionist/barman informed us that he had closed the bar, but when we stated our case he was more than happy to re-open the bar and we all had a few hours of fun chatting away until it was time to move downstairs for breakfast. Overall, this hotel has much going for it and very little against (lack of a smoking area), the staff are very friendly, the hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean, breakfast is a feast, and it is only a minute or so to the Tram stop. I paid 270 euro for 4 nights including Breakfast and consider it a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OX4-GOONER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We spent two days in transit in Munich and found this hotel comfortable enough for our needs. If you are arriving or departing by train then you will only have a 10 minutes to walk. Breakfast is adequate and the rooms are not too small. There is no safe in the room but the hotel offers safe keeping for valuables.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street but we did not find it to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I arrived at 10:30pm after a long journey to be under-whelmed by the hostel like appearance of the hotel from the exterior. My views did not improve when I stepped into the shabby reception which looked like it had not been renovated since the 1970's.

Due to the time I was hungry, however I was made aware that the hotel did not serve any food other than breakfast (in a small and shabby underground room). The receptionist informed me that there were no restaurants in the local area other than run-down properties, nothing to see and nowhere to eat.

I proceeded to explore the local area in the hope of finding somewhere to eat but after 30mins I returned to my hotel room (sic) hungry. The room itself was in keeping with the rest of the hotel - awful. The doors and walls were thin, unable to keep out the sounds of tv's, conversations, people in the hall outside my door - sound was penetrating the room from any direction, which made for a terrible nights sleep. This was all compounded by the poor bed and bedding, cheap, insufficient and uncomfortable.

The only saving grace was the shower - it was hot and powerful; maybe just perspective but I appreciated this in the morning. Breakfast was plain, no hot plates, simply cold meats and cheese with pastries and cereals. Please do not drink the coffee, it will put you off coffee for life - the jugs do not keep it warm and it tastes more how I assume road tar would taste.

In summary, if you are looking for an over-expensive hostel to stay in the choose The Senator, if you want a comfortable hotel with standard amenities you would come to expect from a hotel - do not stay here, I certainly will not again.

Room Tip: "Not here"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGSTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed in Senator Hotel at the end of the year to celebrate new year's eve in Munchen. The hotel itself is located pretty well within walking distance of the city-center.

The room we got upon arrival was adequate size-wise, but especially the bathroom was dirty. Spiderwebs at the ceiling, hair in the sink, toilet and shower. After we complained about that we got relocated to a very small room at the front of the hotel. Still didn't seem to clean, but we accepted it.
The day after we got relocated to yet another room, which was a business-room, which was of a very good size and quite clean (though there still were a couple of spiderwebs) and as a sorry for the inconvenience we got a fruit-dish and two small bottles of sparkling wine, so pretty good service!

The breakfast was decent, though the breakfast-room was a bit small too.

Room Tip: The business-rooms are better value for money than the ordinary rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2013

There was not anything completely wrong with this hotel however when I compare it to all the other hotels we have been staying in for similar prices, it's pretty ordinary. Very basic hotel and basic services. The bed was very hard and I woke up with a sore neck from my pillow. I would have also preferred the location closer to the main action. Other than that, it is fairly clean and nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

stayed here two nights in November with my girlfriend, just wanted a central location to explore the sights which this was. We arrived at almost 11pm due to a late flight, this wasn't a problem for the reception staff. Hotel room and bathroom were both a really good size. bed was really comfy and hotel was nice and warm as it was below freezing outside. hotel room was very clean altho some of the furniture was very dated. bedsheets and towels were changed everyday. location was great 5 to 10 min walk from the main station. overall would Stay here again and would recommend this hotel. also did leave bags behind the reception desk as we had a late flight, wasn't stupid enough to leave valuables but can say nothing was taken.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezzatrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.1 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 383 in Munich
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
#68 of 383 in Munich
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
0.3 mi away
Tryp Munchen City Center
Tryp Munchen City Center
#115 of 383 in Munich
934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#147 of 383 in Munich
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel

Property: Senator Hotel
Address: Martin-Greif-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing