We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Pension Mariandl
Ranked #313 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Rooms are located in a beautiful building with a nice Restaurant/Bar on the ground floor.
Rooms are clean and services are as described, maybe they could improve the room doors, as they are like they were and you can listen noises coming from outside and even get the smell of cigarette is someone is smoking in the corridor that it's not nice.
The rest is Top for the price you pay. maybe we were just unlucky as someone kept smoking all night there. i would suggest this place to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fabio231278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a very old building with a lot of character. You can't beat the value for the price.

However, the amenities are lacking a bit. We paid about 20 Euro more for a bathroom/shower right in our room. The entire bathroom was the shower basically. It was completely tiled but there was nothing separating the shower from the sink or toilet. Not really a hassle, however the entire floor gets soaked so you need to use a towel to stand on if dressing in the bathroom/shower afterward.

The street is fairly quiet. So even getting a street side room wasn't bad.

Breakfast was included with the price and consisted of the typical german breakfast fare: cold cuts, bread, muffins, yogurt, fruit hard boiled eggs, coffee/espresso, orange juice, multivitamin juice.

It is a two block walk to the U-station. Once there, it was only 2 stops to Marienplatz.

For the price and location, this is a fine hotel. Just don't have high expectations and you'll be ok.

My dad and I stayed there with no issues. If my wife and daughter would have been along, I'm not so sure we would have stayed for the 2nd night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanLaanenkugle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Horrible! The hotel isn't clean at all. There are cobwebs all over the place. The chairs are broken and it's not hygenic at all. There are blus stuff hanging from the shower. DO NOT GO THERE. IT IS DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yoyo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Love this place & stay here every time I'm in Munich. Great people, food, bar, music every night, local hang out, close to the main train station, old school rooms, classic. Hesitant to even write this because this place is so amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dabeatest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Mariandl is like coming home. The downstairs restaurant offers great food throughout the day - there is a piano, not sure if it is played but still looked nice to see it there and the whole place is really cosy and has a nice atmosphere. The restaurant is like an old coffee house and it is just nice to spend some time there, any time of the day. The rooms upstairs are great, we had one with a free standing bathtub!! Awesome experience!

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms with the free standing bathtub or ask them to show you some rooms, they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel was booked for us by a local university because nearly all hotels in the city were booked the week we were there. We stayed three nights. The hotel is very old, but not in the antique nice way. It could have potential, but it is not maintained well enough. There is no elevator and the wooden stairs are so worn out that they are U-shaped. Our room was very small. At least we had a bathroom in our room (other rooms have to share a common bathroom on the floor), but the bathroom was very strange. The hardware in the bathroom were new and it the rain shower was nice, but there was no curtain for the shower and so in order to take a shower, you had to take everything out of the bathroom since the water would go everywhere. Breakfast was not very good, I skipped it most days. They can make you lattes/cappuccinos. but it comes from an automated machine so I would recommend going elsewhere for breakfast. The only good thing was that the bed was pretty comfortable, not the best I have experienced, but also not the worst. Despite that I would not spend my own money to stay here and would try not to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ricerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The Mariandl is a cult. It is located in a beautiful old house that was being renovated. The rooms are all different, but very unconventional. It could happen that there is a very old, but chic bed in the middle. Or a nice old tub right at the window. The staff are very accommodating, as is often the case in Munich. Likewise, the restaurant and the bar downstairs is very nice to have a beer or two. I'll visit again. Both for the beer and the night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#146 of 385 in Munich
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
0.1 mi away
Andra Muenchen Hotel
Andra Muenchen Hotel
#126 of 385 in Munich
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#167 of 385 in Munich
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bold Hotel Munich Center
Bold Hotel Munich Center
#85 of 385 in Munich
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seibel
Hotel Seibel
#335 of 385 in Munich
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Mariandl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Mariandl

Address: Goethestr. 51, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel-Pension Mariandl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Pension Mariandl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing