We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good and bad”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gastehaus Englischer Garten
Ranked #243 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I love the location of this hotel as it sits right at the park in Munich. Getting there with luggage is a problem though, especially if it is raining. If you can stay in the main house the rooms are very nice and quaint, with a view of the park and you can even hear the brook next to the hotel in the summer. The breakfast was not worth the charge in my opinion, but it was convenient given the distance to Leopoldstrasse and the Cafes there. Overall a good hotel with some minor drawbacks. The restaurant across the street is great, btw!

Room Tip: Stay in the main house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

We loved the Englischer Garten. It is small friendly hotel with quiet rooms and a great location. The service is great and the included breakfast is also Excellent. The wait staff is friendly and always looking to please the customer.

Thank ecinajPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We chose to stay at this hotel during our Christmas market trip because our travel itinerary changed and 1) we were able to get a last-minute room here during a very busy season and 2) we had stayed near the English Garden before and liked the area. The main gastehaus is adorable, but unfortunately we did not get to stay in it, but in an apartment down the lane. But, who can be too choosy during a snowstorm and Christmas markets!! The apartment was clean, but the furnishings were cheap modern. On the down side: I had to rig a lamp by the bed to read at night. The towels were old. Its hard to get to (there had been a major snow storm during the previous night, so we decided to a taxi from the train station to hotel. While it looks like it is possible to get to the hotel from the metro on a map, it would not be easy). On the up side: it was nice to walk in the English Garden and the breakfast the next morning was nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tygertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed in room 90 with ensuite bathroom. Large 'traditional' room but please don't make that an excuse not to update when necessary! No blinds just curtains which didn't quite fit around the windows!
Bathroom toiletries extremely inadequate for the price we paid (Oktoberfest week so prices inflated) - just 2 small bars of soap and 2 sachets of CHEAP showergel for our entire stay of 3 nights....yes I know I'm expecting too much luxury lol! The shower was rubbish too but luckily the bath was OK with my one little bar of soap.
Breakfast was good - selection of cereals, meats, cheeses, omlettes or whatever you fancied. Well worth the 4.5 euros.
Close to the English Garden park, bier garten/restaurant opposite and town within easy walk with large stores (Karstadt brilliant for gifts) and coffee shops.

Room Tip: Ask for biggest room! It's a quiet area so you should sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

1. Location: If you have minimum baggage, it is a 15-20 mins walk from the Metro. Otherwise take a taxi. There is no bus stop nearby.

2. Breakfast: Worth the nominal charge, though not flamboyant. Adequate to keep you going for the morning session.

3. If you are given a room in the annexe building, you may have to climb a bit - though there is an elevator, it stops at about mid floor levels, which is kind of odd.

4. No airconditioning or laundry in-house.

5. Overall fair value for the money you pay.

Room Tip: The room provided did not have airconditioning or an air circulating fan. Check this before booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here for one night at the end of our German adventure. Great location, just a few tube stops from the centre of town or if the weather permits a nice stroll through the garden.

We had a room with a private bathroom and it was spacious, clean and very well appointed. Staff were very friendly giving us directions to the airport etc and available to answer any questions we had.

We were lucky to get one of the free spaces at the front of the hotel and were able to leave our car there after checking out - if not there is an underground parking area that guests can also use.

Its in a lovely area - just 5 mins walk from tube stop and an array of nice looking cafes and bars etc that seemed very lively (in a chilled out kind of way) when we came back on the Friday night.

My only comment of a slightly negative nature would be that at a cost of 130euros a night I would expect breakfast to be included as apposed to extra.

Would reccommend as a place to stay as easy to get into the centre but far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerityK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We found Gastehaus Englischer Garten to have lots of charm and cozy, but some of the staff was very chilly. We were surprised because the atmosphere is so inviting. Having said that, a lovely gal came on at the end of the day and was quite helpful to us in sorting out a problem one evening. A key thing to know about this Inn is: ask for Room 10, 20, 30 or 90. They are big spacious old-fashioned rooms. We had Room 90 and loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulietNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#202 of 385 in Munich
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#244 of 385 in Munich
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#209 of 385 in Munich
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.5 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#211 of 385 in Munich
206 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa am Schlosspark
Villa am Schlosspark
#264 of 385 in Munich
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Englischer Garten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Englischer Garten

Address: Liebergesellstr. 8 | Schwabing, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £64 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Gastehaus Englischer Garten Munich
Gastehaus Englischer Garten Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing