We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for Young Families”
Review of Hotel Kriemhild

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kriemhild
Ranked #4 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for Young Families”
Reviewed 14 July 2010

This hotel was a match made in heaven for families with young children! We recently stayed at the Kriemhild with our two children, ages 5 & 7, and it was the perfect home away from home for us... it was roomy enough for the kids to play, plus the kids had their own bedroom right off our main room so we could put the kids to bed and still have time to unwind and prepare for the next day... it's located in a quiet neighborhood of Munich, which made for peaceful nights of sleeping... it's a short, pleasant walk to the tram, which we used to take us to the train station, city, etc... it's in walking distance to several nice locations, such as the Schloss Nymphenburg and the Hirschgarten... its close proximity to the Hirschgarten was wonderful, we could take a nice walk there to let the kids run around on the playgrounds, watch the deer at the deer garden, and then have a nice casual meal in the biergarten... we looked forward to the delicious breakfasts each morning... the hosts were warm, friendly and extremely helpful... the hotel was very clean and always felt welcoming and comfortable... overall, staying here was a very positive experience, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, especially those with young children.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcikneid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    145
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
224
180
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Hotel Kriemhild is a great choice if you’re traveling to Munich with young children. We visited there in June with 3 generations of our family and the suites on the 3rd floor were perfect, each containing a small second bedroom for the children. These suites were newly remodeled, roomy and comfortable. The location was excellent, close to the tram which took us to the train station, subway or old city. Best of all was its proximity to the Hirschgarten, a lovely park with multiple playgrounds and a large beer garden for informal meals with traditional Bavarian food and, of course, beer. I can’t say enough about our host, Erich, who was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Air-conditioning is planned for next year, so if you are planning a trip in July or August it might be warm on the 3rd floor.
All in all, this was the perfect accommodation for us and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieK46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

There are so many reasons to recommend this hotel. Eric and his staff are wonderful and can offer much guidance during your stay in Germany. The hotel is clean, the rooms are large, the bathrooms are wonderful (and newly renovated), the breakfast is delicious with many options, and the location is perfect. The hotel is set in a quiet neighborhood a few blocks from a tram stop, and from a wonderful park with a beer garden. It is also an easy walk to Schloss Nymphenburg. I stayed at Hotel Kriemhild with a large group of family members which included four children ages 5-8, and am very glad we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin_K4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We had a fantastic experience at this hotel. As many other reviews have already stated, this hotel was squeaky clean, bright, comfortable with very large suites. Me, my wife, my teenaged daughter and father-in-law shared a suite and never felt crowded. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was very roomy. This neighborhood was fantastic: quiet, safe, clean and just a stones throw away from the largest beer garden in Munich. We used only public transportation on our trip and found the tram system (#16 or 17) to be very easy to use with the stop just a short walk from the hotel. We especially enjoyed how close the hotel was to the Schloss Nymphemburg and made a point of visiting this beautiful Munich landmark not once but twice during our five day stay.

The staff at the hotel were extremely efficient and polite but not over friendly. We especially enjoyed the nice lady who served coffee, etc each morning. She was a real delight!

We took daytrips to Dachau/Landshut (great, quaint town) and Salzburg, Austria while we were in Munich. We also spent two full days exploring this great city. My favorite day was when we rented bikes at Mike’s Bikes near the Hofbrauhaus. They provided an excellent map that took us on a bike tour all over Munich. I was surprised that biking through a city of this size could be so easy and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We lost our reservations at the number 2 Tripadvisor rated hotel nearby, but this was a blessing in disguise. The suite at the Kriemhild was much larger and they had an elevator for my 86 year old father. The suite was clean, spacious, with a huge bathroom!

The breakfast was outstanding with two very helpful ladies. One of them gave us extra tender loving care when we had to leave early for the airport. She packed us a breakfast to go!

The huge beer garden nearby has excellent food and we ate there every night. Variety, taste, and reasonable prices. Easy walk for my dad as well. We could reach the train station quickly by trams 16 or 17. Also the free wifi was outstanding.

Everything about our stay at the Kriemhild was outstanding. The nearby deer garden/park and palace grounds was a beautiful experience. Why stay elsewhere?

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TzekeKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel after X-C skiing in Oberammergau. We always make our selections based on the Trip Advisor reviews so I was compelled to write my own. Overall, the stay was exactly as others described in their reviews. The property was very modern, clean, and recently updated. It appears the updating has now been completed as we did not see the construction others mentioned.

The location of the hotel is very good with close connection to the tram which will take you pretty much everywhere. We had a rental car and only used it to go to Dachau ( very moving). Parking at the hotel appeared to be limited but we had no problem.

The room was big and bright. In fact, it's the brightest hotel room we've stayed at in a long time. My wife and I kid that hotels use dim lights to hide the dirt. Not the case here.

As you can see from my title, the only criticism I have is that the wi-fi connection was terrible. I was finally able to connect the first night after about an hour. The next day it took me about an hour and one half to connect. The third day I coundn't connect at all and had to connect to an unknown network not associated with the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpglrstripadvosor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We so enjoyed our stay at Hotel Kreimhild. The best part beside the large room that are very clean is that you are next to the best beer garden in all of Munich. I't s just a 5 min walk and you are there.

Lovely breakfast, clean rooms.....And you can hire the owner Father to tak you around Munich on private tours in his car.......

We used him for the 4 days that we were there. He knows some very out of the way places for lunch and dinner...

Loved staying in this part of the city and not in the main part of town.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 382 in Munich
2,186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
2.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 382 in Munich
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
844 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,521 reviews
2.5 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 382 in Munich
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kriemhild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kriemhild

Property: Hotel Kriemhild
Address: Guntherstr. 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Munich
#15 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#36 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kriemhild 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has comfortable, spacious accommodations in a quiet area of Nymphenburg in Munich, just a short walk from Nymphenburg Castle and the Hirschgarten park and beer garden. The bright, well-equipped rooms at Hotel Kriemhild feature all standard modern amenities, including free wireless internet access, and a rich buffet breakfast is served every morning. Modern comfortable Suites with aircondition for familys. Many restaurants and shops are just a short walk away in Romanplatz, and the nearby tram service can bring you swiftly to the main train station (11 minutes away) and the center of the city (4.8 km away). Neuhausen - Nymphenburg is a great choice for travelers interested in Oktoberfest, Sightseeing and History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kriemhild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kriemhild Munchen Hotel
Kriemhild Munchen Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing