We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Ranked #61 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in February. The hotel is in a great location, right in the thick of it in Marienplatz and close to bars, cafe's and restaurants at your doorstep and good transport links (including) direct trains to the airport. The hotel is full of old world charm being around 400 years old. The reception staff were friendly and spoke good English. Our room was situated on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel. The room was quite small as you would expect for something as old as the Schlicker but was clean and comfortable. There was some street noise and this might be a problem if you are staying in summer and have the windows open at night (in which case I would recommend asking for a room at the back which is well off the street). We did have some issues with the wifi and was told by the front desk staff that they were aware of the problem and have been trying to resolve it. there was no problem with the wifi in reception / or in the breakfast room so if wifi is important to you I would ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor where wifi is more reliable. The real unexpected bonus of this hotel was the breakfast. There was a huge variety of meats, cheeses, fish, breads, pastries as well as the usual fruit, cereal, yoghurt etc. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Munich.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAD502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. We also improved our free WiFi and can offer a stable and fast internet in the complete building.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    186
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
69
141
38
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Schlicker when we visited the Christmas markets in 2013

PROS
- you cannot get a better location - literally 2 mins walk from Marienplatz Station, it's perfect for airport or city transfers and it's right behind the lovely Viktulienmarkt
- staff were excellent; spoke perfect English when I struggled to speak German and were extremely helpful - there was an issue with the plumbing when we were there which meant there was a strange smell in our bathroom. They couldn't move us (given it was a weekend near Xmas) so they knocked a chunk off our bill and kept running the taps in the next room for us to keep the smell at bay.
- beds were very comfy and the rooms were a nice size
- breakfast was nice - typical continental type breakfasts

CONS
The only con for us was the plumbing problem but that would have just been a one offhand as I mentioned above, the staff dealt with it brilliantly.
- We did find it a bit noisy on the first floor, which I think comes with the location, being on Marienplatz. Those church bells get you up every morning, and (what we think) are the maids drag heavy laundry bins up stairs. If someone is chatting in the corridor you can hear it in your room. It was fine for a few nights but perhaps not longer. .

Would highly recommend this hotel for a quick getaway to Munich! Comfy, unpretentious, reasonably priced and perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaraAnn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I was stationed in Bavaria in the early 1980's and enjoy showing my family places that have retained a by-gone Zeitgeist. Hotel Schlicker accomplishes this while providing a few modern amenities- shower, toilet & TV. Our rooms were clean, fresh & quite cozy. We found the street sounds at night entertaining, but some may want to request a courtyard room. Travel_Pro55 really provides an excellent description of just about every aspect of staying at Hotel Schlicker, with one exception. For those that truly relish an outstanding Bavarian wheat beer- Schneider Weisse is just across the street. My mecca!

Room Tip: More adventurous travelers may enjoy listening to Munich's night sounds. Those requiring a bit m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a quaint little hotel that is in the city center. I came for the Christmas markets and Hotel Schlicker could not be more convenient. I had a single room which is perfect for 1 person. The room was small as expected and very clean. The building is older but I think that adds to the charm. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning and thought the selection of items was very good. So in short: excellent location, small but clean rooms, helpful staff and good breakfast. Would recommend to others and would stay there again! (And Munich Christmas markets are full of fun, food and shopping.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrsmrtnsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here for the Christmas markets. Can't recommend it enough. Perfect location 2 min walk from Marienplatz (if you get S bahn from airport take exit labelled Tal from station then walk straight ahead to hotel on right)

Room was spotless, beds comfy, bathroom looked new. We had a room overlooking the Main Street but noise wasn't an issue, even at the weekend. Staff were friendly and loads of choice for breakfast.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
275 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

If you’re seeking genuine Bavarian accommodations when visiting München (Munich), you need look no farther than the Hotel Schlicker.

I booked a night at the Hotel Schlicker zum Goldenen Löwen near the city’s Marienplaz area on the recommendation of a neighbor who once called München (Munich) home, visits often, and tells me she stays at the Hotel Schlicker “every time I visit.” What I found was a hotel that may be humble by 21st century standards, but is definitely authentic.

Located just east of the St. Peter Kirche (church), a few hundred meters south of the Marienplaz train and U-Bahn station, the Schlicher is a family-run, three-star establishment that is working to keep the old traditions alive. The property has been around since 1544, the materials say, so it’s no surprise that the rooms are smaller than more modern hotels. Mine (Room 320) was decorated in a more traditional, fussy sort of motif.

The facilities are well maintained but differ from the larger hotels in many other ways, some of which you may consider important, and some of which you may not.

For example, guests at the Schlicker are still given an actual key to their rooms instead of a key card, and must physically lock the door behind them when they leave; unlike many hotels, the doors to the guest rooms do not lock automatically. In addition, guests may get off the lift (elevator) to find the hallways dark. That’s an energy-saving measure in Germany, but there are numerous switches on the walls. At the Schlicker, guests need simply hit one and the lights will come on. Other hotels have replaced the switches with motion sensors.

Guest rooms have older tube-based televisions instead of flat-screen TVs, and the radios are basic AM/FM affairs, not Bose acoustic wave players with CD, MP3 and iPod capabilities. All-purpose hair and body shampoo is provided in the baths instead of panoply of specialized toiletries, and there is neither iron and ironing board, in-room safe, nor in-room coffee maker. Being an older hotel, signs cautioning to “Watch your step” and similar are not apparent, so one needs to be careful when walking about.

Though small with a living area of approximately 8 by 15 feet with the twin bed tucked into an alcove off to the side, my “large single room” (€136 per night during Christkindlmarkt) was comfortable, with a small desk for working, an easy chair for sitting and watching TV (which offered programming in multiple languages including BBC World and CNN, and a very cozy duvet and cover when it came time to hit the sack.

One drawback became obvious when I was showering. The bathtub and shower are not set up for the way we Americans shower, which is to say standing up under the showerhead. The shower wand was hung at the end of the tub by the faucet and drain, but there was only a narrow glass panel to keep the water from spraying out into the bathroom. It didn’t work.
Despite my best efforts, copious amounts of water found their way onto the bathroom floor, which wouldn’t have happened had I sat in the tub and used the shower wand in that position. But as I said, that’s not how we Americans shower. Bottom line: after drying off, I used every towel to dry the floor carefully before using the hairdryer. At 220 volts, certainly didn’t want to be standing in water!

The hotel offers complimentary WiFi access, inexpensive phone calls in the event that your U.S.-based telephone does not function in Europe, and in-room mini-bars with prices that are quite reasonable compared to other hotel: €2 for bottled water, €5 for spirits, for example. There is also a grocery store almost directly across Tal, the street on which the Schlicker is located where beer, wine, bottled water and other items can be obtained. Opening hours, however, are more limited than grocery stores in the states.

The Schlicker is in the heart of the area’s Altstadt (Old Town), and only about two blocks from the famous Hofbräuhaus. That establishment is noteworthy for its one-liter steins of beer, copious amounts of sausage, oompa music, waiters in Lederhosen and waitresses in wench outfits, often showing more than a little cleavage.

By way of convenience, the Hotel Schlicker offers a buffet breakfast, including traditional European breakfast items of cold cuts, cheese, and muesli, as well as items more suited to Western tastes, including scrambled eggs and sausage. OK, German Weisswürst, which is delicious. If you’re hungry for more stereotypically American fare, the Schlicker is sandwiched between a McDonald’s and a Burger King. And of course, coffee shops including Starbucks are ubiquitous.

While I am personally willing to pay for more luxurious surroundings when I travel, particularly overseas, if you’re seeking an authentic, Old World experience for your visit to Munich, I’d suggest looking into the Hotel Schlicker. While you’ll be giving up some, but by no means all, of the things we have come to expect when we’re traveling, you’ll also be having a much more authentically Bavarian experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building. It is a bit farther away from the noise on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTravelPro_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here December 2013 for the Christmas markets. Situation perfect for all markets and Munich sites of interest. Hotel is being renovated but even the "tired" bits are OK. Can't speak too highly of the staff, especially those on the Reception desk who were really helpful finding a restaurant for us when our own enquiries drew a blank. Breakfasts were terrific really set you up for the day.
tony d

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quietist, if you want a double try for the large doubles, and ask for tea/coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"

Property: Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Address: Tal 8 | Historic Centre, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen" 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlicker Hotel Munich
Hotel Schlicker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing