We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, classic, fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Pension Mariandl
Ranked #319 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Love this place & stay here every time I'm in Munich. Great people, food, bar, music every night, local hang out, close to the main train station, old school rooms, classic. Hesitant to even write this because this place is so amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dabeatest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Mariandl is like coming home. The downstairs restaurant offers great food throughout the day - there is a piano, not sure if it is played but still looked nice to see it there and the whole place is really cosy and has a nice atmosphere. The restaurant is like an old coffee house and it is just nice to spend some time there, any time of the day. The rooms upstairs are great, we had one with a free standing bathtub!! Awesome experience!

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms with the free standing bathtub or ask them to show you some rooms, they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel was booked for us by a local university because nearly all hotels in the city were booked the week we were there. We stayed three nights. The hotel is very old, but not in the antique nice way. It could have potential, but it is not maintained well enough. There is no elevator and the wooden stairs are so worn out that they are U-shaped. Our room was very small. At least we had a bathroom in our room (other rooms have to share a common bathroom on the floor), but the bathroom was very strange. The hardware in the bathroom were new and it the rain shower was nice, but there was no curtain for the shower and so in order to take a shower, you had to take everything out of the bathroom since the water would go everywhere. Breakfast was not very good, I skipped it most days. They can make you lattes/cappuccinos. but it comes from an automated machine so I would recommend going elsewhere for breakfast. The only good thing was that the bed was pretty comfortable, not the best I have experienced, but also not the worst. Despite that I would not spend my own money to stay here and would try not to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ricerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The Mariandl is a cult. It is located in a beautiful old house that was being renovated. The rooms are all different, but very unconventional. It could happen that there is a very old, but chic bed in the middle. Or a nice old tub right at the window. The staff are very accommodating, as is often the case in Munich. Likewise, the restaurant and the bar downstairs is very nice to have a beer or two. I'll visit again. Both for the beer and the night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

In a city that seems to be short on hotels with charm (most seem to be generic looking with wall to wall carpeting) this place is chock full of it. The toilet and shower across the hall was a little weird, but not too much of an inconvienience. The stairs were creaky and there was some climbing involved. I can see elderly people having trouble with the stairs, but they didn't bother us. The breakfast spread downstairs was wonderful. location near the train station meant we never needed a taxi to get there. We didn't really notice the lack of a TV because we were only there for two nights and were very busy so we pretty much just crashed there. If I were passing through Munich again, I'd stay there for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbanfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for Oktoberfest this year. The location was great for the festival as it is a short walk to the festival grounds.
However the hotel itself wasn't my usual standard of lodging.
Firstly there is no lift and very uneven stairs so it was quite a challenge getting my case up the three flights of stairs to level 3. The rooms were quite nice looking, though our room, especially the bathroom, reeked of cigarette smoke constantly. This made me feel quite ill, especially when I took a shower.
The pub/restaurant downstairs gets really noisy late at night, but this is to be expected especially during Oktoberfest so no complaints there. Wifi was fine in restaurant but pretty dodgy in the room.
Overall, it's not bad, but mostly suited to young travellers who like to party!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank misscoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times and have decided that I now understand the quirks of this venue well enough to place a review.

The hotel is probably more like an Inn in UK style with a bar/restaurant on the ground floor and the rooms above it. The hotel itself has a lot of old style, although whilst we were there recently it was undergoing some refurbishment. But sitting in the bar with a suitable aperitif you get a feel of history all around you. It is located within a ten minute stroll of the Marienplatz/centre and a taxi from the hotel to the centre will cost you roughly 7 euros.

There is a choice of rooms but the standard is lower than budget hotels in the UK. You can have an en suite room or a room with an allocated wet room/toilet on the landing. Each room has a sink but do not expect to have the opportunity to make a cup of tea unless you bring your own clobber. But, the rooms are spacious and clean and all linen is replaced with regularity.

The restaurant provides a good mix of Bavarian fair at good prices. A good sign of any venue is whether the locals use it themselves and the restaurant regularly full and vibrant of Munich patrons. As well as hot food there is a great selection of sweeter options as well. Sundays in particular are a very busy time with families frequenting the venue and many of the tables reserved.

The venue also has a good local reputation for its jazz music. Quite often musicians will be playing from late morning through the afternoon on Sundays with other dates set aside for specific musicians. If your tastes are a little more upbeat the bar becomes a 'disco' on Fridays and Saturdays with a late bar. Those staying at the hotel get free admission but visitors need to reach into their pockets for entry. But note the music is loud and can generally be heard in your room even on the upper floors.

If you want a vibrant place to stay which just has that little bit different to the normal boxes that call themselves hotels this place is worth a try. The rooms are fairly priced and make taking that chance on something new worth considering.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PilgrimPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.4 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#148 of 389 in Munich
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#145 of 389 in Munich
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#152 of 389 in Munich
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
TRYP Munchen City Center
TRYP Munchen City Center
#120 of 389 in Munich
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Mariandl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Mariandl

Address: Goethestr. 51, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £82 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel-Pension Mariandl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Pension Mariandl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing