We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are much better places to stay in Munich” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Herzog Wilhelm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Herzog Wilhelm
Ranked #341 of 381 Hotels in Munich
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There are much better places to stay in Munich”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

So I read the poor reviews of Hotel Herzog Wilhelm-Tannenbaum and truly thought- how bad could it be? Well please do not make the same mistake we made and STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE! I have travelled all over the world and never met such rude staff. First they charged us twice for the room and when we informed them there was not even an apology and we were out of pocket for exchange rate and going into overdraft. Front of house ignored us for 10 minutes while talking to a friend before allowing us to check in and then when asking for advice literally threw a map at me. The location is great in terms of proximity to the town but HORRIBLE if you want to get any sleep. There is major construction works going on next door which begins at 6:30AM EVERY MORNING!! Munich is an amazing city- do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melbacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    98
    83
    47
    57
See reviews for
60
77
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed there recently with a friend, the single rooms were clean and ideal, breakfast was very good and included in the price.If you are on a touring/driving holiday this little hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valkyrie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laredo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Booked a double bed room for two nights in August 2011, had fax confirmation from hotel two months before getting there. Call the week before to confirm again and to let them know we would be in late from Italy. Train to Milan was late we missed our connection to Munich and had to leave on a later train. I called from Italy around 11:am to let them know we would be there around mid-night. Asked if that was ok, the lady said no problem. My wife and two sons 13 and 12 years old show up just after mid-night exhausted. I show the manager my confirmation and tell her my name. (She is around 55 years old black hair). She yells at me and says "No Rooms you did not call No Rooms". She turns away and walks into a side office. I though she was joking, but she just sat there in that side office, I guess she expected me to walk off into the night. I said excuse me "I have a confirmation and I did call". Her next response was "You are a lair you did not call someone else is in the room". I was so angry but I kept my cool and I asked her to look at my cell phone and see that I had called and spoke to someone for 3 minutes. She called me a lair again and she wandered back and forth from her office to the front desk. At that time her replacement walk in and between me and the psycho manager was brought up to speed on the situation. He took the time to look at my cell and called the lady I spoke to earlier. During that time Psycho manager walked out into the night. Samson was a wonderful man, he offered us a place to sit and brought the kids something to drink. He help us get a room at a near by Hotel, obviously much more expensive that we had planned on, but I figured these things happen and we were on vacation, it get worse. Before leaving for the new hotel I told Samson I would be back tomorrow but would stay an extra day in Munchin could he get us the 2nd night of our reservation and an additional night. He said he would make sure the day manager knew and that it would be no problem, he apologized for the mix up and said he would see us tomorrow. The next day we checked out of our hotel and came back. As it turned out the day manager was the lady I spoke to from Italy, she started to explain that I should have authorized my credit card over the phone, but I did not want to get into it since what was done was done. I wanted to tell her that neither the confirmation nor did she mention my credit card authorization. I explain to her that wanted the room for two nights and gave her my credit card. I was paranoid, and felt alittle embarrasesd when I asked her twice if had the room for two night. "Yes it's O.K." . We had a great day in Munich and enjoyed a good night's sleep. The next day psycho manager was back but I was determined not to get ugly even though I was upset about being called a lair. I said "guten morgen" and handed her my key for the day, we had a day trip to Salzburg planned. "Checking out" she says. No I have the room for another night I explained. "No rooms". I nodded my head and said "unbelievable". So we went back to our room to pack and as I was checking out later Samson walked in. He too could only nod his head in disbelief. Two nights I said, "I know" he said. Not once did that black haired and I am sure black hearted psycho apoligize for anything that happened or for what she said.to me. Left that day for France and enjoyed the rest of my vacation.

David from Texas

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
bangalore
Level Contributor
180 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

had moved from a hotel near the munich railway station to this one on a friend's recommendation and while found this more roomy and better what was a let down was the breakfast which was pretty much the same for all three occasions I had it. also the service was not that great. internet access was ok but still expensive.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jxpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Small rooms & bathrooms are the main problem with this hotel.I was in a twin by myself luckily, as two people would struggle to to move around! Apart from that the breakfasts were good, friendly staff, all you need for a city break. Herzog-Wilhehm is ideally located for Marien Platz where all the lovely churches are plus good shops.
Time permitting a visit to Garmisch is recommended, my son & I took the train and the scenery was lovely.
If you need plenty space I wouldn't stay here but it's ok for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

This is a nice hotel in Munich quite well located, you can walk from there to the central station, (20 minutes). Rooms are a bit small, my friend and I wanted a double bed but they didn't have it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chager77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

I am travelling around Europe quite a lot and I am not used to complain about hotels I stayed. But this time I have to write something about it even if my company had to pay for it.
I am from a former socialist country in Central Europe so I am really not expecting big things and I have seen a lot of hotels in Europe. The most important for me is a clean room, friendly staff and a normal breakfast. This hotel has a three star classification so of course I was not looking for any luxury. But the room was unbelievable dirty and when I checked in and saw the room I really was shocked. The equipement in room is approximately 30 years old and the bathroom was just ugly. So I went back to check in counter and told them that they have to change the room. The young girls who was working there seemed not to be able to change my room. She just told be that she was not allowed to do this. Finally it was late evening and needed to have some sleep so I was just too tired to argue. The breakfast in the morning was worse than in a youth hostel in Soviet Union in the 70ies, the room and the service also.
Finally I had business meeting so I checked out. My secretary and me wrote about ten mails to this so-called hotel that I dont agree how I was treated there. But surprise, surprise-no answer yet- by the way I stayed in October 2010.
So I suggest to everybody, especially business travellers not the stay there to avoid a big deception.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IwanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Asam Stadthotel
Asam Stadthotel
#243 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#256 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acanthushotel
Acanthushotel
#238 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Am Sendlinger Tor
Am Sendlinger Tor
#349 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#52 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herzog Wilhelm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herzog Wilhelm

Property: Hotel Herzog Wilhelm
Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 23, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Herzog Wilhelm 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run hotel „Herzog Wilhelm" excels due to its unique location directly in Munich‘s historical city centre. All 40 comfortable guest rooms in style of a luxurious train cabins feature flatscreen TV’s, complimentay Wifi as well as high-end bathroom amenities. Start your day with a rich breakfast buffet in the hotel‘s own breakfast restaurant. Several attractions, such as the Marienplatz, the famous Frauenkirche or the historical National Theater are all located in close proximity to the hotel. Numerous restaurants, bars and shopping possibilities are also within walking distance. Thanks to the superb connection to the public transportation, the hotel can easily be reached within 60 minutes from Munich International Airport. Munich Central Station is also reachable within 15 minutes. The whole team of the Hotel Herzog Wilhelm look very forward to welcoming you to their hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Herzog Wilhelm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herzog Wilhelm Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing