We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel an der Oper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel an der Oper
Ranked #159 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms. I had a suite with a sunny and spacious bathroom - a wonderful place to come back to after hiking all over Munich from this central location. I am a fast sleeper, so the noise, almost inevitable in a downtown location, did not faze me, especially given the double windows. Service was quick, even though I stayed in the Annex across the street from the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zig11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Although this little gem has a convenient location in the old part of Munich it is still quiet (especially if you ask for room in the back). One block away is the famed Maximillian Strasse with the elegant shops of the world. In the other direction is the hustle of beer halls, the Marienplatz and the U-Bahn (the underground). I have been staying there for years. But don't expect a large lobby--there is none. Or the amenities of a large urban hotel. This one is older and small, with free WIFi. The breakfasts are terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Theatertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

for this hotel it is about 3 things, location, position, and situation. this hotel is great because in muechen one would almost never spent much time in the hotel unless is too drunk to keep dranking too much beer. The hotel is only a two minute walk to the hofbrau and a three minute walk to what i believe to be the best beer pub in muechen, Schneider Weisses brauhaus. however, at night, there are often drunks walking around the area of the hotel and the windows are not very soundproof

Room Tip: the rooms ard the noise are a bit lacking, but who gives a damn when one is gonna spent all their ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SadisticPlatypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location! Walking distance to most sites, markets, great resturants etc... The hotel itself is clean, rooms have air conditioning but are on the small side and hotel is a little dated. Breakfast is lovely with plenty of choice. You do get noise at night but it's a city centre location so you expect some level of noise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riz188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

The rooms at Hotel an der Oper are functional and clean, the location is good for the Hoffbrauhaus, but otherwise there is not much to commend it.

The price seemed a little steep for what you get at GBP250 for one night mid-week.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolloMcFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

The location is great- within stumbling distance to the Hofbrauhaus and an easy walk to the Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt but.. the decor is terribly dated, the beds and pillows are less than comfortable, staff was so-so, and the price was high. No free wifi and breakfast not included. Not a great value- certain there must be better values out there.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zaichek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Fram reservation to check out our experiance was excellent
Very helpfull staff , Clean rooms ,Excellent Breakfast No need to mention the location
I m having difficulties to add further nice points I would highly reccomend to any one and surely i ll stay there during my next visit

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALCK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 388 in Munich
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 388 in Munich
1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 388 in Munich
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper

Address: Falkenturmstr. 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#76 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £146 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel an der Oper 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel surrounded by historical monuments, the splendor of renowned boulevards and crisscrossed by narrow streets, tucked away and protected from noisy streets in central Munich. Enjoy most central location, beautiful facilities, close proximity to the Bavarian State Opera and the Marienplatz. With fine, Italian cuisine, we welcome you in our Osteria Il Tenore. Munich enjoys a well-deserved reputation for its hospitality and we're glad to be a part of that ongoing tradition. It is our sincere wish to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel an der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Der Oper Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing