We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little urban getaway in Munich”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gastehaus Englischer Garten
Ranked #240 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A lovely little urban getaway in Munich”
Reviewed 10 September 2006

A very nice little guest house, literally adjoining the English Garden. A small creek ran right past our third-floor window, and the view through the trees was very relaxing. It felt like you were way out in the countryside, no easy task since we were there during the qualifying round of the World Cup, but shopping and the metro were less than a 5 minute walk. Very close to three beer gardens in the park, the Seehaus, Chinesischer Turm and Hirschhaus. The room was simply but comfortably appointed. We did not take advantage of breakfast, as it was additional.

  • Liked — Location: away from it all yet close to everything
  • Disliked — Inflated World Cup pricing
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Utinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    36
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
44
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london, england
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2006

My husband and I booked our rooms - specifiying that we wanted to stay in the main house back in November as we hoped to get tickets for the brazil/Australia match. We were out of luck there but we had a fantastic time anyway.

The weather was very hot so having a small window wasn't too bad. The windows were open most of the time. Room and bathroom, were both large & immaculately clean with satellite TV & minibar. Room also very quiet despite the beer garden restaurant opposite where we watched the footie on a daily basis when not imbibng culture.

It s a great area as well - near the gardens and just round the corner from "the main drag" in Schwabing. Pasta e basta is also a good place to eat - not great romanic ambience but cheap & teh food is good.

There were quite a few Americans staying and some of them did ask the most extraordinary questions - reception was right next door to the breakfast room - and the staff did try to help althogh some of the requests were rather odd - the American woman who asked if the receptionist could call all the hotels in the city (in the middle of the world cup!!!) to see if any had people from San Francisco staying, was the most bizarre. We never discovered why she needed to know and the receptionsuit gave up after calling about ten or so hotels. It is a small german b&b however, so if you want a full service hotel this isn't the place

It's astonsihing value for money and I hope to go back one day

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blue-lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2005

I agree with others that you really do feel at home here. It has a quaint bed and breakfast feel to it. Although outside the main tourist area, it couldn't be easier to get to and from downtown on the underground. The owners are warm and the breakfast felt like you were sitting in your grandmother's kitchen eating with old friends. We absolutely recommend going to the local restaurant located across the street. While not a soul spoke any english they could not have been warmer or more inviting and the food was among the best we had anywhere. Staying at this hotel gave us a chance to experience what it is like to really live in Munich. I would highly recommend it for someone who wants a cozy b&b. However, if modern amenities and having everything at your fingertips is more your thing (which, to tell you the truth, is normally what I prefer) then this hotel won't fit the bill.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nddagwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 October 2005

Stayed in the annex across the street and at first we were a bit disappointed because the main building looked more Gemutlichheit, but we were very happy with our Apartment type room. We arrived earlier than they wanted to have us check in but they were very accomodating in letting us put our baggage in the room and leave for awhile so they could clean. We would definitely stay again however it was a bit pricier than we would have liked but what can you expect during Oktoberfest. Very nice access to the park and close enough to the U-Bahn station in Munchener Frieheit. The walk to the town center was a bit too far to do regularly.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2005

I know Munich quite well -- lived there for a year and go back frequently. For the price & location, this is a good value. The Englischer Garten is lovely and there are very few hotels that border it, so it's an unusual experience for Munich. The neighborhood is quiet, and you're well positioned in Schwabing, which is a very lively part of town once you get away from the garden and are closer to Muenchener Freiheit / Leopoldstrasse. The owner is quite friendly.

What the other reviews here don't mention, though, is that this hotel has multiple buildings. The main building is quite charming; we checked in there. However, our room was actually in an apartment building across the street. Still very quiet, but the apartment was very mundane while still adequate. You lose all the charm over there -- but you'll get a taste of the sorts of buildings many Germans live in.

  • Stayed June 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank OffTheBeatenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2005

We stayed at the Gastehaus Englisher Garten last week (Feb 4-7). After researching for hotels for a month I always hope we made the right decision. This time we had! We had room #90 on the main floor. I believe there is one other room next door. The room was huge as was the bathroom. Both very rare in Europe. The breakfast was great although not included in the price ( 9 Euros additional per person) We ended up with a nightly rate of 127 Euros w/ breakfast p/ night. Not bad for Munich.

There is not a lift. It looked like a very narrow stairway up and down so we were thrilled w/ the location of our room. Didn't want to drag our luggage up and down the stairs.

Better to get directions from the hotel if your using the subway system. The directions on their Web site are for driving.

If your tired of the Brat and Kraut meals there is a great Italian restaurant a couple of blocks away Pasta e Basta. (Feilitzsch Strasse 23). All pasta made fresh to your order. VERY cheap. Serves wine and beer as well. Don't let the sterile look of the place scare you. It doesn't have the warm cozy feel but the food is excellent.

Across the street form the hotel is another great restaurant. I bet this place is beautiful during the spring and summer.

Helpful?
12 Thank Moe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 February 2005

We stayed there ten years ago for several nights and we are returning to Munich this year and wish to stay there again as we enjoyed ourselves so much. Location near the actual gardens is superb.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#218 of 383 in Munich
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#207 of 383 in Munich
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#260 of 383 in Munich
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Occam
#337 of 383 in Munich
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#212 of 383 in Munich
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Englischer Garten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Englischer Garten

Property: Gastehaus Englischer Garten
Address: Liebergesellstr. 8 | Schwabing, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Gastehaus Englischer Garten Munich
Gastehaus Englischer Garten Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing