We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acanthus triumphs once again!”
Review of Acanthushotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acanthushotel
Ranked #240 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Acanthus triumphs once again!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our second Group trip to Munich in the past year and the
ACANTHUS was excellent once again!!! Great breakfast buffet,
wonderful rooms and the long term staff once again pulled through
with obtaining concert tickets for our Group on a very short term
notice. A great value for the ambience & Location!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the "ALBA ROSE"-non-Smoking courtside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    55
    25
    4
    12
See reviews for
16
49
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
293 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was only staying one night, but would have gladly stayed longer!
I was met by a very friendly American (who's been in Munich for 15 years!) who hailed from Portland, OR who carefully showed me into the underground garage and positioned the car in a space where it' height would not be an issue.
My room was on the sixth floor, accessed by what I would characterise as a "Parisien" lift - big enough for two with luggage, but no more! It even has its own sense of humour - and by that I mean not that it stops randomly on its journey - simply that there is a small plaque on the wall announcing that if the lift shakes, it is because it loves you!
The room was a very good size and, being in the eaves of the building, I was very grateful for the fan to help circulate the air at night!
Breakfast was a pleasant surprise - not necessarily offering everything your heart could desire, but certainly offering some items that you didn't know you wanted until you saw them.
Dinner is not offered but you are less than 200 yards from one of Munich's central streets with plenty of restaurants on offer.
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CesmeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have been bringing small groups to Munich for the past 9 years
and have stayed every time except once at the Acanthus!!!
GREAT Breakfast buffet, wonderful rooms, newly renovated Lobby/Reception
the Junior Suite (7th Floor) is the absolute hit with a view of the Munich inner-city
skyline. The staff is friendly, outgoing and very willing to meet special requests
for our groups. It is nice to see the same wonderful and familiar faces each time
we visit!!! No complaint justified for the great service, ambience and location!

Room Tip: The Suite is the absolut winner - more money, but well worth it!!! The ALBA ROSE (non-smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during Oktoberfest, along with friends. Our room (104) was clean and large enough for 3 people to share if they are family. We didn't use the extra bed. The bath looked recently renovated, and contained a tub with shower. Only downside to the room was road noise (1st floor), and the occasional late night revelry underneath our window. Our friends' room (502) was smaller, almost cramped, and had shower only. Ask if you have strong preferences for bath or shower. The daily breakfast contained the usual assortment of meats, cheeses, cereals, breads and marmalades, all very well presented. The staff were very helpful and even friendly if you took the time to chat with them. (Evening desk manager is American). This hotel is two blocks from Singlinger Tor Platz, a 10 minute walk to Marienplatz, and a 20 minute walk to Oktoberfest. Trolley and u-Bahn stations are minutes away. Overall, a very good choice for a small hotel in the center of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper levels if you are concerned about road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

A nice hotell with nice staff. Can recomend this hotel, but the air quality in the rooms are poor.
Went here during Octoberfest, and had a great time. Cause of the bad air quality we had to have the window open, and it was a bit noisy (room 302).
The suite is excellent and renovated, that room can be recomended!

Room Tip: The suite! 707!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivertsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our visit to Bavaria for the Christmas Markets. I love a hotel that has modern comforts with old world charm. The doors still take real keys, and you leave the key at the front desk on your way out for the day. Everyone knows your name and is happy to see you come back. The breakfast is better than your typical fare. Each day there was new variety of cold cuts, fruits, various breads and salads - always plenty to choose from. They do have a very small parking garage - if you are driving to Munich, reserve a space ahead of time. However, with a major transit hub (U-Bahns 1,2,3,6 & 7 plus Trams 16, 17, 18, & 27) just steps away you really don't need a car during your visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bythebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Typical European hotel room. Clean room with furniture fitting tightly. Hotel is in a good location for walking into center of Munich. Since we were driving I checked the hotel's website about parking accommodations. Website stated parking is available in their courtyard or underground garage. When we arrived we were told we had to park a few blocks away in the parking garage which cost 18€/day. An added expense of 36€ we weren't planning on spending. Plus no credit cards were accepted upon exiting the garage. Also didn't like be charged for wifi.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#276 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Am Sendlinger Tor
Am Sendlinger Tor
#351 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asam Stadthotel
Asam Stadthotel
#229 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
#354 of 383 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centro Hotel Mondial
Centro Hotel Mondial
#250 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#47 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanthushotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanthushotel

Property: Acanthushotel
Address: An der Hauptfeuerwache 14, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acanthushotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HRS, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Acanthushotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanthushotel Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing