We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Asam Church

Asam Church
Ranked #5 of 312 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Not a large church but full of opulent baroque decoration. I happily played "count the skulls" while waking around the building.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Purrpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,390
    496
    90
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing detail inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was a nice little chapel. One of the most opulent designs on the interior I have even seen. Doesn't look like much from the outside but don't let that stop you from going in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gilster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Asurprise Asam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Tucked into busy pedestrian market street, unassuming doors open to a small but incredibly ornate church. What a surprise! Mark it on your calendar and if you are in the area, go in!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Riosupermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ornate enough for you?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Absolute stunner. I walked in and my jaw dropped. You'll never see anything like it! Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank texan_down_under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most over the top church you will ever see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This was the most amazing over the top church in Munich. You simply have to see it. I had been to Munich a few times before but this is the first time I had visited this church. Well worth the walk.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dherteux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asam Church also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Asam Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing