We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfort with class”
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #18 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Connellsville, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet comfort with class”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Once again the Hotel Uhland did not disappoint. We stayed there 3 years ago and returned due to the excellent facilities and especially the staff. Bridgette is a lovely hostess, speaks perfect English and is eager to help in every way possible. Our room was small, as was the bath, but perfectly clean and adequate. The quiet neighborhood is within a 5 minute walk of the underground and Oktoberfest grounds. Would We stay there again? We already have and hope we can return in the near future. Well done Brigette.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLKConnellsville_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    261
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
236
356
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We visited in December, but I would imagine this hotel can't be beat for Oktoberfest location. We walked here from the Hauptbahnhof and while I was a little concerned by the neighborhood as we walked along, the hotel is actually on a nice quiet street. Everyone was very friendly and the room was comfortable and spacious. This was the 6th (and final) stop on our France/Germany tour and Uhland had the biggest shower of any place we stayed. Wifi was good, and the metro stop is a short walk which was welcome since it was so cold out. Agree with ColoradoHighlander that their website is odd, but they were very responsive via email. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
677 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I lived here during the fall of 1983, one of the eight years during which the hotel hosted students from The University of Wisconsin Stevens Point who were studying abroad. Imagine our excitement as we returned to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We loved it 30 years ago and loved it again now.
Rick Steves likes this hotel and so do we. First of all, it sits in a very elegant neighborhood with easy access to the U Bahn at the Octoberfest Grounds. It is close to St. Pauls and not far from the main train station.
Rooms are cozy and the staff is very friendly. We had a nice bottle of Champagne in our room as a welcome gift. Breakfast is included and the dining room was cozy. Nice selection of meats and cheeses made for a great start to each day. The hotel has been updated in the last 30 years but has not lost any of its charm. For price, quality, and location, this place is hard to beat!

Room Tip: There is an elevator so any floor is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The location is good and a bit tricky to find the first time. It is close to the main train station but far enough away to avoid the seedy areas that surrounds the station. The property is an easy walk to the main sights and a U-bahn station is close by. The single rooms are tight and the Breakfast is average.

For Oktoberfest, I doubt that the location can be beat!! As with all of Munich the prices during Oktoberfest are expensive. My one complaint is the requirement to send via FED/EX full payment (Bank Draft) in advance for your stay during Oktoberfest. Their refusal to accept an advance non-refundable payment with a credit card unnecessarily added a 65 Euro expense to courier my payment.

I don't quite get their insistence that you must leave your room key with the Front Desk Attendant when you leave the property. Not a big deal as the desk is manned 24 hours a day. They must have their reasons???

Did I enjoy my stay? Yes. Would I recommend the Hotel? Yes. Would I stay there again? I doubt it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prairietraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in October 2013. Very friendly staff, good location, and affordable prices for Munich. The hotel is close to the Theresienwiese where the Oktoberfest is held, and a convenient U-bahn station is located. The rooms are clean and come with free breakfast and wifi. Their website is a little odd, so just e-mail them for availability. As others have noted, the hotel is a little bit away from the city center, but with the local public transport I was able to go anywhere I wanted with ease. I would highly recommend this hotel for travelers who enjoy something more cozy than a business style hotel, but something with more amenities and privacy than a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudela
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel is excellent! We stayed for 4 days there and were absolutely happy with everything! The room was very spacious, warm, the beds are extremely comfortable. The treatment at the reception is wonderful, they would explain you with lots of patience everything you needed to know. The breakfasts were delicious. What I loved most is that, apart from lots of variety, they had a BIO corner with different organic food. The hotel had lots of small details for their clients, like putting typical sweets during the tea time, and having the free machine for warm drinks 24 hours. The location is also great, no noise on the streets, close to everything, we went walking to places even though we had a 3.5 year old child : ) I would absolutely recommend the hotel and would sure come back there!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saneyevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
706 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We spent a night in room # 11 last week. It's small but we knew that as we've stayed in that room before and really spent very little time at the hotel other than sleeping. The bathroom is small -- beware of that. The room had an old (small) CRT old-style TV which was a bit surprising since I've read that some of the rooms have been recently renovated. Other than those two things we had no complaints about the room. Breakfast was great as usual although the coffee is kinda weak.

All hotel staff we met were as always charming and pleasant.

While Uhland is a bit far from the centrum of Munich with bikes (which we brought) get you into town quickly. Free parking and the lack of hustle and bustle of the surrounding neighborhood make this hotel our go-to place for Munich.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 382 in Munich
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 382 in Munich
509 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 382 in Munich
2,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 382 in Munich
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Property: Hotel Uhland
Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#10 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing