We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay in munich”
Review of Pension Westfalia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Westfalia
Ranked #275 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at pension westfalia during our 7 day stay in munich. Overall it was a good stay. The room was spacious with a window that opened out to views of therenweisse grounds. The bed was comfortable and the room was cleaned each day with fresh towels and sheets. The host peter was very hospitable and helpful. Breakfast each morning was cereals, bread , deli meat and cheeses. It was basic but satisfying. The pension is only 2 metro stops from marienplatz and in a safe and quiet location (different during oktoberfest of course!) We had a room with no shower which was fine but could be an issue during busy periods due to only one shower being available. The price was good for the room and location and would definitely recommend staying here when in fabulous munich.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UnchartedGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Basic room with free wi-fi, clean and comfortable, for the reasonable price. Staff was very helpful and spoke English. Breakfast was adequate and the coffee was good. Would be a great location during Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wvtreehanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Our family of 4 adults stayed in a family room at the Pension Westfalia for 2 nights in September.
It is a very short walk from the underground station & only 2 stops from the centre of Munich. Peter was extremely helpful & our rooms were comfortable, clean & quiet. The hotel is located on the upper floors of the building & there is a lift. Only problem was that the run off of water from the shower into the bath, drained very slowly, but Peter pointed this out to us beforehand & didn't really worry about. Breakfast was very good.
Peter answered all emails promptly & spoke excellent English.
Earlier this year, my son decided to extend his holiday to include Octoberfest. The Westfalia is directly over the road from the grounds. Peter had a cancellation, so my son was able to return there for 6 more nights for Octoberfest & said it was the best location you could possibly hope for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed in Munich for a single night and just wanted a place to crash. We chose this place because it is a private room at the same cost as a youth hostel/ dorm, and I am glad to have chosen PW. The room was quaint and very European. Shared bathroom didn't really feel all public, it was just across our room. Breakfast was good as well. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I had a good stay at this hotel, and it was good value for the money. I unknowingly planned my trip during a major conference, so most hotels in Munich were booked or charging ridiculously high prices. Even with slightly higher-than-normal prices, my room at the Pension Westfalia was inexpensive. The shared bathroom was not a problem. There are two toilets, and there was never anyone using the bath when I wanted to. You get keys to the building and to the room, allowing you to come and go when you want. The breakfast was very convenient and filling. A few minor quibbles that I didn't really mind, but that others might: the bed was a little hard (and the single room has two single beds for some reason), the wifi occasionally didn't work, and the shared bathroom only has a tub with a handheld showerhead. Overall, I would definitely still recommend Pension Westfalia as an excellent budget option.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chr15t0ph3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Pension Westfalia is fantastic and the rates really did save me plenty of money. Its location in Goetheplatz is ideal, not too far away from the city and not too close either, which makes it less "touristy" than the perpetually crowded Marienplatz area. Other than the location, there are also a few more things that made this place such a great stay - Peter's warmth and friendliness, the two bakeries/cafes nearby which served scrumptious cakes and croissants ( I was in these two cafes almost every day for breakfast and tea) and the fact that the building looks old but filled with character. Just a note for people who plan to stay here - bring a torchlight. When you return to the pension at night, the lift area on the first floor will be completely dark. And scary. But even this scary bit made my stay memorable. I heartily recommend this place, especially for solo travelers!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank weeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The Hotel is Great. It is within an old building not too far from the center of Munich. The location is great since it is not too far from the U-Bahn station that will take you downtown. The Hotel is located right at the fairgrounds where the Octoberfest is held, so if you are attending the Octoberfest make sure to reserve a room at this hotel early! The rooms are small but very clean. Peter, the owner, and his family are very nice and prepare a very good breakfast in the morning. I would go back to this Pension in a heartbeat if I was to return to Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BenniHupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#191 of 387 in Munich
724 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#24 of 387 in Munich
2,515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
10.8 mi away
Hotel Dependance Erb
Hotel Dependance Erb
#337 of 387 in Munich
17 reviews
1.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 387 in Munich
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Westfalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Westfalia

Address: Mozartstr. 23, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Pension Westfalia Hotel Munich
Westfalia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing