We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - medium service”
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Opera
Ranked #145 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great location - medium service”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Arrived at 9.45PM. Quick check in, although no explenation about room, which floor, breakfast hours, no help offered with my suitcase. In fact nothing. I wanted to go out for a quick bite! Ask if there was the M restaurant nearby. No idea was the answer. No other help was offered. Location is good, rooms just ok, service???

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svalkenborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    99
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
42
118
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel is located in the center of Münich on a very quiet street. The rooms are very charming and romantic. The breakfast is served in there lovely garden in a traditional and elegant way. The rooms are a bit small but very cozy, so just in case you like alot of space please ask when booking about the size of your room. All the rooms are different so I am sure there will be no problem to suit your needs.

I love this little hotel, and am always pleased to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetter181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and I also appreciated the perspective of the 7/25 reviewer. We just returned from an enjoyable 8-night stay at the Hotel Opera at the end of August. The Hotel Opera is an elegant, small hotel in the Lehel district of Munich, with a warm, friendly and gracious staff.

The location is fantastic! The hotel is just one block from the Lehel U-Bahn station, which gave us ready access to Munich’s wonderful transit system. There are several great restaurants within a block of the hotel. Gandl and La Stanza were fantastic with great food and very personable service. Pequenos had remarkably good margaritas (one can not live by beer alone!).

Our third floor room was spacious with a very comfortable bed (actually two twins pushed together). The small, but very adequate bathroom was all marble and had excellent lighting. Water pressure and temperature were also great.

The included breakfast (coffee/tea, juice, meats, cheeses, and lox with a basket of fresh bread and rolls) is elegantly served at linen covered tables either in the charming courtyard (on warm days) or the beautiful winter garden or breakfast room. I don’t know about you, but we don’t usually eat breakfast using fine china and silver. It was simply elegant. We did opt out of breakfast a couple of days just to vary things a bit.

Our stay did include several days with temperatures in the upper 80’s and lower 90’s (Fahrenheit). Even with the window open, our street front room didn’t cool down that much. The weather cooled down the last several days of our stay and the room was far more comfortable. A fan (not available during our stay) would have helped substantially with that, and also with some of the late night noise that we noticed. Munich has a very active nightlife that seems to last through the early morning hours.

Anyone looking for a small, elegant hotel with wonderful service in a great area of Munich should certainly consider the Hotel Opera.

Room Tip: We booked through Booking.com, but followed up directly with the hotel via email to confirm our rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spokaneroxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,281 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I 100% agree with the review 25 July 2011, this is a wonderful hotel. Our room was 3rd floor street facing and no noise problems over 4 night summer stay. Hotel is well presented with beautiful public areas. Staff provide friendly, responsive and excellent service. Breakfast service and area is a delight to enjoy. Lehel is a pleasant neighbourhood with great restaurants a short walk away or quick subway trip elsewhere. Would stay here again when in Munich.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The disparity among reviews re this property is very unusual in my experience of being guided by Trip Advisor reviews in selecting hotels. I decided to ignore the negative reviews and hope for the best since my husband and I were going to be staying for just 2 nights. Fortunately, our experience alligns with those people who spoke highly of the hotel. First and foremost, the location cannot be beaten--as many have said. The neighborhood is absolutely charming and it is near everything--either by walking or jumping on the UBahn. Second, the common areas are beautiful. The decorations are very tasteful and nothing looked worn when we were there. Indeed, it was quite the contrary. And the courtyard is just wonderful. My husband and I enjoyed a nightcap in the courtyard around midnight and found it the perfect spot in which to end a perfect evening of walking around Munich. Third, our room was lovely. The furnishings were quite elegant, the bedding very comfortable, the storage very clever, and the window seat overlooking the street, an unexpected plus. The bathroom was somewhat small but well designed. Fourth, the breakfast was pleasant. Fifth, I found the staff very pleasant and accomodating. There had been a disconnect between the type of room which had been confirmed through hotel.com and the one that was reserved at the hotel. Once I made the hotel aware of that inconsistency, the hotel management made a moderate downward adjustment to our nightly rate which suited us perfectly. Finally, we found the hotel very quiet and, indeed, based on the number of adults and children at breakfast, the hotel was quite full. Also, we kept all our windows open at night and heard little, to no, noise outside. Perhaps, we just were very lucky. Bottom line, we found The Opera to be a wonderful hotel and look forward to staying there when we return to Munich--which we will most definitely do.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MKCNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

When I first arrived I was absolutely overwhelmed by how nice this little hotel in the heart of the city APPEARED. The rooms are well appointed and the location appeared to be close to everything, yet off the beaten path. They do charge for internet but not an unreasonable amount.
My advice to anyone planning on staying here is DON'T!!!! especially if you plan on getting any sleep. My first observation that the hotel is off the beaten track is completely incorrect. The noise in the rooms from the people in the nearby square and on the street is unbearable, the buildings funnel the noise right into your room (even with the windows closed). I am sitting awake in my room right now....it's 2:00 am. Adding insult to injury, if you ever do get to sleep workers start milling around in the street making noise about 6:00 am. I can normally sleep through anything (even a smoke alarm). I have stayed here 4 nights and have not had a good night sleep yet. The only possible benefit from this is I won't suffer from the influences of jetlag because I will be so tired when I return that I will just sleep through everything.
What a way to ruin what has otherwise been a great trip to Munich!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CDNProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

- Beautiful common areas
- Room very cute, but bit on the smaller side
- Bathroom well appointed, small but efficient
- Room very quiet
- Location very nice in a quiet residential neighbourhood, but 2 minutes walk to Maximilianstrasse, the main shopping street
- Breakfast nice, with full service
- All staff very nice and efficient

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatkamiesFFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
#59 of 383 in Munich
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adria Munchen
Hotel Adria Munchen
#119 of 383 in Munich
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 383 in Munich
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#168 of 383 in Munich
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#105 of 383 in Munich
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Property: Hotel Opera
Address: St.-Anna-Str. 10, 80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#53 Business Hotel in Munich
#72 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet part of central Munich, this charming hotel offers a pretty courtyard and elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi. Marienplatz Square is just a 10-minute walk away. The 4-star Hotel Opera provides classically furnished rooms decorated with antiques. Your bathroom features bathrobes, slippers and toiletries. Some rooms have a balcony facing the courtyard. Breakfast is served in the Opera's luxurious dining room or on the peaceful grounds. In the evenings, Restaurant Gandl offers Italian, French and regional dishes. Guests can enjoy drinks in the bright conservatory. Lehel Metro Station is just 650 ft from the Hotel Opera. Trains run to Munich Central Station in 5 minutes. Hofbrauhaus Beer Hall is a 10-minute walk away. Altstadt - Lehel is a great choice for travelers interested in Opera, Shopping, People Watching and Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing