We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb Hotel with Fabulous Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Ranked #89 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Live Oak, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb Hotel with Fabulous Customer Service!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is the perfect hotel for anyone visiting Munich. It is located only a block from the entrance gate to Marienplatz and the famed Glockenspiel. Also it is near multiple restaurants, the Hofbrauhause, and the Residenz. The staff is professional and knowledgeable. The rooms are immaculately clean and well furnished. The breakfast is extensive, and the service personnel in the dining area are eager to please, making sure you always have just what you want for breakfast. They even offer capucchino if you request it. A great way to start a touring day. Munich is a wonderful central location for travel in Bavaria by train. I wholeheartedly recomment this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the front of the hotel, right on a busy evening street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    190
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
70
143
40
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, United States
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My first stay in Munich after so many trips to the region. I found a great price in the Hotel Schlicker right in the heart of Munich Altstaadt. The staff were friendly, a nice, festive dining and gathering area in the back of the hotel - and right out front was the main street in old Munich, Tal Strasse, leading to so many wonderful locations. The room was "classic" German hotel - meaning basic, small, and functional. One could call it "quaint" and given the price I paid on a holiday (May day) - reasonable for what I needed. Wireless internet was functional as I needed to get some work done as well. And the breakfast the next morning was a real bargain! I definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A centuries old hotel in the best possible location. There isn't much that it is not near, for whatever , there is only a short walk away the S Bahn (metro - subway) station. PLUS they have parking on site, which is amazing so close to Marienplatz. The breakfast is extraordinary in addition to the standard fare, with numerous small items, hand rolled and prepared, like no other I have had in or elsewhere. Others have complained about the noise of the partiers outside, but we found that the moment we closed the thick windows, there was near absolute silence. The public areas reek (pleasantly) of a bygone era, and as the rooms are refurbished, the classic taste remains.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrbobG1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff and facilities were clean and fresh and welcoming. The location couldn't have been better. Metro and train stations within walking distance. Markets, restaurants and attractions within a few minutes walk. Bed and breakfast were far above average.

The only drawback was the nighttime crowds of drunken revelers. Seriously, people shouting and whooping and singing and screaming and playing the ever lovin' guitar non-stop until 4:30 am. None of that is the hotel's fault and I hate to lower their rating, it was a wonderful, small family hotel. I would recommend this hotel if you are a sound sleeper or have good earplugs. To be fair they said their more expensive rooms away from the street were quieter.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amonty209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great, honest review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent price for its central location, friendly and helpful staff, renovated and clean rooms, and wonderful breakfast.

Location, location, location, located in city center, a few steps from Marienplatz, Viktualien Markt, and many restaurants, easy access to transportation-U-Bahn and S-Bahn. The small hotel is found on a busy street, sandwiched between Burger King and McDonalds.

Staff was friendly and spoke perfect English, helpful for directions and other information.

Rooms were very clean and the bathroom was newly renovated. Charming old hotel, privately owned.

Breakfast had a large selection of cereals, breads, yogurts, cold cuts, cheeses, eggs, juices, and fresh fruits.

Because the hotel is located in the city center near many churches, church bells were loud, but the sounds were pretty.

I highly recommend Hotel Schlicker to other travelers and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street with loud people noises, cheering, laughing, during the weekend. Rooms ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geaux-saints-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The location of the hotel is absolutely great - I had time to shop and drink beer in several traditional restaurants just next door! Unfortunately ,rooms are rather small and no view at all...
Breakfast was really delicious and variety of food really impressed me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marusya757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here 3 nights with friends - two of us arrived early in the morning from the overnight train from Amsterdam and the manager couldn't have been more helpful. He explained our rooms weren't ready - which we fully expected - but said that if we gave our cellphone number he would ring and advise as soon as one was available - this happened promptly at 9.00am and they were both ready which was a bonus. Very thoughful.

The room itself was small but we didn't have much luggage so not a problem. The mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities were handy and the beds comfortable. There was a lot of noise from revellers which was surorizing given that the front windows are double glazed and should we stay again, I would definitely request a quiet room out the back. Didn't think of it at the time of booking.
No safe in the room which would have been handy and the wifi, as previously mentioned, was hopeless unless you came downstairs.

The bathroom was compact, clean with a wonderful shower. Like a lot of European hotels the soap is in a container attached to the wall -

The breakfast was typically European with a selection of cereals, breads, soft boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and sausages as well as cold meats, cheeses, some fish, fresh fruit and pastries.

Location perfect - the food market was behind the hotels, famous beer halls surrounding it as well as plenty of retail. Metro nearby as well.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper request a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine-Stoehr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen", responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We want to apologize for the internet problems and the noise. Meanwhile we improved our WiFi with a new setup and new hardware. Now it is running without problems and high speed. Because of our location direct at a main street, the rooms facing to the front can cause problems to guests who are sensible to noise. In this case we recommend to book a room to the back, with courtyard view- this are quieter.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Schlicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 382 in Munich
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#21 of 382 in Munich
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 382 in Munich
1,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"

Property: Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Address: Tal 8 | Historic Centre, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen" 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlicker Hotel Munich
Hotel Schlicker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing