We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location, elegant interior decor, room with a balcony”
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Opera
Ranked #143 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“central location, elegant interior decor, room with a balcony”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel opera is an elegantly decorated hotel near the city centre. My room came with a balcony which overlooked into a garden!!Breakfast is served high teas style with a triple decker tea set & your own pot of tea! Romantic place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taysiewhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    103
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
45
125
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here over Christmas with my son and his partner. Booked with Booking .com and when I arrived I was a little surprised…for some reason I thought it was bigger! That being said this turned out to be one of the nicest niche hotels I have stayed in recently. From the Lake District to Munich in a week..quite a change!
We had a deluxe room on the 4th floor(43) and it was superb with a large walk in wardrobe large bedroom with table and 2 chairs,TV and bathroom with shower over bath. Very clean and recently decorated.Bathroom smallish but OK. All very well fitted.Having read other reviews it seems most of the rooms are different and some maybe a little on the small side but both our rooms were very good.
Excellent location on quiet street just off mail road into centre 10 mins walk away or 10mins from some very nice parks to walk in if you need a break from shopping and eating! St Anna Sq 100yds away has a nice selection of restaurants one of which belongs to the hotel and although it was closed over Christmas based on the hotel breakfast I would certainly have given it a go.
The hotel reception areas are quite small and breakfast is served in a series of small areas which makes it a very pleasant experience. In the summer there is an outside area with tables which we did not use. Breakfast was excellent being served at your table and like something I have not experienced before! Fruit salad,choice of eggs and then smoked salmon, cold meats and cheese served up on a beautiful cake stand! Good selection of bread with jam etc and coffee in a really nice silver pot! Looked forward to it each morning!
The bar is 24 hrs but has limited seating. The reception area has multiple long mirrors to give the impression of more space and several times I nearly walked through a door that wasn't there!
The staff were always pleasant and helpful even when they forgot my second pot of coffee from time to time.
There are lots of restaurants within 15 mins to suit all pockets but if you want a real treat try Knuffler Restaurant just off Maximillian Stra. Expensive but really nice.
If you like something a little different this hotel fits the bill very well.

Room Tip: The trick here seems to be to get the right room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I must say that I wish I could give the hotel a 5 star rating, however, the price/value ratio for the room we had does not warrant it. The hotel, itself, is absolutely lovely. When you arrive at what may have originally been a private home, you enter by a door that opens automatically, giving the entrant a feeling of royalty. All is light, white and airy on the inside. The garden in the rear of the building is charming, and I only wish we could have come at the time of year when we could have enjoyed it, and taken our breakfast outside.

We had a narrow, slit of a room on the second floor with one of the tiniest bathrooms I've ever had. If we had stayed more than two nights, I would have checked with the front desk to see if they had a larger room. What saved the room was that it had a window overlooking the back garden, which could be opened for fresh air. The storage in the room was phenomenal, as one side of the room was a whole wall of closets and drawers. The bathroom, while teeny, tiny, had been stocked with everything anyone could need, in a very clever manner. I was glad, however, that my husband and I are not large people, because we would have not been able to fit into it. We paid over $350.00 per night for the room, so that the size of the room and bathroom were a disappointment. The other disappointment was that the room did not have a mini-bar or tea/coffee making facility. For the price paid, I think that these amenities should be offered.

The staff were all very nice and efficient. The breakfasts, served at our table were delicious. The location was extremely nice and interesting. The metro is a short walk away and has escalators that make it easy to transport luggage. Although we did not take advantage of the shops and restaurants in the area that is accessed if you turn right out of the hotel, they looked very appealing. The walk to the Marienplatz took about 10 minutes. You turn left out of the hotel and then take the first right. Within a couple of minutes, you are on what I call the Rodeo Drive of Munich, with all of the luxury shopping one could ask for.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Berkeleytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Vary quiet location, far from the madding crowd ! Directly adjacent to Lehel Station for the tube.
Gorgeous Church and little cafés and restaurants in the same little street.
Breakfast was delightful 10/10 !!!
Can not recommend this hotel highly enough .... Superb value for money.
Got a bottle of sparkling wine in the room at a very reasonable price and it was very good.
Will DEFINITELY be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

From the start arriving at the front door, which are electronic. It gives you some idea of how quirky this hotel is.
Our room wasn't ready so we left our luggage and went to explore the city, which is an easy 10 minute walk.
Upon our return we were shown to our room, which was on the 4th floor, at first, it looked ok but once we started to unpack things weren't what had been described on the web site.
We had booked a deluxe room because we wanted to be able to relax after a long day walking the streets of Munich, the room was compact and had a balcony which had been adapted and enclosed by glass, although it was well done you couldn't sit out there because it was so cold.
It would have been better to have booked the standard room.
The breakfast was good and you get a choice of how you like your eggs.
The staff were all very helpful and can point you in the direction of all the sights.
Would I stay here again? Sadly the answer is no.

Room Tip: Think twice about booking a deluxe room, the ones on the top floor are smaller than the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

A little gem of a hotel. Wonderful breakfast and very good beds. Great atmosphere! Walking distance to the rauthaus, but still quiet and in a charming area. Affordable and the staff is excellent! Can eat outdoors in the summer.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollamarie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I liked this place.
I'm not a great fan of hotels as most of the places I've stayed in are business related and close to airports.
Hotel Opera is I guess a boutique hotel. It's styling is very classical, and the (plentiful) staff present themselves immaculately.
It's close enough to walk to the centre, and far enough away to be in very quiet area.
No restaurant, but there are some good ones on the doorstep.
Sure, you won't get the pool, gym and room service of a big chain. And you probably won't bump into the CEO of BMW in the bar in the evening. But if you're on a romantic weekend, book it.
Taxi to the airport - 60 euro / 35 mins.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
#57 of 382 in Munich
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#161 of 382 in Munich
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adria Munchen
Hotel Adria Munchen
#120 of 382 in Munich
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#104 of 382 in Munich
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 382 in Munich
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Property: Hotel Opera
Address: St.-Anna-Str. 10, 80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#53 Business Hotel in Munich
#70 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet part of central Munich, this charming hotel offers a pretty courtyard and elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi. Marienplatz Square is just a 10-minute walk away. The 4-star Hotel Opera provides classically furnished rooms decorated with antiques. Your bathroom features bathrobes, slippers and toiletries. Some rooms have a balcony facing the courtyard. Breakfast is served in the Opera's luxurious dining room or on the peaceful grounds. In the evenings, Restaurant Gandl offers Italian, French and regional dishes. Guests can enjoy drinks in the bright conservatory. Lehel Metro Station is just 650 ft from the Hotel Opera. Trains run to Munich Central Station in 5 minutes. Hofbrauhaus Beer Hall is a 10-minute walk away. Altstadt - Lehel is a great choice for travelers interested in Opera, Shopping, People Watching and Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing