We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service / Fine breakfast / Quiet location”
Review of Senator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Senator Hotel
Ranked #142 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Senator offers a polite and efficient front desk. They quickly offered an umbrella for a rainy afternoon stroll. While Wi-Fi is not free there is an on-line computer for guests in the lobby.
The hotel also provides an absolutely perfect breakfast buffet included in the room price.
It is cycle friendly and bicycles can be easily stored in the underground garage.
The hotel is 850 metres from the Hauptbahnhof (main train station) and a 5 minute walk from the Augustiner brewery and restaurant.
Rooms are immaculately clean and come with a fan that could be appreciated on warmer evenings.
We would recommend asking for a room away from Martin Greifstrasse. The courtyard side is much quieter.
For those who prefer not to bike or walk to the center of Munich, the #19 tram stop is 1 minute from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Martin Greifstrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikepilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

I spent one night at the Hotel Senator, after moving from another hotel. In general, it's a decent hotel. The best thing about it, is the huge room. I had a room that's on an 'intermediate floor' where one has to walk half a flight of stairs after getting off the elevator, and those rooms are even bigger.

The furnishing are definitely dated, especially the couch. Wifi is about 3 or 3.50 Euros per day, that you can buy the code from the reception, and although it works, it's not completely reliable, because the signal comes in and out. The room and the bathroom are overall very clean and again very spacious.

Also you have to leave the key at the reception upon leaving the hotel, because the is no card access, which is a bit old fashioned for 2013.

Being near Theresienwiese, is not very convenient, even if walking to the Hauptbahnhof is only 10 minutes. But nearby there really is nothing except some office and residential buildings.

Overall it's a decent hotel with plenty of space to move around in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siminnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

nice hotel, close to train station (2stops by tram) but old city centre, little far. Room very big, nice furniture and clean but too much warm! breakfast really goog but staff in reception not very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenaalexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed for two nigts at this hotel from March 29th to March 30th. This hotel has the following good things:
1. Breakfast is included and it has lots of things, different types of bread, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, sausages, etc. We arrived at 7:30 in the morning on the 29th and did not have the breakfast included for that day but was very cheap for the kind of breakfast it was, only 4.80 euros.
2. Rooms: The rooms have enough space is not a tiny room, is very comfortable and the same with the bathrooms. Both were very clean.
3. Location: It is very easy to get from the Hauptbahnof, it is in walking distance but if you have your suitcases with you, I would recommend you to take a taxi, we did it walking as we thought it was closer, the distance is around 800 mts. Anyways, from the train station is very easy to get to Marienplatz and all of the tourist attractions.

Why I put 4 starts and not 5?

1. Internet was not included, however once we paid it was very good.
2. Location: In my first good points, I mentioned the location, but the thing is that when we booked this hotel and read in their website that it was in a walking distance from the station, we thought it was very very close (200 mts or so), but it was around 800 mts, and we are young and can walk but there could be people that does not like to walk that much to the station and to move around, specially when it is snowing as it was when we arrived and had to walk with our suitecases. Just an observation.

But I would recommend this hotel if you want a good and not that expensive hotel, for me it was good for the money I spent there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located two km from the downtown rooms are very small but very clean no free Internet that is the the issue pure business hotel mattress is very hard fruit available 24X7 on the reception desk

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mustufa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The room was ex smoking despite requiring a non-smoking one. It was very clean and very adequate. Service was very polite and good value for money BUT wi-fi is a rip off when it should be free. Wi-fi isn't particularly good either.
Facilities are what you pay for - a good bar/breakfast if you want it. Local restuarants are sparse but the local Brauhaus 50m away is excellent value. Augustiner Keller is just 15 minutes away and highly recommended. Tram and train stops are nearby and enable travel to anywhere in Munich very quickly (don't buy the Munich Travel card - the extra cost buys you virtually nothing and the advertised 3 days would be illegal in the UK, it runs out at 12.01 am on the fourth day!). It's the Munich tranpsport systems that give extra value to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim_lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed from 11th March to 15th and had no problems at all. It's about a ten minute walk from the main train station or the tram stops just around the corner. There are a few bars and restaurants close by but most are near the station. I had a single room which was plenty big enough and had a balcony that could cater for 10! Bed was comfortable, bathroom a good size, plenty of cupboard space and a reasonable TV although only a couple of channels were in English. The room was cleaned everyday. Breakfast was good for the price we had paid. A selection of cold meets and cheeses, three choices of hot meals, sausages, meat patties, and scrambled or boiled eggs. Choice of cereals, and juices. Plenty to start the day. Would I stay here again, yep no problem. Bar stayed open untill you went to bed. Result.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Andysnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#30 of 389 in Munich
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.2 mi away
Krone Hotel
Krone Hotel
#348 of 389 in Munich
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seibel
Hotel Seibel
#342 of 389 in Munich
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#140 of 389 in Munich
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel

Address: Martin-Greif-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £66 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing