We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”
Review of Hotel an der Oper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel an der Oper
Ranked #169 of 390 Hotels in Munich
A TripAdvisor Member
312
Reviewed 12 July 2006

My family of four stayed in two rooms at the An der Oper during the World Cup 2006. I was hesitant at staying after reading the previous reviews, but rooms in the city center were very scarce for that time and hugely expensive. We are so glad that we stayed. I think the hotel underwent a renovation in the past year and there is a new annex across the street from the main hotel. We stayed in 2 rooms in the new annex. They were lovely, well appointed and spacious. All the furnishings were new, the beds and linens were very nice and the bathrooms were absolutely wonderful. We felt so lucky! The best thing though was the location. It is so close to Marienplatz, the Opera, the English Garden, Maximillian Strasse, everything! We walked everywhere and had a fantastic time. The people were very friendly. There definitely is street noise but I think you can get rooms on the courtyard side. I would recommend asking for the rooms in the new annex, as I have not seen any of the rooms in the main hotel. We were delighted with our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 222 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, California
212
Reviewed 8 February 2005

We stayed at the hotel in October 2004. Our first problem with the hotel was findings its location. We had emailed the hotel a couple of times and received very criptic directions to the hotel. If you have ever driven in Munich, Germany, you know how difficult it is to find an address. Once we did find the hotel (in a remote location on a side street) we were shocked that the hotel did not provide more helpful assistance. We were further discouraged to find that the hotel would not honor the price quoted to us through an internet reservation confirmation. The hotel informed us that the price was for single occupancy (eventhough we had asked for reservations for 4 persons--2 persons in each room). Finally, the staff at the hotel was cold and uninterested in assisting foreign visitors. We stayed in wonderful hotels and inns throughout Germany that provided beautiful accommodations. This was the only disappointment.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2005

I booked to stay here a week during October, 2004. A SINGLE ROOM cost me 130EUR per night. I was looking forward to my stay as the Trip Advisor reviews were good and the website pics gave the impression of a tasteful hotel. It was the most expensive hotel I stayed in on a five week trip of Europe and the most disappointing. My room was so small - consisting of very basic, scratch and well-worn furniture and nothing matched. So basic, the bathroom shower did not even have a curtain or screen! Which meant you nearly slipped every time you got out of the bath on the soaked floor. The staff were not at all helpful. The restaurant was expensive and food bland compared to restaurants in the vicinity. I will agree it was in a very central location but don't let the nice foyer fool you!

4  Thank holidayreadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2004

We stayed here for two nights and thought the location was terrific. You are in shopping heaven and right around the corner from the Hofbrauhaus. The staff is to-the-point, the rooms are basic and clean, but the main street is NOISY. My only recommendation would be to request a room opposite of the street and to bring a pair of earplugs!

7  Thank DomesticallyDisabled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, CA
16
Reviewed 28 May 2004

We happened upon the Inn An Der Oper about a year ago and it was exactly what we'd hoped for! Small lobby but charming in a German sort of way. It looked like it belonged there and we could come and go as we pleased - almost as if we lived there. Rooms VERY clean and functional but with some charm.
The best part perhaps is the location - it's directly across from the Opera Hall and about a 6 minute walk to Marienplatz - near the activity but quiet.
I'd stay there again in a minute.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank anneliealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Maria Rosaria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 390 in Munich
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#137 of 390 in Munich
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#8 of 390 in Munich
1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper

Address: Falkenturmstr. 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
#79 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £134 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel an der Oper 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel surrounded by historical monuments, the splendor of renowned boulevards and crisscrossed by narrow streets, tucked away and protected from noisy streets in central Munich. Enjoy most central location, beautiful facilities, close proximity to the Bavarian State Opera and the Marienplatz. With fine, Italian cuisine, we welcome you in our Osteria Il Tenore. Munich enjoys a well-deserved reputation for its hospitality and we're glad to be a part of that ongoing tradition. It is our sincere wish to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, MyHotelShop, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel an der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Der Oper Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing