We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oktoberfest visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kraft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kraft Hotel
Ranked #171 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Traditional hotel at the quiet end of the Schillerstrasse, the other end becomes sleazy with strip joints. Close to the city centre and rail/underground train connections. We had driven from London and the parked the car in the adjacent small car park which had room for c6 cars (10 Euro per night charge). Reception always manned and very welcoming.
Rooms are compact but maintained to a reasonable standard, we both slep well aided by the Oktoberfest intake. The bathroom was very small with a reasonable size shower, wash basin and wc.
Our room face the courtyard area and was very peaceful day and night. Breafast was included and featured a small cooked selection together with juices, cold meats and cheeses, breads etc.
Oktoberfest sight is a short level walk away. This is a pleasant enough hotel, during festival time the whole of Munich is expensive so not the cheapest option but a safe and secure hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    45
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
18
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The Kraft is just outside the old town (and easy walking distance to most major sights). It's also very close to the train station (about 5 blocks) but on an amazingly quiet and calm stretch of Schillerstrasse just 2 blocks or so from the hustle and bustle immediately next to the station. I walked into a bunch of the similarly rated (3 star) and priced (130 Euros for a triple) hotels closer to the station and they were not nearly as nice. They were fine, but seemed like typical train station hotels...somewhat run down, bare bones lobbies, on crowded, somewhat tacky blocks full of neon and double-parked cars. The Kraft Hotel, by contrast, is on a quiet, residential block with easy street parking and virtually no street noise (and we slept with the windows open). (They also have a small parking lot so you don't have to feed the parking meters all day. It can be full, however.) The hotel also has old world charm and serves a delicious and extensive breakfast buffet (included in room price). Great value for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

A nice, clean, cosy little hotel with great character. A stone's throw away from the Children's Hospital. Very close to the city centre. Excellent breakfast. Great value for money

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parrisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

Very warm, helpful and friendly welcome. The rooms are very well done - old fashion and with great character. Situated centrally in walking distance to the city center. Kraft was a nice surprise. Top value!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evigung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2008

Great location, staff spoke English well, rooms were very clean and you can walk to the Oktoberfest ground. We stayed here for 4 nights in September and had a blast. The only thing I would do different is stay at anothe hotel, in the same area, that you can catch the tram right out side the door. In 2005 we stayed at the Jedermann and you can catch the tram right outside their hotel.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank LJZWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2004

We had problems finding a room in Munich during Oktoberfest 03 on very short notice, and were treated quite rudely elsewhere. Hotel Kraft had only a single left, but the manager actually went to measure the bed and called us back to ask if it would be ok for us. Now that's warm service! The room was small (we were warned) and a little aged, but everything else was great. Clean, very extensive (hot) breakfast, nice service, all at a very reasonable rate (during Oktoberfest!). Lastly, the location is UNBEATABLE - in the center of the Wiesn-Trainstation-Old Town triangle - and since it's a few blocks away, it was quiet at night. For a last minute selection, this place was a lucky find!

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khw225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#143 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exquisit Hotel
Exquisit Hotel
#132 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andra Muenchen Hotel
Andra Muenchen Hotel
#116 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#169 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#124 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kraft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kraft Hotel

Property: Kraft Hotel
Address: Schillerstr. 49, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kraft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kraft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kraft Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing