We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, a little out of the way”
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #32 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Nice hotel with good size room. Very nice and helpful staff. Breakfast was good. The location was a little out of the way from sites but not too far from train station.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eurtrav09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2009

The hotel is located in a uiet residential area. We stayed in Room no.12 which was a large comfort room with a small balcony. Very comfortable and clean with a lovely shower. Large selection of food for buffet breakfast including cereals, yoghurt, fruit, different types of bread, ham and cheese. Breakfast room was a bit small if lots of guests arrive at similar times.Staff very helpful with regard to transport links and local restaurants. It was easy to travel on the U-bahn to the centre of Munich or it was within walking distance. Overall an excellent stay and reasonably priced for the quality and location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Our family of four stayed here for a total of 5 nights. We were pleased with the height of the ceilings (good ventilation), newness and cleanliness of the bathroom, and the location (good 15 min walk from the train station). We found that bus #58 was useful to get to the main train station if the kids didn't feel like walking. We also used the Theresienwiese train station which is about 1/3 mile away. The laundry service was useful at 12 euros a load. Breakfast was fine. Good coffee in the lobby room. Towels were large and plentiful. The restaurant Lenz around the corner was child-friendly (a chicken version of weinerschnitzel on the kids menu.) All in all, a fine stay. The best part was the bill, believe it or not. No added taxes or other "surprises." Just the quoted 135 euros a night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Uhland. Nicholas greeted us when we arrived late the first night. He was eager to recommend restaurants and tours. He quickly oriented us to the hotel and to the city. We took advantage of the laundry service E12/ load to catch up on our weeks worth of dirty clothes. We simply piled our clothes on the bed, and when we returned they were clean and nicely folded! The staff at the front desk even helped us arrange our trip to Neuschwanstein. There was a convenient bus to the S-Bahn right outside our door, and a 2 block walk to the U-Bahn. With the all day public transportation passes, we didn't have to worry about buying tickets. Overall, a wonderful place to stay in Munich!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbrugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We stayed in Uhland for 1 night and was impressed by its customer service!

Location: 20 mins walk from main station, 20 mins walk to city centre. On a quiet, tree lined street. Good location, sure there are other hotels closer to the station, but we found the area immediately surrounding the station is downright dogy.

Staff: we arrived way before the official check in time, but we were able to check into the room immediately. We found the service in this hotel to be outstanding. No request was too much or too difficult - on the day we left we asked for a wake up call at 5AM and breakfast at 5.30 AM. Everything was done promptly and with a smile! Upon returning to our room after sightseeing, we found a sweet note with complimentary drink wishing us a lifetime of happy marriage (thank you very much Uhland. The drink left unopened because we don't drink alcohol but the gesture alone left us a beautiful memory throughout the journey and beyond). The special treatment we received during our honeymoon added extra sweetness to the journey. On an interesting note, the ladies staff wore traditional bavarian dress which added character to the hotel.

Room: very spacious (especially for Europe), clean, comfortable (we prefer harder pillow but that's a matter of personal perference), double glazed window so no problem with noise (our room faced the street). We like how the window sills are decorated with pots of bright flowers.

Breakfast: good selection of cold meat, cereals, juices, breads, jams

Bonus: computer with internet and hot chocolate/coffee machine on donation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoundDeWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We had a very pleasant stay at the Hotel Uhland. Clean, comfortable rooms, helpful staff and a delicious morning breakfast. We couldn't have asked for a better location within Munich either!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Stayed here one night with my son. Hotel is on a quiet residential street, parking not a problem. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed, beds very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and I loved the free Wi-Fi! All the staff were extremely helpful and kind.
Getting to the main heart of Munich (Hofbrauhaus, City Hall, etc.) is easy, a comfortable 10 minute walk. Will definitely stay here again when visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#100 of 387 in Munich
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#153 of 387 in Munich
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#144 of 387 in Munich
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#29 of 387 in Munich
901 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Prinzregent Munchen
Hotel Prinzregent Munchen
#22 of 387 in Munich
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
#20 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £67 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing