We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #19 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

stayed here for a week in April, very clean, friendly staff and close to everything. We would stay here in the future and recommend it highly. great neighborhood and easy walk to just about anything. 10 minute walk from the bahnhof. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    260
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
234
353
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I spent just one evening here in early May, and we were very pleased with the accommodation. I suppose this is a boutique hotel, but it offered all the accoutrements we needed. It is located on a beautiful side-street just 5 to 10 min walk from the train station. The Frau who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful in our planning a day's activities in nearby Marienplatz. Great breakfast as well. Would definitely do again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights at Hotel Uhland, modern rooms within a historical setting, Forty-five minute taxi ride from the airport worth all 65 euros; door to door service and did not have to worry about luggage on the train/bus or walking from the train/bus station.

We liked the European bedding (comforter/duvet rather than sheets and blankets although available upon request). No coffee allowed in the rooms but always provided in the guest business center. Small refrigerator in room.

Family owned and operated. The front desk staff were knowledgeable about the local area and had great recommendations for dinner (Lenz) and beer gardens. They all spoke English (and other languages) and were very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was served buffet style and had a wide variety of choices including soft boiled eggs, local meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, juices, buns of all kinds, toast and bagels. Yum.

Easy access to bus line and train. We walked to Karlsplatz / Stachus Square to take a fabulous tour of Munich on Segways and then relaxed in the square with a very nice beer and people watched. All close to the hotel. Just a block from where Octoberfest takes place in September. Just missed the Spring celebration at the fairgrounds.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cliffandeileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We've been staying at the Hotel Uhland for years, and with good reason ---- spotless, well-equipped, large rooms; lovely neighborhood; fantastic breakfast; and most of all, excellent hospitality by each staff member. As soon as we arrive, it's like coming home. Thank you for being such great hosts!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regattagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Uhland for 3 nights. The location was perfect - very close to the Oktoberfest grounds (5 minute walk) and the bus stop. It is a long walk from the train station. However, it is very easy to hop onto Bus 58 (at the train station) which drops you off very close to the hotel. The service was excellent. They graciously answered all of our questions about tourist attractions and how to get to different places. We stayed in the large double room, which was huge and full of charm. I absolutely loved it! The rest of our group stayed in single rooms on the top floor which were also very comfortable. The breakfasts were very good with lots of variety. In order to reserve the room, I had to email them directly. It could not be done online. However, they were always very prompt in replying to my emails. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Uhland in Munich because of a good review in Rich Steve's book--we were not disappointed.
Bridgette and her staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and well equipped. The breakfasts were delicious and the service was excellent. We felt very safe and comfortable.
We hope we will one day return to the Hotel Uhland!
Ann Ulibarri
California

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is the second time I stayed in this small hotel in Munich.
It is in a good location-walking distance from the train station and very near a U-Bahn entrance. The walk from the train station went through some dingy areas of the city but the hotel itself is on a pretty street near a park. The reception was warn and the owners and workers showed an exceptionally high level of hospitality throughout my stay. They provided excellent directions and suggestions for things to do.
My room was small but spotless. Since the hotel is relatively inexpensive some travelers might want to pay a bit more for the larger rooms.
The internet was free and worked well. There was a great breakfast included in the room rate.
One service I particularly appreciated was their willingness to let me book a room that I could use early in the morning after paying a few that was around half the room rate. This is great when you are arriving from the US on an early morning flight

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dr._Bob_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
830 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 383 in Munich
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#8 of 383 in Munich
916 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 383 in Munich
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Property: Hotel Uhland
Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#11 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing