We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Ranked #89 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for seven days in December, considering it caters for gay men with the on site Men's Sauna it was very welcoming to us lesbians once they warmed to us..as they were a little cool at first.
Accommodation was very clean and comfortable and the room was also very warm throughout the day which was pleasant as temperatures often dropped to zero or below. We had a room at the front of the building which was a little noisy, so if you like a peaceful nights sleep keep that in mind when booking.
Food in the restaurant was superb and it was always busy. The breakfast was a little hit&miss, some mornings we were offered a cooked breakfast other mornings not. Coffee came from a coffee machine rather then a fresh pot being brought to the table.
The reception desk always seemed to be empty with the staff hanging out in the back sauna area which meant waiting awhile before someone spotted you and came out.
Great views from the roof top terrace of the city and snow covered mountains. Short walk to Marianplatz and all the main attractions.
Over all a decent hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Deutsche Eiche
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Centrally and well located for both the gay area and city centre the hotel justly deserves praise. The room though not overly large - and it was a 'comfort' was good, but not outstanding, the slippiest mattress ever. The first two nights there was a persistent smell of frying food and sometime noise from the kitchen, maybe a faulty ventilation shaft nearby? Bathroom small but designer and vey adequate, good shower. Minibar with water and beer gratis, a nice touch. Rudely awoken the first morning by clattering workmen outside. Food in the restaurant is standard, and ginormous amounts. Breakfasts ok, but hardly inspiring, tired ends of bread and unenthusiastic staff, but at least they smiled! Reception staff great and helpful. The sauna, that is for you to explore yourselves.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Culmalzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place is exceptional! The location was perfect for our long weekend of Christmas market shopping, as the markets were a very short walk from the hotel. The room was comparable to what one would get in the U.S. It was also clean, quiet and automatic blinds made it dark- ideal for a good nights sleep.

It must also be noted that included in our room fee was breakfast (breads, juices, fruit, coffee, eggs, bacon, etc), wifi and complimentary use of the in-room refrigerator (water, soda and beer).

Our last evening we were a bit tired and wanting a light and healthy meal. The hotel's restaurant turned out to be the ideal place for this. Service and food were exceptional in a very busy place. You know it must be good when much of the cliental are locals!

We had arrived early and we departed late. Neither of these were a problem, as the hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating despite their being sold out.

This hotel seems to cater more toward couples and individual travel. It is a gay hotel that welcomes everyone. The entrance is a bit 'plain', but it is the details in all that was already mentioned that makes this worthy of a 4-1/2 star rating.

Room Tip: All I know is room 16 was great! It was away from the street and very quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingClogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My bf and I were looking for a place like this and our expectations were pleasantly exceeded.
After visiting all around we enjoyed some hot moments in the men's sauna and the great food of the restaurant. The place is well located near historical places and public transportation steps away nin a nice and friendly area. The staff is nice and, they can speack Italian and some other European languages so fluently. We loved that place and we look forward to come back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyexei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Boutique hotel in a nice and quiet downtown neighborhood, a few steps from Viktualienmarkt. Lots of small restaurants and wine bars in walking distance; also Banks, drug store, supermarket and gift shops. Rooms are functional and beautifully designed, with warm hardwood floors and an illuminated glass sink. Hotel can be reached easily with public transport from the airport: S-Bahn to Ostbahnhof, then bus 62 to Gaertnerplatz. The in-house restaurant is good, reservation recommended on weekends.

Room Tip: Rooms to the backyard are very quiet, but the street in front is not very busy or noisy either.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

my boyfreind and i stay in this hotel for 8 nights! and we love it all!
best location, big and clean sauna, very good restaurant wich open untill late at night!
and the most important thing: the staff in the hotel and restaurand are so so nice and kind and will to help all the time with a smile, especially: roger! walter! and sebastian!
thank you very much for a excellent vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dovale k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Absolutely marvelous, great bathroom comfy bed and near everything. Stayed here for our twentyeth anniversary. Within walking distance of vittlesmarket and Marion platz. Public transportation steps away. Great restaurant serves complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tonyr957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 385 in Munich
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#86 of 385 in Munich
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#104 of 385 in Munich
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsche Eiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Address: Reichenbachstr. 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#61 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £117 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deutsche Eiche 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Deutsche Eiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsche Eiche Hotel
Deutsche Eiche Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing