We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My next trip to Munich, I'll definitely stay at Hotel Uhland!”
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #22 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My next trip to Munich, I'll definitely stay at Hotel Uhland!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This place just oozes charm. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would definitely return.

First, the service here was very, very good. Prompt and helpful correspondence in booking the room. Upon check-in, was greeted by a friendly desk clerk (excellent English) with explanations about the hotel, amenities and my room. The breakfast service was also very good. Though few of the kitchen staff speaks English, I was still able to get my gluten-free and dairy-free breakfast with a smile!

The room was clean and comfortable and was larger than most European hotel rooms. I was on the first floor facing the street and had no trouble with noise nor did I feel unsafe leaving my window open at night. But I was near the dining room so I did get some noise from inside the hotel in the mornings, which was not a problem for me. I loved that both of my windows opened up to flower boxes full of color.

The location is terrific. It felt safe with a lot of residential property nearby. It took me about a 20 minute easy walk to reach the Marienplatz. In the opposite direction, the hotel is close to the park where Octoberfest is held. In the summer, locals use it for walking, running, biking and kite-flying. The hotel location is also an easy walk to the train station (which coincidentally has the closest grocery store I found.)

This hotel is just so quaint and charming and with the friendly staff, how could anyone help but love it?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    260
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
234
352
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Situated on a relatively quiet street just outside of the old city. Subway stop is a 5-7 minute walk and then a short subway trip to the center of old Munich. Total 15 minutes. Walking to Marienplatz is a 25 minute haul.

Hotel is quaint and comfortable. Staff is excellent. Breakfast is very good. Overall you won't go wrong staying here if the location suits you. For Oktoberfest it would be ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowballcookie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weatherford, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

8 of us stayed 4 nights at Hotel Uhland from July 23-July 26th. 2014. We enjoyed the hospitality and the location for our stay. This was a time zone adjustment for us before we began our river cruise. Our rooms were European style and the included breakfast was also European. Hard boiled eggs, soft boiled eggs and the usual lunch meat, cheeses, jams, breads, cereal and juices. The metro is nearby and taxis can be summoned by the desk clerk. Our every question was promptly answered in a friendly manner. The hotel is 2 or 3 blocks from the site of their Octoberfest which may or may not be a positive thing for you. 6.5 million visitors consume 7.5 million gallons of beer during the celebration, only 1 liter glasses are available.

Room Tip: We wanted a location which worked for us. The rooms were used by us for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant experience. The hotel is about 5-7 mins walk from the Octoberfest venue and about 7-10 mins walk from nearest metro station. About 20-30 mins walk from city center. Very clean and nice. No restaurants or cafes directly near the hotel - seems like this is the only drawback. But the benefitst overweigh. Rather expensive though, but probably ok for such nice service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank In_Chains_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is situated in on a beautiful old residential street about a block from the Theresenwiese where the Oktoberfest is held. Probably noisy during the fest, but very serene the the rest of the year. Easy 10 minute walk from the Ubahn station (U4 or U5) Theresenwiese station. Extremely helpful staff, fantastic breakfast. Elevator.

Room Tip: Our family had three different rooms, happy with all of them. If visiting during the Oktoberfest mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

You were so nice and helpful when we checked in. The triple room was perfect for three adults.
Breakfast was great. Nice residential location, 20 minute walk to the center and near the Octoberfest grounds. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suesullivan4173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was one of our favorite sites due to its rooms, great breakfast, friendliness, & convenient location (a quick 10-15 minute walk from the train station or hop on the bus or it is an easy 5 minute walk to the U-station where we caught the subway anywhere we wanted to go in Munich). The front desk staff were so helpful with directions and suggestions. We had three in our group and had an ample room of two beds pushed together and another single, small balcony where we dried our clothes, wet bar/fridge, spacious and great bathroom, wardrobe and desk. The breakfast was the usual European choices but very nicely displayed; lots of different choices with yogurt and topping bar, meat, cheese, eggs, cereal, many bread choices, fruit, oatmeal, and many beverage choices. The staff who waited on us at breakfast was friendly, prompt and helpful. We loved this place! It was hard to find an affordable lodging choice in Munich that was convenient, family-friendly (or appealing to singles and couples as well), and in a nice location. This fit the bill! I was worried about other reviews who said it was a way from everything but it was perfect and close to train station, subway or bus/tram. Next door to Oktoberfest grounds if that is your interest!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
828 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 383 in Munich
2,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 383 in Munich
907 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Property: Hotel Uhland
Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
#12 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing