We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will return”
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #29 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I first learned about Hotel Uhland from Rick Steves. More recently from Tripadvisor. After my two day stay, I will be back. Easy walk to the undeground, clean, great hot breakfast, quiet street, friendly helpful staff, free parking, inexpensive, remodeled recently.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank graeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is our second time to stay at the Hotel Uhland, and it certainly won't be our last. Yet again the wonderful staff made our brief stay a most pleasurable experience with lots of suggestions on things to do on our weekend. The room had recently been renovated and was extremely comfortable. The breakfast is fresh and plentiful. You are right beside the U bahn or a short walk to central station. All in all another great trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank revgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here in early May on our first trip to Germany. We were very pleased with the location of the hotel because it was an easy walk to the train station, to the old section of Munich, and to restaurants. We stayed in Room 1, which was the only room available, and was next to the lobby area and on the front of the hotel. We were afraid it was going to be noisy, but it wasn't. The room was extremely clean. The breakfasts were good, and the desk staff, who all spoke excellent English, was helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions. We would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NHNMIATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed a week at the Hotel Uhland. The staff is very friendly. We were in room 29; had a lot of room. They do not provide wash cloths; had the same issue in another state in Germany so I guess they just don't use wash cloths. The lighting in the rooms is not made for applying make-up. No Kleenex, no alarm clock/radio. This is the only hotel I have ever stayed in that does not have automatically locking doors. We stayed there 3 days before the staff informed us that our door was never locked when the maid came to clean. It is very close to the U bahn, not so close in walking distance to the train or Marienplatz. The neighborhood is great. Our room faced some business that did some loading or unloading of something late at night but they were usually done by 11 p.m. Carpets and furniture were worn and need of cleaning and the mattress has seen better days. The pillow was pretty useless; they could spend a little money fixing it up. The bathroom was newly remodeled but again the lighting was terrible. The shower door didn't close right so the water leaked on the floor. No AC and although we didn't need it I honestly don't know how anyone could sleep at night if it got much over 80. Ceiling fans would be helpful; the room smelled odd when we arrived but aired out once we opened the windows. IT wasn't a bad hotel but it was for the most part quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel Uhland is a gem located on a quiet, tree- lined street. It is within walking distance to the train station as well as the city center. Our room was spacious, clean and the beds were very comfortable. It even had a small balcony. The staff is very welcoming, friendly, helpful and accommodating. There is a lot to chose from for breakfast. I would stay here again. This hotel is a treasure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We loved our too-brief stay at Hotel Uhland. It is convenient to the train station, yet situated in a quiet, leafy residential neighborhood. Our lovely and spacious room - #35 on the top floor - had windows on two sides, bringing in fresh breezes and bird songs. The friendly staff allowed us to enter our room early, and stay late. The breakfast was pleasant, and the coffee choices generous, along with papers in English and German. The other couples we met at breakfast had been coming for years. We would love to come back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jaywvogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as our base while touring Munich. The location was perfect. It is an easy walk to the city center. Free parking at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you are planning ahead and wish to go to the Oktoberfest, this would be the perfect stay. It is 1 block form the grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleROhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabell
Hotel Mirabell
#15 of 385 in Munich
822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
0.4 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#97 of 385 in Munich
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#27 of 385 in Munich
893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#152 of 385 in Munich
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
#18 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £67 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing