We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very central, clean, friendly, but...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotelisssimo Haberstock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Ranked #152 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“very central, clean, friendly, but...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

... you have to not mind the surrounding street. The street seems a bit dodgy with the typical cheap train station bars and sex shops - but don't worry, this is Munich and it's not more dangerous I would say than the Kurfuerstendamm in Berlin.
Don't expect a shiny top-modern hotel, but it is very clean, comfortable (the double bed was HUGE), very friendly, and the breakfast had a good variety of bread, yoghurt, cheese etc.
Wifi worked well everywhere.
Public transport access is about 20m from the door (access to underground) with shops open from early to late.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windrose_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    138
    74
    23
    8
See reviews for
39
88
72
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here in Munich for two nights.
Oh boy, parking is off premises at an underground garage for 25 Euro a night which they get discounted to 12 euro. It is a tiny little garage and an adventure to exit from and I have concerns about getting back to the place and working the above ground payment machine. I am happy to report that we succeded in retrieving our car and were able to get to the airport in time. It is over a block from the Hotel. No valet parking was offered.
This is the Standard really small European hotel room although this at least has a plastic curtain in the shower that is more forgiving that the hard door models. The bathroom comes with only a hair dryer and a squeeze soap thing in the shower and by the sink. Nothing to apply the soap with. No small clothes for washing your face and body and no bar soap for those that aren't a fan of the liquid soap. There was no shelf in the shower to put your "product" .... razor, shampoo, conditioner, bar of soap. Heck, you should know that there is no "product" provided in the room. I finally was successful in obtaining bar soap from the frout desk but the concept of small washing clothes appears to have been unknown to them.
The room came with twin beds ... we pushed them together. That means a blanket apiece and no sleeping together. Sheets were the best yet for this trip but mine came untucked in the middle of the night. A very small and very skinny pillow that we didn't care for.
Great location. Oh my, the amazing amounts of people in the streets. Very close to their major pedestrian shopping street in the area of City Hall.
The room comes with breakfast, The Wifi was free although a bit spotty and slow and we experienced at least one outage during our two days. No coffee in the rooms (or tea) and none in the lobby or available anytime other than when they are serving breakfast. Frankly, part of my life style is to enjoy a cup of coffee in my room while I catch up on the news and my wife is getting ready. That can't happen here.
One bright thing was the Lady that worked the front desk ( Dorothy, I believe) was amazing, exceptional and I don't every recall seeing a better hotel representative than her. I hope that you can experience her competence.
Neighborhood is a bit dirty, and seedy. We left at 5 a.m. and the streets were full of people from the bars that were just closing ... we were driving and it was a challenge to avoid the drunk hitch hikers in the streets.
All in all ..... this doesn't come close to what this American expects from a Hotel. Delta Vacations suggested this place and I am not particularly happy about that.

Room Tip: You might just try another Hotel .... I am pretty sure you can find a better one. I don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel was a disappointment.
pros:
+ Location near main railway station. Stairs down to u-bahn and trains were just in front of a hotel door.
+ Pretty good breakfast
+ Friendly staff (most of them)
cons:
- There were a lot of strange people on the street. Most of them immigrants. They hung out on the street all days. Street was very noisy too at night, it was difficult to sleep.
- Lobby was very unattractive. It was smaller than my own living room at home.
- The whole building had seen better days.
- Room was cold and unfunctional. It was dark, not enough lamps. Radiator was not on. There were no room for your luggage.
- Bathroom was the worst. It looked quite new, but it was very unfunctional. There were no shelves at all. You had to keep your personal items on the floor. There were no hand shower at all. It was difficult to wash yourself.
- In the first evening I made a mess with chocolate on sheets. It looked nasty, but they never changed my sheets.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FannyA_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel has a great location just a hundred meters or so from the Munich main train station (Munich Hbf) which also means that it is very close to the city center and the Altstadt (Old Town). Mine was sort of a last minute booking and I got a really great price. I must admit that for the price I was paying, I was not expecting much.

I have to say that it was great value for money. When I'm not staying at a luxury hotel, the basic expectations I have are clean towels, clean linen and a clean shower. I was more happy with the general level of cleanliness. You also get a buffet breakfast with quite a reasonable spread and eggs made to order. Based on some of the earlier reviews I had requested to be given a room not facing the street and the hotel was kind enough to consider my request. I did not have any problems with noise in the room I used.

On the whole, you have to remember that this is a no frills hotel which provides the basic necessities that one would expect in such a hotel. I would definitely consider staying here if I were to visit Munich again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sboriah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Clean, quiet, close to the action. Friendly and helpful staff. This place was everything I didn't expect it to be and I was totally surprised at how good it was. The bathroom was huge. I would stay here again if I make it back to Munich.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Found this place on Expedia as a convenient place to stay near the train station on my last night in Europe. The rooms are about average of what you'd expect in Europe. I'd break it down this way...
Pros:
Very close to the Main Train Station
Close to many restaurants and bars
Friendly staff
Great breakfast included in the stay

Cons:
Schillerstrasse can be quite noisy - though my stay might have been an exception (night before Oktoberfest began)
Bed was a bit firm for my taste
Room is small and cramped by US standards, but I see this as a) the norm in Europe and b) what I needed and no more. A bed and a bathroom.

Tips:
If you're staying there, try to get a room at the back of the hotel. I read in other reviews that it can be better.
Head over to Sports Cafe Schiller - friendly service and friendly crowd.

Room Tip: Again, back of the hotel is rumored to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Btowntraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

ok, during Oktoberfest one might be willing to give hotels a break but not when cleanliness is concerned. So I will not complain about the bedroom facing the very noisy Schillerstrasse with the sports bar and Beate Uhse establishment right opposite. But, having stains on the bed linen is not acceptable. Another point to improve on is the shower facility that only allowed the water to drip out and took about 2 minutes to adjust from cold to warm. Breakfast was very good though and yes, of course it is conveniently located. Maybe I was just unlucky this time.

Room Tip: try to negotiate a back facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World_traveller_Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#64 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#229 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambiente Hotel
Ambiente Hotel
#174 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#98 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eder
Hotel Eder
#56 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#121 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelisssimo Haberstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelisssimo Haberstock

Property: Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Address: Schillerstr. 4 | Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotelisssimo Haberstock 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotelisssimo Haberstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelisssimo Haberstock Hotel Munich
Haberstock Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing