We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”
Review of Pension Westfalia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Westfalia
Ranked #274 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Our family of 4 adults stayed in a family room at the Pension Westfalia for 2 nights in September.
It is a very short walk from the underground station & only 2 stops from the centre of Munich. Peter was extremely helpful & our rooms were comfortable, clean & quiet. The hotel is located on the upper floors of the building & there is a lift. Only problem was that the run off of water from the shower into the bath, drained very slowly, but Peter pointed this out to us beforehand & didn't really worry about. Breakfast was very good.
Peter answered all emails promptly & spoke excellent English.
Earlier this year, my son decided to extend his holiday to include Octoberfest. The Westfalia is directly over the road from the grounds. Peter had a cancellation, so my son was able to return there for 6 more nights for Octoberfest & said it was the best location you could possibly hope for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    35
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
19
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed in Munich for a single night and just wanted a place to crash. We chose this place because it is a private room at the same cost as a youth hostel/ dorm, and I am glad to have chosen PW. The room was quaint and very European. Shared bathroom didn't really feel all public, it was just across our room. Breakfast was good as well. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I had a good stay at this hotel, and it was good value for the money. I unknowingly planned my trip during a major conference, so most hotels in Munich were booked or charging ridiculously high prices. Even with slightly higher-than-normal prices, my room at the Pension Westfalia was inexpensive. The shared bathroom was not a problem. There are two toilets, and there was never anyone using the bath when I wanted to. You get keys to the building and to the room, allowing you to come and go when you want. The breakfast was very convenient and filling. A few minor quibbles that I didn't really mind, but that others might: the bed was a little hard (and the single room has two single beds for some reason), the wifi occasionally didn't work, and the shared bathroom only has a tub with a handheld showerhead. Overall, I would definitely still recommend Pension Westfalia as an excellent budget option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chr15t0ph3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur, malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Pension Westfalia is fantastic and the rates really did save me plenty of money. Its location in Goetheplatz is ideal, not too far away from the city and not too close either, which makes it less "touristy" than the perpetually crowded Marienplatz area. Other than the location, there are also a few more things that made this place such a great stay - Peter's warmth and friendliness, the two bakeries/cafes nearby which served scrumptious cakes and croissants ( I was in these two cafes almost every day for breakfast and tea) and the fact that the building looks old but filled with character. Just a note for people who plan to stay here - bring a torchlight. When you return to the pension at night, the lift area on the first floor will be completely dark. And scary. But even this scary bit made my stay memorable. I heartily recommend this place, especially for solo travelers!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank weeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The Hotel is Great. It is within an old building not too far from the center of Munich. The location is great since it is not too far from the U-Bahn station that will take you downtown. The Hotel is located right at the fairgrounds where the Octoberfest is held, so if you are attending the Octoberfest make sure to reserve a room at this hotel early! The rooms are small but very clean. Peter, the owner, and his family are very nice and prepare a very good breakfast in the morning. I would go back to this Pension in a heartbeat if I was to return to Munich.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BenniHupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Both Peter and Emilia were extremely helpful and kind during our stay. They arranged for a key to be left for us because we arrived after the desk closed and on our last day they let us store our bags and sit in the lobby area until our night train departed.

Our room (two single beds with a sink and couch) was extremely clean and the furniture was comfortable. It was cleaned every day - I believe our sheets and towels were changed twice during our three night stay.

While a bit far away from the center of town (we walked once and it took a little under a half an hour from Marienplatz), the area was beautiful and very quiet. The Pension is conveniently located just a few minutes from a metro station.

The complimentary breakfast was great and there were many options of breads, cereals, juices, etc. In the hallway there was a computer with free internet that could be used at any time.

The only negative is that there was only one shower for all of the rooms with shared bathrooms (not sure how many), so we had to wait a few times in the morning. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay for travelers on a budget. We very much enjoyed it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dec88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Pension Westfalia is a small b&b place, which is quite nice and has its pros and cons:
Pros:
1) The owner Peter is very nice, always friendly and always ready to help with all possible and impossible questions
2)The breakfast was very good, very filling: variety of breads, rolls, cereals, cheeses and cold cuts; yougurt, jams, flax seeds and pumpkin seeds; tea or coffe
3) The room was quite specious by European standards, the beds were comfortable.
4) The room got cleaned every day, towels were changed every other day.
5) The price 72 Euro/night for a double room including breakfast is a rear find.
6) Free internet access in the room
Cons:
1) It's not in the center of Munich, you have to take a metro (2 stations) to get there. It is possible to walk to the center, but it took us about 30 minutes of walking through busy city streets (very uninmpressive walk)
2) The room had no fridge to store our wine/fruit/water, etc. It had no ventilation or air-conditioning either (could be a problem on a hot day/night)
3) Toilet had no ventilation or window
4) The room and the toilet had an unpleasant musty order although both were very clean (probably due to poor air ventilation, although we kept our window open at all times)
5) Right beside us there was construction going (it will continue till September 2011), so we were up at 7 a.m. every morning except weekend, could be a problem for some late sleep lovers.
All in all it was OK, worth the money we paid for sure. Would recommend it to anyone who travels on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corinne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#151 of 382 in Munich
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz
Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz
#358 of 382 in Munich
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brack
Hotel Brack
#49 of 382 in Munich
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.3 mi away
Bold Hotel Munich Center
Bold Hotel Munich Center
#88 of 382 in Munich
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Westfalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Westfalia

Property: Pension Westfalia
Address: Mozartstr. 23, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Pension Westfalia Hotel Munich
Westfalia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing