We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the middle of everything!”
Review of Hotel an der Oper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel an der Oper
Ranked #164 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This was a great hotel to start a trip in! its very small but has a tons of cool character! Its very close to the hofbrauhaus and everything else you could think of! The staff was outstanding and the rooms were clean and well ventilated! it was insane expensive just because of Oktoberfest but that makes sense.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Hotel an der Oper
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel is at a very good location and in a quiet street, so a very good combination. The rooms are clean and nicely done, unfortunately the shower door was broken, so a bit tricky to open and close. Service was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel.
Centrally located but the hotel is looking tired and it feels cramped. My room was large but had only one small window and no air conditioning. The bathroom was also very small and you almost had to jump over the toilets to reach the bathtub.
Because of high season I paid more than 250€ a night and it is definitevely not worth it, even if hotels are expensive in Munchen.
It was not an awful experience but I would certainly not come back here for the price I paid.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank slecombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed in a single room in An der Oper for one night, and cannot recommend the location well enough. It is about a 7-8 minutes walk from the Marienplatz (if you are tugging along a bag, its 10-12), and is just a whiff away from the Brauhaus and the Opera. The main shopping street -Maximillianstrasse is just two steps away.
The room however was tiny - although I always get surprised at how small some single rooms in Germany can be - this one seemed esp small. The desk looked out to a sky-ward window - which was disappointing since i would have really liked to get a view of the beautiful city. The service was friendly, but despite its buzzy surroundings, the street in which the hotel was looked especially quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadhuriAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Nothing outstanding about the hotel which isn't an insult. Clean rooms, standard German breakfast and a friendly staff. The location, however, is great. 2 minute walk from HB and Augustiner. If you want peace and quite, this may not be the best option, especially on a Friday or Saturday night during warm months. I had no choice but to leave the windows open which let all the partying noise in.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank JoeProst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have stayed in the new building exactly opposite of the old and we had two very comfortable rooms, clean of sufficient size and excellently located (50 meters from Maximilian strasse. Breakfast is adequate ( I can't understand why they had to charge 2.5 euros extra in case you order a fresh orange juice). Overall very good value for money and will visit again.

Room Tip: Room 69 was bigger than room 71
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lefthil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I had a sudden 5 day training trip and this was the only hotel which had a room available on such short notice on booking.com. So I didn't read any of the reviews. I didn't know what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised.

My room was a superior double (it was the only room available at the time). It was huge and extremely clean. In fact, it looked brand new. There is a small TV with a couple of english stations. The TV is weirdly located on the left side of the bed (and not in front). There is a cupboard, which when you open, the lights come on automatically. There are two robes and room slippers. There is a safe in the cupboard large enough to fit two laptops. The minibar has variety of alcohol but no snacks. There are heaters in the room as well as the bathroom. So the bathroom towels were so warm. Everytime, they did my room, they kept a couple of chocolates on the pillow.

The location is just brilliant !! Walking distance to English Garden, Marienplatz, Hofbräuhaus, St. Peter's church and Asam's church. There are loads of restaurants / shops just 5 minutes away. But the best part is that hotel is 5 minutes away from the main square and not in the main square so it is peaceful.

There is no wifi (in the room) or breakfast included in the room charge. So you have to pay for those separately. The breakfast comprised of mainly cold foods but they did prepare scambled egg upon request for no additional charge. I personally found the breakfast to be too expensive (10 euros for breads and cereal !!!). There seems to be just one restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There didn't seem to be room dining options. I could be wrong but I didn't notice an in-room menu.

The hotel staff were very friendly. Check-in and check-out was extremely quick and smooth. Printing was free. They gave me an adapter and iron / ironing board for free. Even called a lady cab driver to drop me to the airport when I was leaving. Being a single female travelling solo, this was a nice gesture from the hotel's side.

If ever, I am back in Munich, I will certainly stay here again (but maybe not opt for the expensive breakfast).

Room Tip: Stayed in superior room #77 on the 3rd floor. It was perfect.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrea_cornel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#118 of 385 in Munich
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper

Address: Falkenturmstr. 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Munich
#77 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £157 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel an der Oper 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel surrounded by historical monuments, the splendor of renowned boulevards and crisscrossed by narrow streets, tucked away and protected from noisy streets in central Munich. Enjoy most central location, beautiful facilities, close proximity to the Bavarian State Opera and the Marienplatz. With fine, Italian cuisine, we welcome you in our Osteria Il Tenore. Munich enjoys a well-deserved reputation for its hospitality and we're glad to be a part of that ongoing tradition. It is our sincere wish to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, MyHotelShop, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel an der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Der Oper Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing