We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, basic hotel in a great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel an der Oper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel an der Oper
Ranked #181 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, basic hotel in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Nothing outstanding about the hotel which isn't an insult. Clean rooms, standard German breakfast and a friendly staff. The location, however, is great. 2 minute walk from HB and Augustiner. If you want peace and quite, this may not be the best option, especially on a Friday or Saturday night during warm months. I had no choice but to leave the windows open which let all the partying noise in.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JoeProst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    64
    53
    18
    6
See reviews for
35
51
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
athens
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have stayed in the new building exactly opposite of the old and we had two very comfortable rooms, clean of sufficient size and excellently located (50 meters from Maximilian strasse. Breakfast is adequate ( I can't understand why they had to charge 2.5 euros extra in case you order a fresh orange juice). Overall very good value for money and will visit again.

Room Tip: Room 69 was bigger than room 71
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lefthil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I had a sudden 5 day training trip and this was the only hotel which had a room available on such short notice on booking.com. So I didn't read any of the reviews. I didn't know what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised.

My room was a superior double (it was the only room available at the time). It was huge and extremely clean. In fact, it looked brand new. There is a small TV with a couple of english stations. The TV is weirdly located on the left side of the bed (and not in front). There is a cupboard, which when you open, the lights come on automatically. There are two robes and room slippers. There is a safe in the cupboard large enough to fit two laptops. The minibar has variety of alcohol but no snacks. There are heaters in the room as well as the bathroom. So the bathroom towels were so warm. Everytime, they did my room, they kept a couple of chocolates on the pillow.

The location is just brilliant !! Walking distance to English Garden, Marienplatz, Hofbräuhaus, St. Peter's church and Asam's church. There are loads of restaurants / shops just 5 minutes away. But the best part is that hotel is 5 minutes away from the main square and not in the main square so it is peaceful.

There is no wifi (in the room) or breakfast included in the room charge. So you have to pay for those separately. The breakfast comprised of mainly cold foods but they did prepare scambled egg upon request for no additional charge. I personally found the breakfast to be too expensive (10 euros for breads and cereal !!!). There seems to be just one restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There didn't seem to be room dining options. I could be wrong but I didn't notice an in-room menu.

The hotel staff were very friendly. Check-in and check-out was extremely quick and smooth. Printing was free. They gave me an adapter and iron / ironing board for free. Even called a lady cab driver to drop me to the airport when I was leaving. Being a single female travelling solo, this was a nice gesture from the hotel's side.

If ever, I am back in Munich, I will certainly stay here again (but maybe not opt for the expensive breakfast).

Room Tip: Stayed in superior room #77 on the 3rd floor. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrea_cornel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The location of the hotel is very close to the main center of Munich; for this reason I had only 2 minutes of walking distance to the fancy shopping center and fascinating museums. I liked the inner design of the room with good colour combination and quality of material. The staff was very polite and gentle; served good food at breakfast. I liked the quiet and peaceful environment of the hotel where I had a good sleep.

Room Tip: Select a big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
263 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

The location of the hotel was perfect for my needs and price range. The cost was fair for location and quality and I would recommend this to anyone who wants to be in walking distance of the most interesting parts of Munich. The room was great size and extremely clean. There was an excellent choice of cold food for breakfast, although hot food was not on offer except for boiled eggs. The reception area was very small and cramped, especially when luggage was stored there.
No free wifi, breakfast not included

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsmouth Ne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Last August 5th, I posted a review describing the excellent service I had recieved from the "Hotel an der Oper" while making reservations. As it turned out I was actually corresponding with the "Opera Hotel". I didn't realize my mistake untill I arrived at the "Hotel an der Oper" and they didn't have reservations for me. Though the praise in my post was meant for another hotel, it certainly was not inappropriate for "Hotel an der Oper; though they were rather busy at the time, they were very patient and helpful, even giving me a map and marking the location of the "Opera Hotel" for me. They are both fine hotels; the difference is that "Hotel an der Oper" is a modern building and a block and a half from the opera house, and the "Opera Hotel" is an elegant 19th century building about six blocks from the opera house. You can't go wrong with either one. Meiner Meinung nach.

Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank JosephPlattsmouthNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Dont get me wrong on this reveiw. This hotel is great for location, very clean, and food served is very good. We just hit Oktoberfest season and all prices are X3. Is this fair, well what in this world is still fair LOL.
Prices should not tripple for an event, but guess what we paid for it.
The trick for better pricing is book during the week for Oktoberfest not the weekends.
Enjoy we did :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Falkenturm
Hotel Falkenturm
#303 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#107 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#188 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper

Property: Hotel an der Oper
Address: Falkenturmstr. 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Munich
#80 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel an der Oper 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel surrounded by historical monuments, the splendor of renowned boulevards and crisscrossed by narrow streets, tucked away and protected from noisy streets in central Munich. Enjoy most central location, beautiful facilities, close proximity to the Bavarian State Opera and the Marienplatz. With fine, Italian cuisine, we welcome you in our Osteria Il Tenore. Munich enjoys a well-deserved reputation for its hospitality and we're glad to be a part of that ongoing tradition. It is our sincere wish to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel an der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Der Oper Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing