We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Ranked #61 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here 3 nights with friends - two of us arrived early in the morning from the overnight train from Amsterdam and the manager couldn't have been more helpful. He explained our rooms weren't ready - which we fully expected - but said that if we gave our cellphone number he would ring and advise as soon as one was available - this happened promptly at 9.00am and they were both ready which was a bonus. Very thoughful.

The room itself was small but we didn't have much luggage so not a problem. The mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities were handy and the beds comfortable. There was a lot of noise from revellers which was surorizing given that the front windows are double glazed and should we stay again, I would definitely request a quiet room out the back. Didn't think of it at the time of booking.
No safe in the room which would have been handy and the wifi, as previously mentioned, was hopeless unless you came downstairs.

The bathroom was compact, clean with a wonderful shower. Like a lot of European hotels the soap is in a container attached to the wall -

The breakfast was typically European with a selection of cereals, breads, soft boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and sausages as well as cold meats, cheeses, some fish, fresh fruit and pastries.

Location perfect - the food market was behind the hotels, famous beer halls surrounding it as well as plenty of retail. Metro nearby as well.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper request a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We want to apologize for the internet problems and the noise. Meanwhile we improved our WiFi with a new setup and new hardware. Now it is running without problems and high speed. Because of our location direct at a main street, the rooms facing to the front can cause problems to guests who are sensible to noise. In this case we recommend to book a room to the back, with courtyard view- this are quieter.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    186
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
69
141
38
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at Hotel Schlicker 16th - 19th April and was impressed by the fantastic location and the friendliness and professionalism of its staff. The building reminded me of my time in old Army barrack blocks in Germany in the 70s, we were on the 5th floor (502) at the front of the building and had no issues with noise at all. The room was perfectly adequate, with tea & coffee supplied and which was generously replenished when asked for. I would say that the decoration in the room was a little tired and is in need of redoing. Had no problems with the wifi at all and found it very useful. There was a very nice breakfast room downstairs and we both thought that the breakfast was very good, having a good variety. All in all a very enjoyable few days in Munich.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
562 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Had rooms on 2nd floor on street side - unfortunately we did find it noisey at night from the late night revellers from the bars below

Clean and comfortable - small room - but ok for our 3 night stay - no issues with the bathroom

Location was great for the old town - easy to walk everywhere from the hotel and their website has a good set of instructions as to how to get to them from the airport

Breakfast was ok - typical northern european

Staff/service was great - friendly and helpfull

Only negative was the wifi - poor strength and only one device in a room could be connected at the same time - connection dropped out from time to tine

Helpful?
2 Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christine-Stoehr, Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are happe that you enjoyed your time with us. We want to apologize for the poor WiFi. We really had some problems with it in 2014. Meanwhile we made a complete new setup, now we have a stable, easy and fast system working in the whole building without problems since end of 2014. Pardon for the late answer of your rating.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I live in a different part of Germany and have friends in Austria. We meet in Munich because it is about halfway. This was my first stay there, and I was very impressed.

Positives: The location. Right near all of the historic buildings and near all the famous beer halls. Not far behind is parking, which was only 15€ per day, and a special spot for motorcycles (my usual mode of travel, and they might be cheaper- 15€ was for my SUV. Wonderful multilingual staff (I heard Greek, Polish, French, English and German spoken), a first rate breakfast included in the price and although there was a lot of street noise, the closed windows blocked 90% of it (although I might suggest asking for a room in the back).

I get a discount with some major hotels, but this place was better than my discounted rate at some four star places.

I will definitely be back there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluglotse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel! Im also a motocyclist - next time when you come with yur bike you can park for free ;-)-

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nivelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is pricey, but for Munich tourism the location is worth it. The room and bathroom are average size for Europe, but comfortable. The breakfast hours go quite late and the selection and quality of items are very impressive and delicious. The minibar prices are extremely fair. The bathroom is modern with a good showerhead. We stayed on the courtyard side and had no problems with noise other than the Sunday church bells, but that's what you get in such a central location. Also, all the staff were friendly and helpful. On the negative side, the room desperately needs repainting, there was no safe, and we never could get the wifi to work (though the staff allowed us to use their computer to check in for our flights and print boarding passes, which is all we really care about on vacation anyway). Be sure to bring your own toiletries. Oddly, they provide shower caps and sewing kits, but no lotion, bar soap or shampoo, just the liquid combo that I don't think any woman actually ever uses. Our only significant complaint was the ridiculous bathroom door. It is only a sheet of clear glass that is partially frosted. You have zero privacy! We've been married twenty years and found it 100% unacceptable, so I would definitely not recommend it to someone staying with friends or family. We hung the bed linen over it for privacy and to block out the morning light coming through the window, which worked fine, but we shouldn't have had to do this in the first place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!

We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and our friendly staff. We had some issues with the free WiFI - meanwhile we changed the system. Now it is running fast and stable without problems. We want to apologize for the bathroom door and the selection of toiletries.

We are glad that you enjoyed anyway your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Booked this hotel whilst attending an exhibition at the Munich Messe.

Location is excellent - right in the middle of all that Munich has to offer

Rooms are a bit basic but very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was modern with a good shower

The inclusive breakfast was fresh and varied with good service - what more do you want!

Would stay here again if I visit Munich if I visit in the future

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as road noise may be an issue at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leejinxukukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I wanted to have room near Marienplatz and Schlicker offered good prices for my two stays. The location is excellent as it is couple of hundred meters from Marienplatz S-Bahn station. Hotel itself is old and rooms very simple and small but if you are just looking place to sleep, then they are more than enough. Breakfest is good and service works.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Unfortunately we can't see in what point we disappointed you, why you rated us badly. If you have time please just let us know so we can improve our service.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"

Property: Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Address: Tal 8 | Historic Centre, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen" 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlicker Hotel Munich
Hotel Schlicker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing