We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal, central, warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Ranked #92 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ideal, central, warm”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Centrally and well located for both the gay area and city centre the hotel justly deserves praise. The room though not overly large - and it was a 'comfort' was good, but not outstanding, the slippiest mattress ever. The first two nights there was a persistent smell of frying food and sometime noise from the kitchen, maybe a faulty ventilation shaft nearby? Bathroom small but designer and vey adequate, good shower. Minibar with water and beer gratis, a nice touch. Rudely awoken the first morning by clattering workmen outside. Food in the restaurant is standard, and ginormous amounts. Breakfasts ok, but hardly inspiring, tired ends of bread and unenthusiastic staff, but at least they smiled! Reception staff great and helpful. The sauna, that is for you to explore yourselves.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Culmalzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    129
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
108
67
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place is exceptional! The location was perfect for our long weekend of Christmas market shopping, as the markets were a very short walk from the hotel. The room was comparable to what one would get in the U.S. It was also clean, quiet and automatic blinds made it dark- ideal for a good nights sleep.

It must also be noted that included in our room fee was breakfast (breads, juices, fruit, coffee, eggs, bacon, etc), wifi and complimentary use of the in-room refrigerator (water, soda and beer).

Our last evening we were a bit tired and wanting a light and healthy meal. The hotel's restaurant turned out to be the ideal place for this. Service and food were exceptional in a very busy place. You know it must be good when much of the cliental are locals!

We had arrived early and we departed late. Neither of these were a problem, as the hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating despite their being sold out.

This hotel seems to cater more toward couples and individual travel. It is a gay hotel that welcomes everyone. The entrance is a bit 'plain', but it is the details in all that was already mentioned that makes this worthy of a 4-1/2 star rating.

Room Tip: All I know is room 16 was great! It was away from the street and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingClogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My bf and I were looking for a place like this and our expectations were pleasantly exceeded.
After visiting all around we enjoyed some hot moments in the men's sauna and the great food of the restaurant. The place is well located near historical places and public transportation steps away nin a nice and friendly area. The staff is nice and, they can speack Italian and some other European languages so fluently. We loved that place and we look forward to come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyexei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Boutique hotel in a nice and quiet downtown neighborhood, a few steps from Viktualienmarkt. Lots of small restaurants and wine bars in walking distance; also Banks, drug store, supermarket and gift shops. Rooms are functional and beautifully designed, with warm hardwood floors and an illuminated glass sink. Hotel can be reached easily with public transport from the airport: S-Bahn to Ostbahnhof, then bus 62 to Gaertnerplatz. The in-house restaurant is good, reservation recommended on weekends.

Room Tip: Rooms to the backyard are very quiet, but the street in front is not very busy or noisy either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

my boyfreind and i stay in this hotel for 8 nights! and we love it all!
best location, big and clean sauna, very good restaurant wich open untill late at night!
and the most important thing: the staff in the hotel and restaurand are so so nice and kind and will to help all the time with a smile, especially: roger! walter! and sebastian!
thank you very much for a excellent vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dovale k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Absolutely marvelous, great bathroom comfy bed and near everything. Stayed here for our twentyeth anniversary. Within walking distance of vittlesmarket and Marion platz. Public transportation steps away. Great restaurant serves complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tonyr957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights during the Oktoberfest & it was nice to see a hotel that still offered a good rate where all the other hotels charged ridiculous overpriced rates. The hotel is in a great area of various restaurants, cafés & bars. It is easy to get to from the main central train station. A short tram ride which stops almost outside the hotel. From the airport the train station is no more than a 5 minute walk. The rooms were huge for European standards. Mine came with an extremely comfortable queen size bed plus a couch & desk. They also had a complimentary mini bar with beers & non alcoholic drinks included in the room rate. The bathroom was quite large with a great shower. It is decorated in a modern style & been done well. Breakfast was included as well with the usual German continental style of cereal! breads, cold meats & fruit. Perfect for me. The main shopping & tourist area of Marienplatz was only a 5 minute walk as well. It is a gay owned hotel but there were many straight couples staying when I was there & it is very accomodating for both gay & straight cliental. The rooms were very quiet as well. I never heard a thing the entire time I was there from anyone else. The staff were all very helpful & polite. Nothing was to much trouble. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Munich.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bj105094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 383 in Munich
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#111 of 383 in Munich
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#71 of 383 in Munich
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsche Eiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Property: Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Address: Reichenbachstr. 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#61 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deutsche Eiche 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Deutsche Eiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsche Eiche Hotel
Deutsche Eiche Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing