We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply nice”
Review of Hotel Isartor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Isartor
Ranked #140 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply nice”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This hotel is simly nice, nothing fancy but everything you need is available.
Quality of the rooms, of food and most of all of service is more than OK for the price you pay.
It is situated on walking distance of the city center in a rather quiet area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    78
    51
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
47
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I booked a so called "comfort room" for one night.

The hotel is easily accessible from the airport and main station thru the S-Bahn (a 5 minutes walk from the station)

The room had obviously recently been refurbished and, along with a big flat-TV screen (with only german speaking channels unfortunately), there was everything to guarantee you a comfortable night.

Bathroom was shiny and clean, but provided only a shower.

Breakfast was good without being expcetional and the price was reasonable for a last-minute booking.

Big drawback however was the lack of AC and the noise from the many tramways starting early and running late made the sleep a bit more difficult to find if you kept the window open.

Overall still a good experience.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank frosty1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Another hotel selected from the net which met our criteria: reasonable rate; convenient location to return our rental car & access the myriad attractions of Munich on foot.

Provision out front to unload the car & check-in. Parking station next door. Very welcoming staff. Good size room & balcony. Included breakfast selection was good, but breakfast room was air-less & hot. Wi-Fi reception was very good.

Only down-side: we were there when the weather was warm to hot &, like so many Euro hotels, there's no air-conditioning, & if you leave the door & window open to get some air-flow, you won't get much sleep as the narrow street is VERY noisy.

Dear Isartor, a solution. Replace the centre ceiling light with a CEILING FAN with light. That way, at least guests could shut the window & door to cut down on most of the noise, but have air, even warmish air, circulating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntiquesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We found the hotel at the last minute and were delighted to be accommodated. The rooms are being upgraded and our room was very nice. The size was especially good for its central location in a European city. Breakfast was ample and included. There is 24 hour reception service. Wifi was included and parking reasonably priced. Our only complaint was that it was noisy, and without AC windows open, even noisier.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located very conveniently close to the S-Bahn station and an easy stroll from the Marienplatz, Deutsches Museum and other sites. The rooms are rather basic and Internet requires payment of 10 euro for 24 hours. The breakfast is simple but nice. The staff of the hotel are very friendly, which certainly makes the stay nicer.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Poemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Good location - close to the city center. When you stay here, you have a discount on parking in the neighbouring parking lot. Though not very nice service. The receptionists were looking down to us and chatting in German about us not in a very pleasant way behind our backs (we spoke English to them but understood German). They were trying to haggle over the internet fee and the whole accomodation price with us. The breakfast was all-right though we had to wait about 20 minutes to get a table due to a tiny dining room. Rooms were tidy and refurbished, quite comfy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Right on the s bahn. Short walk to the middle of it all. We got the from the tourist office. Very good value, great breakfast Not a lux hotel, but would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skier003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
H'Otello B'01
H'Otello B'01
#202 of 382 in Munich
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#77 of 382 in Munich
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#104 of 382 in Munich
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isartor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isartor

Property: Hotel Isartor
Address: Baaderstr. 2-4 | Innenstadt, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isartor 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Isartor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isartor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing