We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sufficient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #307 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
243 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Sufficient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Centrally located with car parking and close to the English Garden made it very useful for visiting the city.

Rooms are a bit tired, but the staff are very helpful.

Had to relocate for the last night as the cost was going to double, even though it was not taken we understand and went to one nearby, at which the price did not escalate and it was more modern and better!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagoon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear lagoon08, Thank you for your review. It is great that you enjoyed our central location and thank in particular for your praising words on our staff. I am sorry that we could not convince you entirely of our service and hotel during your stay. We are aware that some of our rooms require refurbishment and we have plans for an extensive modernization of the hotel starting next year. Nevertheless we hope to welcoming you again in the near future. With best regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Cosmopolitan hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    61
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
9
35
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Have just returned from our stag holiday. We spent 3 nights here and can have no complaints at all. Our pick up was waiting for us at airport when we arrived which was a greta start. Hotel entrance is underwhelming but there is nothing that they can do about that as it is the fact that it is set back off the road a bit. Our rooms were fine. Breakfast was good too , plenty to choose from and what was even better was that it is served between 7 and 11. Best thing was the staff. All very friendly , particular praise to Sandra , but all staff were excellent. Was dreading them being a little hostile to us as we were a stag group of 11 but not at all. We all behaved well too i hope. If you are expecting luxury then don't come here , if you are thinking that you won't come here because of negative feedback on here then you would be wrong also. To sum it up in short my description would be 'Adequate hotel with excellent , friendly staff'

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herefordian1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear herefordian1978, Thank you for your great review. It is wonderful you have chosen our hotel for this special occasion and that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you in particular for your kind words on our staff. I forwarded already your compliments on to the team and Sandra especially is very happy about your nice feedback. The next time you are in town we all look forward to seeing you and your friends again. Until then we remain with warmest regards from Munich Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Cosmopolitan hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here in a single room and it was the perfect size for a solo traveler. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, although a little expensive. The location was perfect! Close to several U Bahn stations and lots of shopping, bars, and restaurants all within close walking distance. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality ;Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Victoria B, Thank you for your great evaluation. We are very pleased that you have chosen our hotel for your visit in Munich and that you sensed it most suitable for your trip. Thank you for your kind words on our staff. I will pass your compliments on to the team. The next time you are in town we look forward to welcoming you again. Warmest regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Cosmopolitan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here for a business trip so even though I didn't pay I felt the price was quite high for the very basic service the hotel provides. Granted, it is in a very convenient location, very close to the subway station and you can even walk into the city center (30 min). But the rooms were very simply equipped, the furniture worn (especially the carpets) and it all had a very 80ies to 90ies feel to it. Especially the fact that the rooms were very hot (even when heater was turned off in December!) and the curtains were not wide enough to fully cover the length of the window. As the opposite building was private appartments, I felt a bit watched. Liked the mini bar, which had very reasonable prices, too. Bathroom was standard, and clean. Breakfast was ok, but not great. Staff was friendly. Didn't have their own restaurant, which was a bit disappointing, too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peabrain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Quality Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Peabrain2013, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our central location in Schwabing and that you do rate our staff high. We feel sorry if we could not fulfill your expectation on our hotel entirely. We do not provide air conditioning in our rooms that is right and with a quite unusual warm period at the end of December we had some issues with warmth in the rooms during this time. In comparison to our additional three hotels we describe our Cosmopolitan Hotel as a business hotel (bed & breakfast) for people how are looking for a simple accommodation in central location. Our small hotel group, Geisel Privathotels provides with three other hotels (Hotel Königshof, Hotel Excelsior and anna hotel) a more detailed service for guests how would like to enjoy the comfort and amenities of a first class (4 Star Standard) up to a luxury hotel, all located also in the city centre of Munich. Maybe one of these hotels might be a possibility for your next stay. We would be happy to welcoming you again in one of our properties soon. With best regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Cosmopolitan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trnava, Slovakia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed in the Hotel few days ago and my rating is positive.
Hotel service and the staff work precisely and reliably. Communication with hotel staff worked well even I had some special requests before my arrival. Hotel rooms as such deserves 3 stars and the only thing I can report as annoying was a ammoniac smell I felt a bit in the morning, most likely coming from bathroom. As I stay for just 1 night I am unable to state whether this was only a temporary issue or permanent problem in the room I occupied.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Marian77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear 19Marian77,
We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to summarize your impressions of our hotel. Thank you for your kind words on our staff. It is wonderful to hear that your requests had been fulfilled to your satisfaction. With great surprise we read your comment of the smell in the bathroom. We will double check with our housekeeping department to find out the reason for this. Thank you for your hint. The next time you are in town we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Cosmopolitan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano Marittima, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at the Cosmpolitan when the Oktoberfest was beginning in Munich, so very few hotels were available. The hotel was far too expensive with reference to its services, but it's understandable.
Anyway, rooms are clean and tidy, the breakfast is quite good (apart from the lack of hot food) and the staff is really helpful.
The location is great, couple of steps from Leopoldstrasse and their shops and restaurants.
Remind that no gym or sauna are provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Iris D.,
Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our services. Happily I have passed your compliments to the staff. We understand that you were not satisfied with the price for your visit. You mentioned that you stayed with us during the “Oktoberfest”, which is known as the Largest People's Fair in the world. Due to the high demand of accommodation for all visitors of the festival it is the busiest time of the year for the hotels. Our rates vary with regards to demand and availability therefore the price for a room at that time is higher than for any other date. We would like to ensure you that we very much mind a fair pricing and hope our explanations are useful for you. Besides this we would be happy to welcome you again to our hotel for another occasion. Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Cosmopolitan Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our expectations were low as was the price but we booked as the hotel was a 3 minute walk from where we needed to be. Our expectations were surpassed as we were given a large, clean room with comfortable beds and a huge bath.
Breakfast was the usual buffet (no hot) but all items were fresh and being regularly topped up as required. The only down side was the noise from the adjacent building works which started at 0700 on a Saturday morning.
Good value, clean and comfortable

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfisti1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Alfisti1966, Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that we could exceeded your expectations on our hotel during your stay. We apologize you have been disturbed by noise from the construction work next door.
We look forward to seeing again in our hotel soon.
With best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Cosmopolitan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
0.1 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#191 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#211 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#222 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.7 mi away
Park Residence
Park Residence
#8 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#256 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: Hohenzollernstr. 5, 80801 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and enjoy yourself in the heart of Munich's fashionable Schwabing district. Mingle with the city's in-crowd when you're in the mood. The Cosmopolitan is a favourite among Munich's free-spirited globetrotters, models, photographers, media reps and fashion specialists. Perhaps it's the Ligne Roset interior design or the sumptuous breakfast buffet – or maybe it's the hotel guests themselves. Either way, it's time for you to discover the Cosmopolitan Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing