We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastehaus Englischer Garten”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gastehaus Englischer Garten
Ranked #243 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 24 September 2011

1. Location: If you have minimum baggage, it is a 15-20 mins walk from the Metro. Otherwise take a taxi. There is no bus stop nearby.

2. Breakfast: Worth the nominal charge, though not flamboyant. Adequate to keep you going for the morning session.

3. If you are given a room in the annexe building, you may have to climb a bit - though there is an elevator, it stops at about mid floor levels, which is kind of odd.

4. No airconditioning or laundry in-house.

5. Overall fair value for the money you pay.

Room Tip: The room provided did not have airconditioning or an air circulating fan. Check this before booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here for one night at the end of our German adventure. Great location, just a few tube stops from the centre of town or if the weather permits a nice stroll through the garden.

We had a room with a private bathroom and it was spacious, clean and very well appointed. Staff were very friendly giving us directions to the airport etc and available to answer any questions we had.

We were lucky to get one of the free spaces at the front of the hotel and were able to leave our car there after checking out - if not there is an underground parking area that guests can also use.

Its in a lovely area - just 5 mins walk from tube stop and an array of nice looking cafes and bars etc that seemed very lively (in a chilled out kind of way) when we came back on the Friday night.

My only comment of a slightly negative nature would be that at a cost of 130euros a night I would expect breakfast to be included as apposed to extra.

Would reccommend as a place to stay as easy to get into the centre but far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerityK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We found Gastehaus Englischer Garten to have lots of charm and cozy, but some of the staff was very chilly. We were surprised because the atmosphere is so inviting. Having said that, a lovely gal came on at the end of the day and was quite helpful to us in sorting out a problem one evening. A key thing to know about this Inn is: ask for Room 10, 20, 30 or 90. They are big spacious old-fashioned rooms. We had Room 90 and loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulietNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We loved staying at the Gastehaus Englischer Garten. The rooms, location, and especially the ladies who looked after us all were great!! We had a 2 minute walk to the English Garden, where we watched the people, geese, and surfers. The biergarden across the street served great bier and bratwurstel. It was all great fun. While some might object to the fact that the toilet was down the hall and the shower was in the basement, we could care less. The ladies took excellent care of us at breakfast. While we had not really planned to visit Munich, with our experience at the English Garden, we would return in an instant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank McWilson1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

When planning our trip I used TripAdvisor a lot so I will pay-it-forward and leave reviews of all the places/activities we stayed at/did. I hope they help.
Location was 10 minutes from the UBand station and set in a safe, pleasant, residential neighborhood.. Our room was small and quaint (with the exception of a poorly designed bath and toilet) but faced the restaurant/bar across the street so it was noisy even thought we were on the top floor.
We paid extra for the breakfast one day and was disappointed in the selection.
My major complaint (and it's the reason I would not recommend the hotel) was the surly woman who worked the afternoon/evening shift. We stayed for 3 nights so she could have been having a bad week but... Absolutely not willing to answer questions, offer recommendations, or even say good night/you're welcome in German. Getting info is so critical when traveling, waiting for the folk who worked the morning shift to get info was just not always do-able.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TandR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

My husband and my sister and I stayed here (I think in the honeymoon suite) during our stay in Munchen for Oktoberfest. It was a beautiful building next to the beautiful Englischer Garten park. It is across from a traditional German restaurant which was delicious and welcoming. The staff were helpful and spoke English. The location was convenient as it was a short walk (~10mins) from the tram stop. I would stay there again.

3  Thank Beth604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in the main guesthouse for several nights in September. Our room was a large suite (more space than we needed!) with a private bathroom. The room and bathroom were both very clean and we had a view of the river that runs by the English Garden from outside our window.

We had breakfast at the hotel once (4.50 euros per person), which was delicious, but I felt that for the price of the room (169 euros) breakfast could have at least been included.

The subway station is only a five minute walk from the hotel, but we ended up taking a scenic 30 minute walk to the Marienplatz through the Englischer Garten with no problems at all.

The only thing I would not recommend is having dinner at the Biergarten across the street from the hotel. The service was absolutely terrible; no one will want to serve you unless you speak perfect German.

Overall the hotel was very good. We appreciated the front desk service for giving us a map and directions and also calling a taxi for us the morning we left. We'd stay here again, but given the cleanliness of the hotel, I would probably trust staying in a room with shared facilities for a lower price .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliabee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#202 of 385 in Munich
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#244 of 385 in Munich
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#209 of 385 in Munich
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.5 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#211 of 385 in Munich
206 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa am Schlosspark
Villa am Schlosspark
#264 of 385 in Munich
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Englischer Garten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Englischer Garten

Address: Liebergesellstr. 8 | Schwabing, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £64 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Gastehaus Englischer Garten Munich
Gastehaus Englischer Garten Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing