We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Red sightseeing bus is the biggest rip off of Munich!”

City Sightseeing Munich
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.81*
and up
Panoramic Hop-On Hop-Off Tour of Munich by Double-Decker Bus
Ranked #101 of 125 Tours in Munich
Attraction details
Muscat, Oman
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Red sightseeing bus is the biggest rip off of Munich!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We actually were going to take the grayline tour (finally discovered that was a much better option) but we had been told by the Hop on Hop tour operator in Rome (which was an excellent arrangement) that we would get 10% off on any other Red line Hop on Hop off in other countries.

When we aproached the person at the counter, he was most disinterested and behaved as if he was doing us a favour. The discount was not offered. I wanted the full tour & without offering any information he had already torn out a ticket and handed it over. No map or earphones were offered, I had to ask for them. The map was woefully inadequate. The worst part was that we were directed to a bus that was leaving & told it was the full tour, but that bus covered only 5 stops out of the 12 shown on the map. The earphones were of no use as the selection device was not operational. The English translation of the narrative was barely understandable.

All in all a big waste of time & money. Do yourself a favour & book a grayline tour - the blue buses!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank NagpurSantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    35
    24
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We always book city sightseeing whenever we do a city break, have had some great trips and found them the best way to get a feel for the place as well as our bearings of our host city. Not so this time. None of the three buses had live guides, instead recordings. This would have been fine but for the fact that we struggled to find seats where both headphone points worked, and the loudspeaker carrying the German commentary was so loud it was near impossible to hear the English despite having the headphone volume on full.

The buses seemed rather old and tired, and had a strong smell of diesel which wasn't great for an hours trip. All in all very disappointing, especially when compared to the great experience we've previously had with City Sightseeing elsewhere.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SheldonB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great way to see Munich in a short time”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This tour is fantastic if you are looking for a way to see multiple sites in Munich in one day. There are two different tour options, the inner city and the inner/outer city. Do the combined inner/outer city, it is definitely worth it. You zoom around the inner city with commentary and then head out to the beautiful Schloss Nymphenburg Palace which is incredible (I would suggest giving yourself a couple hours at this palace to wander the grounds). Then it will take you out to the BMW museum and BMW world which is a fun place to go as well. Then you can visit Olympic Stadium - I would highly recommend going up in the Olympic Tower - it is a breathtaking 360 degree view of Munich and Lower Bavaria. The tour has buses going to and from each location every 15 minutes, which gives you a lot of flexibility in the length of time you want to stay. I highly recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kailey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in Munich as a central point for visiting Berchtesgaden and Dachau concentration camp. I sadly report that I was not very impressed with Munich. The people were very nice and friendly and assisted us numerous times. However, the city itself could have used a little sprucing up. Litter everywhere, broken bottles, just not the atmosphere I was expecting. We did enjoy sightseeing in Munich, however.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not really worth 20 euros for this service. Firstly, the commentary in German was quite loud over the loudspeakers. For all other languages, you use (quite uncomfortable) in-ear headphones, and you have to turn the volume up to drown out the loud German commentary. It's fine if you can understand German, otherwise it is a pain.

Secondly, the bus cannot take you to the most interesting parts of Munich, since there is no access for vehicles.

I would suggest paying for a guided bike tour instead. You get to see much more. Or just walk around central Munich, and hop onto the U-bahn when you're tired.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Sightseeing Munich also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing