We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Adria Munchen
Ranked #127 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, great stay”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We were very happy with Hotel Adria. The room was clean and the furnishings modern and nice, the staff was very friendly and the location was great. It is in a very cute area that is a little more residential but has several good cafes and restaurants within short walking distance. It is also very close to the English Garden and the walk to the main center of Munich was easy. It is also close to the U so it was convenient for traveling longer distances (like the airport) as well.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kelso418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    129
    58
    16
    6
See reviews for
75
77
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We are really pleased with our stay at this hotel. For a price that is cheaper than most in the city center, you'll get a clean room with plenty of space, located within walking distance to the city's major attractions. We drove into the city and luckily found parking on the street right outside the hotel entrance.

The hotel elevators are completely bizarre - they can only fit one person with luggage, and only stop halfway between the floors. So if you're on the second floor you should just skip the hassle and walk up the stairs.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but as other posters say, there are several high quality and cheap cafes nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivebnevrywhereman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The room temperature was hard to get right considering there was no air conditioning. Typical European breakfast - EXPENSIVE! Go around the corner for a coffee and pastry for a 1/3 of the price. Staff was okay. Night time staff gave bad directions to recommended bar/restaurant. Otherwise, clean and safe.

Room Tip: Go around the corner for a coffee and pastry for a 1/3 of the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swlilsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I have come here during a fair so price obviously ridiculous but that would have been the case for most hotels.

The location is good in the Lehel part of Munich, one of the most desirable residential locations not too far from the city centre itself.

The hotel overall is very old looking and has not been refurbished for a while which can be judged by the stains in the carpet all over.

Room access is via a lift but not step free.

The room itself was not being cleaned properly. This was also true for the bathroom (actually one toilet and one separate bathroom, both of which were small).

What made me really angry was the calculative mentality of the hotel. Everything costs extra starting with breakfast or wifi. But the fact that I was charged two euros for a one-time use razor blade was ridiculous.

My credit card was charged at arrival "because I was there for the first time" which is also unusual.

Overall not friendly, not clean and not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Evans1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederweert, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The guy from reception is very funny and amazing to inform you everything about the city. Rooms are clean, I didn't like the bed, but after Oktoberfest you don't mind. Location is very good to go to downtown by foot or take the metro nearby in Lehel.

Room Tip: Room 210 is the opposite hall and you have a "nice view" of the rest of hotel.. :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russa0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haymarket, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The room was booked from the US and unless you read every part of the website you would not know that you have to request non-smoking rooms as they do not provide them by default. Also, none of the rooms have air conditioning and this is also not listed anywhere on the website. If you want to cool off your room from the 85 F temperature, you have to open the window at night and you get to enjoy the sound of cars constantly going by. When I asked the front desk to move to another room due to the smell of cigarettes, they said they had none available and when I asked to move to another hotel, they said they would charge 90% for all nights booked, even though they make no mention of NO A/C - at $239/night, that is a complete and utter rip off. I would not stay here or recommend you have your dog sleep here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdriaMuenchen, Manager at Hotel Adria Munchen, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear madam or sir,
we are sorry that you didn´t feel well in our hotel.
Our main targets are customer care and guest service.
You can also see the feedback of other customers about our hotel regarding service on tripadvisor.
We are located in the old town of munich, which is actually a really quiet area.
Regarding your complain about the missing A/C we want to explain, that we do have vans in every room, we also give you another van for your room on request.
Unfortuately we do not have any influence about the noise from the street, but as mentioned, the hotel is not located on a main street, even if we are close to the city center.
You have signed a contract for your stay. The cancellation policies are part of this contract, so you accepted the information of the cancellation details with your booking. If the hotel is fully booked because of a fair or event in munich, we are sometimes not able to move you right now, but always on the following morning.
Because we don´t know the date of your stay in our hotel, we can not get further on this situation right know, but would appreciate if you would give us a second chance to convince you of our service.
With kind regards

S.Mollerus
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My family of four stayed at the Hotel Adria in mid-July. The hotel was easy to get to from the airport using public transportation. We liked the quiet residential neighborhood that the hotel is located in. We also enjoyed watching the adorable schoolchildren walking and riding their bikes to school in the morning. We had a quad room on the top floor. It was quite warm during our stay, so the room was very hot and there is not AC. We did have a fan, and we were able to have the windows open all night. The neighborhood was very quiet at night. The room itself was clean and well equipped. It was not huge, but adequate for a family of 4. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, as there are several more reasonably priced options nearby. The location was great for access to Marienplatz and the English Garden -- all within walking distance. Only down side was the less than enthusiastic front desk staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
#66 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Leaf Parkhotel im Lehel
0.1 mi away
domus Hotel
domus Hotel
#248 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera
Hotel Opera
#129 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#104 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adria Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adria Munchen

Property: Hotel Adria Munchen
Address: Liebigstr. 8a | Lehel - Old Town Munich, 80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Munich
#84 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Adria Munchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"There is no better pleasure than to surprise a person in giving him more than expected!" (Charles Baudelaire) Welcome to the Hotel ADRIA München. Three star superior Hotel ADRIA München in Munich - a peaceful accommodation next to the English Garden in central Munich! Our hotel is located in a quiet residential street, close to the English Garden with its gorgeous beer gardens. Mediterranean atmosphere awaits you at the three star superior Hotel ADRIA München. The rooms are equipped with the latest communication technologies such as wireless LAN internet connection, direct-dial telephone, LCD satellite TV and free Sky channels (sports and movie channels) for our hotel guests. Munich - Bavarian metropolis or Italy's northernmost city? Whatever you expect or plan when visiting Munich - the Hotel ADRIA München in Munich is the ideal starting point for all your activities. The Isar river is only a few steps away. Cultural sights such as the Munich State Opera, the residence or the Haus der Kunst (the house of art) can easily be reached from the hotel within a few minutes. The Odeonsplatz, the Hofgarten, the pedestrian area and the Theatiner street can be conveniently reached on foot. Hotspots such as the discotheque P1, the Eisbach surfers, the Maximilian street, as well as many restaurants and bars are in the direct neighbourhood. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Hotel ADRIA München - your special 3 star superior hotel in Munich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Adria Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing