We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy stay at Hotel Pension Theresia”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pension Theresia
Ranked #43 of 66 Munich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Thia is a good place to stay in Munich. I was only there for 4 nights but, from the start, everything was as good as could have been wished for. Its location is excellent being on the number 100 bus route from Munich's main rail station, University Stop. I had an en suit single at the front. It was spotless and was serviced daily. There was WiFi which worked perfectly. The breakfast buffet is, by far, the best I have ever experienced in any German hotel. I slept well despite having the window open on a busy street, the odd police car might have woken me up but was soon again in the land of nod. I will stay there again and can recommend it to all. And it is great value!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

My experience with Hotel Pension Theresia is generally positive. It is much nicer than the hostels or budget hotels near the hauptbahnhof. The staff is friendly and hotel is well maintained. They do not accept credit cards so if you're staying during Oktoberfest you'll need to wire them a deposit and pay the balance in cash on arrival. The location is a short distance from all the well-known landmarks, the Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest), and about a 10 minute walk from the hbf. The UBahn Theresienstraße station is around the corner and if you're coming from the airport on the S1 you can switch to the U2 at Feldmoching and save yourself some walking. The area around the hotel is safe and you're two blocks from just about everything a traveler needs: ATM, laundromat, Apotheke, and moderately priced restaurants. The hotel's layout is a little strange and the stairwell a dark and creepy, but once you get past that you're ok. A Westin it is not, but it's the cheapest place in central Munich. The only real complaint I have is my bed frame was broken and there was a lot of street noise starting at about 7am. If you're lucky your room won't be facing the street.

Room Tip: If your room faces the street be aware that the delivers to the grocery store start at about 7am eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeinmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I stayed at the pension for two nights on a recent business trip to Munich. There was a huge conference in town and all of the usual hotels were booked. As a business traveler, it was difficult to stay at a pension without wi-fi. Other than this, however, everything about the place was great. The front desk was very helpful to me, as a non-German, and helped me with anything that I needed. The rooms were very clean, light, and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was a typical German breakfast, which to me, is a wonderful thing. Local trams and u-bahn stations were in convenient walking distance. There were nice shops, restaurants and museums nearby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TracyLydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The place were kind of dark n old , seem empty , that explained the cheap rates, some rooms dun have bathroom , seem scary n eerie at night. Especially the bathroom on level 4 . Do not use the bathroom on level 4th ! No wifi , not the kind of place u want stay for holiday . Not really that near to the train station as well . Nothing much at it surrounding as well . Best to avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We visited the place last August. A good/average B&B.

Pros: conveniently located, clean rooms and bathroom, good breakfast. Friendly staff. Elevator.
Cons: Some rooms have shared bathrooms. No WiFi. No television. Very basic room interior.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank 779Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Does what it says on the tin - clean rooms in a good location for a low price. They quite happily put an extra bed into our 4-bed room to make it a 5-bed and although there wasn't a lot of floor room we could al move around and the extra-high ceiling made it feel a lot more spacious. For 100EUR a night we even had a tiny, but perfectly formed en-suite.

Breakfast was a veritable cornucopia of freshly-prepared ingredients in a crowded and bustling little room - part of the fun is trying to work out the logistics of getting the next plateful without disrupting fellow guests too much !

Top tip : Bus 100 leaves 20m from the front door every 10 mins in the day and will leave you to Hauptbahnhof (central train station) from whence you can be pretty much anywhere in central Munich in < 30 minutes or indeed in Berlin, Budapest, Vienna or Prague in about 2 hours ! There is also a U-Bahn about 300m away. The main art museums are 500m away or if you are felling tired the Bus 100 going in the opposite direction to the station is called "Museum Line" because it will take you right to the door of the Neue, Alte and Moderne Pinakothek (Art Gallery). When we were there the Pinakothek der Moderne offered entry for 1EUR for adults with kids free - which may just have been the best value of our visit to Munich - the modern art is really well chosen and presented and as a kind of bonus there is a huge design section (not sure if a temp exhibition) which was more interesting for kids than the art.

Room Tip: In this kind of small, value-oriented hotel, you take what you get. That said the higher up you go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Very large room with small en suite bathroom. Very good breakfast, but dining room a little cramped. Cigarette smoke wafted up from hallway on ground floor, not so pleasant. Budget supermarket below to stock up on food and drinks. Very convenient location to station, downtown, museum etc. Friendly and efficient personnel. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.8 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#52 of 389 in Munich
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel im Hof
Hotel im Hof
#5 of 66 in Munich
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Pension am Jakobsplatz
#1 of 66 in Munich
487 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#206 of 389 in Munich
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Theresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Theresia

Address: Luisenstr. 51, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: £20 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner-managed Hotel-Pension Theresia-Regina offers affordable accommodation with full breakfast in the unique Schwabing district of Munich, directly opposite the main building of the Technical University of Munich. Placed in a typical (heritage protected) townhouse it provides a selection of single rooms, double and multi-bed rooms, both with separate bathroom or shared floor bathroom. The breakfast room and most of the rooms are covered by wireless internet (free of charge). The English Garden is within walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing