We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun afternoon for the entire family”

Bavarian Film Studio
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$28.40*
and up
Munich City and Bavaria Film Studio Tour
Ranked #39 of 121 Tours in Munich
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Bavaria Filmstadt – the world of motion pictures and television. Enjoy a guided tour through original sets and gain insight into the best kept secrets of film making. Experience a spectacular ride in our 4D motion simulation theatre. Discover our new and exciting indoor film fun world and museum – Bullyversum – for true immersive shows, facts, action and games for all ages. Spend a spectacular and memorable couple of hours at one of Europe’s largest and most historic motion picture and television facilities. English guided tours for individuals in the maiseason.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Spain
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A fun afternoon for the entire family”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We visited the Bavaria Filmstadt on a summer weekend. First we thought that there would be long queues but then we could purchase our tickets quite quickly. It is true that they are not cheap; our family with two adults and three children spent almost 100 Euros on it. But it was quite entertaining: first we visited the Bullyversum, where we saw a show mimicking Star Wars and in which several volunteers from among the visitors could participate. It was really funny, especially the woman leading the show. Too bad my children do not speak German – they would have loved to take part! It was also useful to understand German to really enjoy this show. Then we saw a 3D movie in the Bullyversum about a ghost, which was fine but not too exciting. By the way all the movies were in German.
Then our guided tour started (they schedule it when you buy the entrance ticket and you lose the tour if you do not show up in time). Tours are offered in English or German. Our guide was a German girl that explained very well. Visitors are brought by a small electric train from one set to another, and the tour guide explains what movies the sets are used for. You also get off the train to walk around the sets and can take pictures.
There were some other chances for the public to participate and have some fun: as the weatherman/ woman; as a hotel receptionist; as a cop or thief; or, for children, riding on Momo’s dragon. Our children (nine/ ten years old) liked this. However what they liked most, and what was probably most impressive of the tour, was the 4D movie, which had us screaming and reacting almost all the time. You move in a kind of roller coaster from one dangerous place to another – well, it seemed so. It did not take long, but was enough!
We also walked through the submarine used for the film “das Boot”, saw some sets for Asterix and Obelix and for Wickie, among others.
And for those who like to experiment taking pictures, there are some interesting 2D-sets right after the entrance, usually ignored by visitors: painted walls that imitate for example a hotel room, a ship, a movie theater or the Wild West…Have somebody stand in front, take a picture and see at home how real it looks. All in all we had a nice afternoon with our family, and our children definitely enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Arara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavariaFilmstadt, Marketing at Bavarian Film Studio, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks a lot for your positive feedback. We were only too glad to hear that you had a great day with us. Please let us know if you visit us again. It would be great to see you again at the Bavaria Filmstadt.

Best
Bavaria Filmstadt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    78
    56
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scheeßel
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Empfehlenswert - Recommendable :)”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Die geführte Tour mit dem Guide war informativ und unterhaltsam - insgesamt sehr gut.

The Bavaria Film Studio was an interesting day - the guided tour was informative and presented in an interesting and humorous format. The 4D film was highly entertaining, as were the Hui Buh and Traumschiff Surprise presentations. All in all an experience to recommend!

Wir waren an einem Sonntag zu Besuch, wo wenig Leute dort waren und hatten keine Wartezeiten. Kleinere Gruppe von ca. 25 Personen.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CarstenBoldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavariaFilmstadt, Marketing/Presse at Bavarian Film Studio, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Google Translation
Hallo Carsten,

vielen Dank für dein positives Feedback. Wir haben uns sehr darüber gefreut.

Viele Grüße aus der Bavaria Filmstadt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I loved it, it's a must-see for a movie freak!
Of course you have to understand German, otherwise it's not interesting.
I was there 2009, so there was another programme
I'd like to see the new one

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MonikaM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavariaFilmstadt, Presse / PR at Bavarian Film Studio, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Monika,

thank you for your positiv response. We are exited that you had a great day with us. Until next time at the Bavaria Filmstadt. Looking forward to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best day of our lives”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We signed up for the hour and half tour so we could see Falcor from the Neverending Story. We score majorly with a great tour guide (Florian)-and a fairly small group- and had a blast even though we didn't know many of the other films/shows shot there. There's plenty of funny exercises that engage people of all ages - and getting to take pictures with our favorite characters of all time made our day. I highly recommend it!! :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mareesa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavariaFilmstadt, Presse/PR at Bavarian Film Studio, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Mareesa,

thank you for your positiv response. We are exited that you had a great day with us. Until next time at the Bavaria Filmstadt. Looking forward to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiden, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“TOTAL RIP OFF AND WASTE OF TIME!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Please save ur money and time and dont go there. Me and my husband went there and it was a total rip off!! 55 euro for both to go to some shotty boring ghost show,then they mad us play a scene from a german movie which took Forever and was boring as hell. the Only thing we were excited about was the 4D movie which was ok but that 5 minute ride wasent worth the money at all!!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Madeleine198509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavariaFilmstadt, Presse/PR at Bavarian Film Studio, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Madeleine, we are really sorry that we couldn´t satisfy your expactations.

Many Reards, Your Bavaria Filmstadt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavarian Film Studio also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Bavarian Film Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing