We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Antiquated, but Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kraft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kraft Hotel
Ranked #169 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Antiquated, but Good Value”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at Hotel Kraft for two days - in two twin rooms.. The hotel has a very nice breakfast buffet, and is only a 15 minute walk to downtown attractions. Its lower room rates also make it a good value. However, the interior is "antiquated" - as the rooms, elevator, and reception area are small - and room keys are still used to open/close room doors. Also, the folding door on our small shower stall was difficult to manipulate. Hotel Kraft is located on Schillerstrasse - which leads to a "seedy" area near the railway station. However, we simply took a detour (one block away) to avoid walking there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco987280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    45
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
18
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Central location on the edge of Bahnhofsviertel. Clean spacious room. Bathroom small but adequate. Bed was comfortable. Location relatively quiet considering the central location. Friendly, helpful staff. Affordable.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 6th floor and it was relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jglewis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We came to Munich late in the night and it was very hard to find any hotel because they were fullbooked. Then we found this nice hotel and there was room for us.
It was expensive but very clean and comfortable. The blankets were very soft and good and we slept well. There was beautiful lamps and walls and there was also beautiful furnitures. This hotel was also in walking distance and we could walk to the center.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I've stayed in a number of hotels in Munich's Schillerstrasse (part of the redlight district), most of them are surrounded by bars (the kind where drinks are expensive) and other establishments. The noise level tends to be annoying.
The Kraft Hotel is all the way down Schillerstrasse, in a really and surprisingly quiet section. Okay, it is a bit of a hike to the central train station, but if you're good on foot, that isn't an issue.
The room I had was spacious, the bathroom quite ok, possibly with the exception of the shower doors which are a bit annoying - they go all the way down to the floor (there is no tub) and somewhat difficult to adjust.
The room was decorated with very nice, old furniture and the bed was spacious and comfortable.
Had the breakfast included more than just factory rolls and the usual toppings, with cereal and yoghurt, I probably would have given the place 5 stars.
I like a good breakfast and while this was ok, it was just that: ok.
All in all a very good value and to be recommended.
Not sure about parking (I travel by train), but that did look a bit difficult.

Room Tip: I had a room to the street which was absolutely quiet enough (I'm picky).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDBGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Good location- near the main train station (10 min on foot), but safe and quiet neighborhood. We stayed over a Saturday evening (1 September) and were leaving early Sunday morning to catch the train to Passau, so they prepared breakfast earlier than usual. Great service (and great breakfast too)!

The room was well appointed - certainly larger and in better condition than what we'd expected for a 3* hotel, with thoughtful niches and shelves in all the right places to comfortably fit in a family with one 10-year old child.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rypper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at this nice old hotel, within easy walking distance of Marienplatz, on two separate occasions a few days apart, with our eldest daughter. The rooms although small, were comfortable and clean with an "old world' touch in decor. The reception staff at all times were very pleasant and helpful as were the staff generally and a nice breakfast (included in the tariff) was served up until 10am in the morning.Parking was available overnight in a street close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was a beautiful older hotel just a short walk from city center. It was quite, clean with very helpful staff. The gentlemen on the night desk recommended a restaurant to my wife and I that had the best traditional Bavarian food I've ever eaten. I'll admit we were a little disturbed as we walked down Schillerstrasse from the train station with our 3 daughters in tow, but don't let the endless blocks of strip clubs scare you. Things settle down a few blocks from the hotel. One of my favorite stays abroad.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#143 of 382 in Munich
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exquisit Hotel
Exquisit Hotel
#132 of 382 in Munich
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andra Muenchen Hotel
Andra Muenchen Hotel
#115 of 382 in Munich
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#161 of 382 in Munich
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#122 of 382 in Munich
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#126 of 382 in Munich
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kraft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kraft Hotel

Property: Kraft Hotel
Address: Schillerstr. 49, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kraft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kraft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kraft Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing