We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Days in Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Ranked #196 of 383 Hotels in Munich
seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad Days in Munich”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Rude staff, put out by questions to basics like "how much is breakfast, Where is someplace to grab a bite to eat, how do we connect to WiFi.

Uncomfortable rooms due to no A/C, no care or thought put into making it feel warm and a sketchy location at night

Got off to a bad start in Munich due to the staff at this property. I am not Diva and have traveled to Europe often so my expectations are reasonable. This was a very disappointing experience. I would have moved if our stay was longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly-Maddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    217
    159
    55
    32
See reviews for
91
190
54
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I booked this hotel back in November 2012 in order to get a reason price for staying in Munich over the Oktoberfest period the following year. To my utter shock, I received an email from booking.com (the agent) on the 20th of September (the day before Oktoberfest starts!) to tell me that room has been cancelled! Upon calling the agent, I discover that the hotel had checked my card to ensure there were funds on it before arriving. Because it was so long ago, I had since changed bank accounts and there was only a small amount remaining on that card. I understand that this was, to a certain extent, my mistake. However, the agent informed me that in 99% of cases that this happens, the hotel are required call you to address the problem, and call again if they haven't sorted it to tell you there about to cancel the card. Obviously neither of these things happened and it also obvious why, the agent informed me that the same room was now 3 times the price since it was so close to Oktoberfest! I wish I could have got there and I could have posted a positive review, but BEWARE, these guys could seriously let you down and were completed unhelpful and uncompromising! Cancelling a booking and now telling the customer is a serious problem, particularly during a time of inflated hotel prices!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for a quick overnight stay in between train rides. You can't beat the convenience since it is directly across the street from the station. We were also able to walk to the Marienplatz area with ease. Our room was on a higher floor, so we did not notice much street noise, despite its location. We did, however, notice the lack of air-conditioning as we stayed on quite a hot night, and there was little airflow. The room was very sparse and basic and was small for our party of 3, with little wiggle room. All in all, it served its purpose for a very basic hotel to sleep at when we had an early train ride in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibertyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a budget hotel near the train station. The room was small, and there isn't any aircon. But, I've no complaints for the price. It was modern and clean, the staff were friendly, and it's a good location. If I'm honest, it's more like a 3 out of 5 than a 4, but I think that gives an unfairly negative impression. For the price, I'll give it an extra point.

You should be out in Munich's biregartens and gasthauses anyway, not sitting in your hotel room. As a clean, comfortable bed for the night this is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesubtleknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is very close to the main railway station which suited us well as we had an early train to catch the next morning. We arrived late at night and were told there were no restaurants nearby serving food at that time. However the staff on the reception desk told us we would get good food at the railway station which we did indeed. The baguettes were delicious and we also managed to get a few beers. The hotel was fairly basic but it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast wasn't included in our deal but it was reasonably priced with a wide choice. We would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

One big plus point for us when we chose this hotel was its close proximity to Munich Central Station (literally minutes away!) Being so close to the station means easy access to the railway network, S-Bahn, U-Bahn, bus and trams so this is a great place for anyone who relies on public transport.
The staff were pleasant and friendly, and on arrival we found a small bag of Haribo bears in the room. The room was basic and clean, with wooden flooring throughout. Unfortunately there was only one chair in the room - strange for a twin room to have only one seat! The bathroom was also small, but everything was very clean.
It was possible to buy a beer to drink in the breakfast area next to reception, and also get free tea and coffee from the machine - that is a bonus! The breakfast room seemed too small for the number of guests the hotel accommodates - on our last day the breakfast room was full and people were having to wait until a seat was available.
The location, friendly staff and clean rooms mean I would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgiumFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

From the moment we entered this interesting hotel, we felt at home. Unpretentious, it was friendly and warm. The staff all took extra time to make sure things were going well. Our host was superb. He made sure we knew all the options for tourism, he gave excellent summaries of what was in store without spoiling the surprise elements, he gave knowledgeable historic accounts where appropriate and he maintained a friendly, courteous and cheerful demeanour always. As an extra, the hotel served the best coffee of any we have been to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldgerrypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#325 of 383 in Munich
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
#181 of 383 in Munich
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#130 of 383 in Munich
816 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creatif Hotel Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creatif Hotel Elephant

Property: Creatif Hotel Elephant
Address: Laemmerstr. 6, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Creatif Hotel Elephant 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Creatif Hotel Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creatif Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing