We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Misrepresentation - "Vampire Hostel"”
Review of Hotel an der Oper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel an der Oper
Ranked #163 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Complete Misrepresentation - "Vampire Hostel"”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I liberated one of the "hotel" brochures to show you how this hotel is marketed in their own words - a complete misrepresentation. Whatever the angle the photographer used, don't expect the actual room to look like this - especially at night. Read on:

Upon arriving, one of our business traveller team exclaimed "Who booked the hostel?" and a "hostel" is really what this is like. It's not luxury or even a nice hotel, not even in a marketer's wildest dreams. It's proximity to the Opera is admirable but the love affair ends there.

Small, cramped rooms and actual glass (not shower glass) fitted bathrooms make this a creepy and dangerous place. There is little space between the children's/dormitory size beds and the walls.

It is dark at night. Check out my scanned in brochure photo that has light streaming through the window and notice the ridiculous wall sconces and chandeliers over the beds. At night, the room is dark and the creepy and the low lit light fixtures found us bumbling around in the dark, trying to find things in our bags, bumping our legs and ankles on the dorm style beds, generally unable to see. We wished we'd brought a flashlight.

The staff was surly and unreachable - the front desk was unmanned for hours at a time. Thin doors and home style locks and keys make this a dangerous hotel from a security perspective. Several of our team (grown men and one woman, most with a lot of travel experience in iffy hotels in Asia) were too creeped out to sleep during the night, even after a few cocktails outside the hotel.

Unfortunately, I didn't photo the hotel during the day hours (too dark and creepy during the night with the low, sconce lighting) so that I could show you the vast difference between marketing and reality. We were in too big of a hurry to get out of this place. I can only describe it best using the words "Vampire Hostel".

We visited this hotel and occupied 5 rooms in January of 2014 in a group of business travelers, ages 44 to 60.

Don't fall for the hype and book this hotel. Keep clear for your health and safety.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    71
    57
    18
    6
See reviews for
38
53
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I booked a 9 night stay at the Hotel An Der Oper in Munich. When I arrived the hotel staff were expecting me and the room was ready. This was nice because I arrived prior to the typical check in time. The room appeared to have been recently remodeled and was nicely appointed. The main plus for me in the room was that it had good water pressure. Breakfast was available each morning, which I used about half the time. The location of the hotel was nice since it was in a quick walking distance to Marienplatz, Hofbräuhaus, etc. One additional note is that there are quite a few bells that ring each hour in Marienplatz. The hotel is close, but far enough away to not hear the bells when at the hotel. This was a nice stay for me and I can recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_46038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We liked very much the position of the hotel!

The hotel is nice and quiet and very clean.

We had a big room with an very nice bathroom, free WiFi and a very big closed.
The stuff was nice, it was a little expensive but it was the same price allaround

I would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mihaelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very nice hotel in the 'old town' area of Munich. Close to everything!
Nice restaurant attached as well.
Rooms were clean and big.

The lift was small though.
Ask for a room in the rear as they are less noisy and larger.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the hotel. They are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cva42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I found this hotel when looking for a centrally located place to stay in Munich and it fit the bill perfectly. Maybe 100 meters from the Hofbrauhaus and five minute walk to the Marienplatz the Hotel an der Oper was a perfect fit for me. The room was much larger than expected with near-North American size and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Although the location is excellent, the hotel is poor. They do not offer mini bar fridge at the room, which are very small. The internet connection has a bad access system through passwords, which make us to be disconnected all the time. The towels are very small. The receptionists are not friendly. They charge 13 euros for breakfast. The beds are not so comfortable. So, good hotel for just one night. This hotel would annoy me more than one night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nivea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I had to travel to Munich for a convention, and all the hotels had booked up extremely quickly. To get the budget down on our travel, a co-worker and I decided to share a room and we booked in this hotel, which was one of the few that still had rooms available during that timeframe.

It doesn't look like much from the street, but our room was clean and, while a bit tight, well laid out. We had a sitting room and a bedroom with two twin beds (definitely no double queens here), and it was comfortable.

The price was a bit steep for what I would normally consider. One thing that got us was that we thought breakfast was included, so we ate at the hotel every morning. While it was very tasty, it turned out that breakfast was not included, and we had been charged every day we ate, which we didn't realize since they never had us sign a bill after our breakfast. And.. for the price we paid, it wasn't totally worth it.

The location is great - right by Marienplatz and public transport, and just steps from the English Gardens, an amazing park with miles of trails.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#104 of 382 in Munich
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,990 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 382 in Munich
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper

Property: Hotel an der Oper
Address: Falkenturmstr. 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Munich
#77 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel an der Oper 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel surrounded by historical monuments, the splendor of renowned boulevards and crisscrossed by narrow streets, tucked away and protected from noisy streets in central Munich. Enjoy most central location, beautiful facilities, close proximity to the Bavarian State Opera and the Marienplatz. With fine, Italian cuisine, we welcome you in our Osteria Il Tenore. Munich enjoys a well-deserved reputation for its hospitality and we're glad to be a part of that ongoing tradition. It is our sincere wish to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel an der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Der Oper Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing