We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pension Theresia
Ranked #43 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

we stayed recently in this hotel with 2 kids. The central station is near enough but not too much to create problems, neigbourhood is very good, metro in 50 m and in 3-4 stops you're at Marienplatz, supermarket is right downstairs, lots of cultural attractions are at 300 m distance. The hotel owners are 3 nicest ladies, always smiling and helpful. Breakfast time is sometimes a little fight, because the room is quite small and you need to wait. Our room was in a new part of building on the 6 floor without lift. It was a good excercise every day to get upstairs so I wouldn't advice this choise to someone older or with health problems. The room was completely new, shared bathroom always clean. The street was rather busy but staying on the 6th floor helps.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank septemberbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    22
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
11
15
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed here for a few nights at the end of summer 2012 (apologies for taking so long to write the review) and loved the place. While I don't particularly like B&Bs this one was very clean (both the bedroom and bathrooms) and the bedroom had a sink with a mirror. The cleaner came while I was out and I was pleased to find that everything looked fresh and of course, that nothing had been taken. There was an extensive choice for breakfast (different breads, some cakes, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, jams, ham, cheese, etc.) considering that it was a cheap place to stay. The location was incredible though it was on a main road and therefore a bit noisy, but it was easy to find and I could walk to the main museums and restaurants within 20mins. Did not have that much interaction with the staff - they weren't particularly warm but got the job done efficiently. Being a young female student just in Munich for the weekend I was relieved to be staying somewhere that I felt safe and comfortable. There's also a Lidl supermarket right next to it which meant I could pick up water and snacks for the day.

Room Tip: If you have a room facing onto the main road it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qwaszx2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Thia is a good place to stay in Munich. I was only there for 4 nights but, from the start, everything was as good as could have been wished for. Its location is excellent being on the number 100 bus route from Munich's main rail station, University Stop. I had an en suit single at the front. It was spotless and was serviced daily. There was WiFi which worked perfectly. The breakfast buffet is, by far, the best I have ever experienced in any German hotel. I slept well despite having the window open on a busy street, the odd police car might have woken me up but was soon again in the land of nod. I will stay there again and can recommend it to all. And it is great value!

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

My experience with Hotel Pension Theresia is generally positive. It is much nicer than the hostels or budget hotels near the hauptbahnhof. The staff is friendly and hotel is well maintained. They do not accept credit cards so if you're staying during Oktoberfest you'll need to wire them a deposit and pay the balance in cash on arrival. The location is a short distance from all the well-known landmarks, the Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest), and about a 10 minute walk from the hbf. The UBahn Theresienstraße station is around the corner and if you're coming from the airport on the S1 you can switch to the U2 at Feldmoching and save yourself some walking. The area around the hotel is safe and you're two blocks from just about everything a traveler needs: ATM, laundromat, Apotheke, and moderately priced restaurants. The hotel's layout is a little strange and the stairwell a dark and creepy, but once you get past that you're ok. A Westin it is not, but it's the cheapest place in central Munich. The only real complaint I have is my bed frame was broken and there was a lot of street noise starting at about 7am. If you're lucky your room won't be facing the street.

Room Tip: If your room faces the street be aware that the delivers to the grocery store start at about 7am eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeinmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

I stayed at the pension for two nights on a recent business trip to Munich. There was a huge conference in town and all of the usual hotels were booked. As a business traveler, it was difficult to stay at a pension without wi-fi. Other than this, however, everything about the place was great. The front desk was very helpful to me, as a non-German, and helped me with anything that I needed. The rooms were very clean, light, and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was a typical German breakfast, which to me, is a wonderful thing. Local trams and u-bahn stations were in convenient walking distance. There were nice shops, restaurants and museums nearby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyLydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

The place were kind of dark n old , seem empty , that explained the cheap rates, some rooms dun have bathroom , seem scary n eerie at night. Especially the bathroom on level 4 . Do not use the bathroom on level 4th ! No wifi , not the kind of place u want stay for holiday . Not really that near to the train station as well . Nothing much at it surrounding as well . Best to avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We visited the place last August. A good/average B&B.

Pros: conveniently located, clean rooms and bathroom, good breakfast. Friendly staff. Elevator.
Cons: Some rooms have shared bathrooms. No WiFi. No television. Very basic room interior.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 779Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konigswache
Hotel Konigswache
#201 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lex garni im Gartenhof
0.4 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#238 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Park Residence
Park Residence
#8 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
0.5 mi away
Hauser Hotel
Hauser Hotel
#250 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Theresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Theresia

Property: Hotel Pension Theresia
Address: Luisenstr. 51, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner-managed Hotel-Pension Theresia-Regina offers affordable accommodation with full breakfast in the unique Schwabing district of Munich, directly opposite the main building of the Technical University of Munich. Placed in a typical (heritage protected) townhouse it provides a selection of single rooms, double and multi-bed rooms, both with separate bathroom or shared floor bathroom. The breakfast room and most of the rooms are covered by wireless internet (free of charge). The English Garden is within walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing