We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good Munich base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Ranked #95 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Although this is primarily a gay hotel, there seemed to be a good number of straight couples, there with us, who were in no way discommoded or made to feel unwelcome. This is a comfortable and now updated hotel, very centrally placed and on a quiet street. Most if not all rooms have been recently and tastefully modernised to give every comfort, although some might find the decor a bit spartan. There are rooms of varying sizes and prices, and those on the front overlooking the street seemed to be as quiet as those in the back. The breakfast in the restaurant is very good, and there is free wi-fi, which may be a bit troublesome from time to time, and seems to require regular re-signing in, which is somewhat irritating. There is a bike hire place just round the corner.
The restaurant serves lunch and dinner and seems very popular. But since no-one is in Munich for its food (I hope!), I will omit any comment on the fare.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Usually stay in 4-5star hotels but in the last few years the overwhelming percentage of middle eatern guest with their many unruly and unchecked childern was a turn off to go there.
Hotel Deutsche Eiche is really the best choice for a excellent quiet hotel stay in Munich in good location, modern nice and quiet rooms. Will only go there in future and have a pleasant and good value stay in Munich.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Beautiful modern hotel in a classic building. Room was really amazing. Loved the bathroom and lighting effects. Great area of town. Close to transit. Men's bathhouse was clean and exciting restaurant has great food. Breakfast was tasty and service was great

Room Tip: Hotel has an elevator. East to get to all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I first stayed there as a young man back in 1976,it was more like a hostel back then since then it
has been renovated and is more expensive. They include a small buffet breakfast and they have a good dining room featuring Bavarian and international cuisine.it is also a gay owned hotel although it has a mixed clentele mostly Europeans.It is located in downtown Munich not very far from the famous V. market and the City Hall Very close to a tram line.

Room Tip: Single rooms can be a bit small but double room are more comfortable Rooms should be booked up to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We booked a double room on recommendation of friends. We found a modern hotel in a fantastic location within walking distance to all key attractions, spotless rooms with all amenities including complimentary mini bar, friendly staff all wearing vibrant pink polo shirts and a good restaurant both for breakfast or dinner, or simple people watching beer. Champagne on panoramic roof top a must. Recommend turkey cutlet in the restaurant. Sauna is huge and very clean but was quiet mid week. Cannot fault.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank CBRTOWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Deutsche Eiche was a great surprise to us as we had never been to Munich before and wanted something with great value. All our expectations were met and some exceeded. Interestingly this hotel is connected to a bath house which makes it highly suspect by Canadian standards. That said it had no negative impact on the hotel in any way and is run totally separately. The staff is always present and requested items are supplied almost immediately. The bed was excellent as was the bathroom which included both a shower and tub. The hotel is within walking distance of almost the entire city centre and there is plenty to do in Munich. The best recommendation I can give is that if and when I return to Munich I would gladly select the Deutsche Eiche again!

Room Tip: Don't worry about the room or floor. They are all of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyCanadian144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had the suite and it was very stylish and had a cosy, quiet balcony and good bed. There is a free minibar (2 beer, 2 water, 2 Red Bull and 2 CocaCola every day) and a kitchen sink, but not much more. OK WiFi. Good breakfast. Centrally located. Friendly reception.

It is a hotel/restaurant/sauna primarily for gay men, but everybody are welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norwaycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 389 in Munich
986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 389 in Munich
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#87 of 389 in Munich
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#133 of 389 in Munich
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsche Eiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Address: Reichenbachstr. 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#61 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £112 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deutsche Eiche 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Deutsche Eiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsche Eiche Hotel
Deutsche Eiche Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing